Day 1260: A Gallery of Helpful Information

Yesterday, as I was learning a gallery of helpful information at a group psychotherapy conference held at a Boston college, I saw this:

IMG_2855

Even though that gallery is blank, I think it’s a helpful invitation to imagine how each of us might fill that in with our own, hard-won wisdom.

Here and now, I write these on my personal gallery of helpful information:

  • People can keep learning and growing, every day of their lives.
  • Horrible tragedies happen in this world.
  • Human beings are hard-wired to connect with others.
  • All healing is mutual.
  • It helps me to forgive those who have hurt me in the past.
  • I am neither as unimportant or as important as I fear.
  • We are all the experts on our own experiences.
  • Love is all around us, even if we don’t sense it.
  • Worry sucks.
  • You can always make a new friend.
  • Everything that has ever happened to me in the past is in my mind, body, and soul.
  • It helps me to be in the here and now.
  • All the different parts of me are valuable.
  • Nobody can predict the future.
  • I can transform and let go of fear.
  • We are all alone and also connected to everything, at the same time.
  • Because of our survival instincts, we will automatically focus on threats first.
  • Often, it’s safer than it feels.
  • Most people, if they knew me, would wish me well.
  • I love my work.
  • I’m glad my son is going to college in Scotland, even though I’m going to miss him so.
  • Death does not conquer us.
  • Shit happens.
  • Beauty happens.
  • I wish my life could be a musical.
  • If I like myself, it’s easier to like others.
  • I like myself!
  • I would love to be dancing with Gene Kelly, right now.

 

Here’s a  gallery of some recent photos I haven’t shared with you yet  (presented in helpful chronological order):

IMG_2814

IMG_2815

IMG_2817

IMG_2818

IMG_2837

IMG_2838

IMG_2856

IMG_2857

IMG_2858

IMG_2859

IMG_2860

IMG_2861

IMG_2862

IMG_2864IMG_2865

IMG_2867

IMG_2868

IMG_2869

What would you include in your personal gallery of helpful information?

Thanks to the Northeastern Society for Group Psychotherapy (NSGP), Peter J. Taylor and Roger Saint-Laurent, the Tony Awards, Gene Kelly,  and all  who helped me create  today’s  gallery of helpful information, including you!

Categories: personal growth, photojournalism | Tags: , , , , , , , | 20 Comments

Post navigation

20 thoughts on “Day 1260: A Gallery of Helpful Information

  1. Powerful and generpus Words in your gallery. Love you, Ann.

  2. Whoops, my spelling error speaks to something additional in my gallery : making mistakes often tells me i am taking the risks that help me live, learn and love.

  3. Loved the International Adoption book, my sister’s first (of eleven, all adopted) came from Korea. What a beautiful blend of races and cultures in her family!

  4. I hate to quibble but the Gallery of Helpful Information is not really blank. It’s covered with a growing vine. That’s meant, I think, to represent how our knowledge is continually growing and changing, and I’m firmly of the belief that all information is potentially helpful. We never know what we’ll need to know.

    But I don’t mean to be contrary and it’s possible I supposes erroneously.

  5. As I was with the grieving LGBT community at a vigil last night, thinking of the mothers who will never see their children again, thinking of a friend who was there when the shooting started, I saw so much love. All around me, so much love. Grief, but no hate. So, my helpful information is that life is about love. We are surrounded by love even if we don’t see it. Strangers will reach out to us when we are in need. But, it is also helpful information to know that shit doesn’t always just happen. Sometimes, we make it happen. Sometimes we let it happen. It is helpful to love more, care more, and get to know the people we think are most unlike us, so that maybe, sometimes, shit won’t happen.

  6. What wise words and amazing photos. We are all so connected.

  7. I’m with Maureen’s helpful and loving comment!

  8. loved your personal gallery of info Ann- most of yours would appear on mine 🙂

  9. I can tell you what I think, but you must find out what to do for yourself

  10. Pingback: Day 1591: Helpful | The Year(s) of Living Non-Judgmentally

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

