Day 1258: Picture yourself in the future

Can you picture yourself in the future?  What do you see?

This picture is in your future:

IMG_2820

If you picture yourself in the future, is it more likely you will have a future? Many past and present experts picture that as true.  For example, when I encounter people who are  expressing desperate thoughts and feelings, their prognosis for survival is much better if they are able to picture the future. In the psychotherapy biz, we call that “future-oriented thinking.” Also, a good attitude about the future helps people deal with scary, difficult events.

Picture this email — with the subject “Picturing my future” — that I just sent to my past-present-and-future cardiologist, Dr. Deeb Salem:

Hi Deeb,

Since you’re going to be talking to Dr. Carole Warnes from the Mayo Clinic on Thursday about my future, I would love to have a meeting with you on Wednesday.  If you can picture that in our future,   I’m available any time Wednesday afternoon.  Can we make that work?
Your inquisitive, future-picturing, and grateful patient,
Ann
.
Here’s the automatic reply I then got from Dr. Deeb Salem:
I will be out of the hospital until Tuesday March 29th   Deeb
 .
Since my calendar is picturing today’s date as June 11, I wrote him back, as follows:
Is that Tuesday March 29 in the future?  Oh no!
 .
Picture me, yesterday, going to the first day of the Northeastern Society for Group Psychotherapy (NSGP) annual conference at Simmons College in Boston.
IMG_2819
IMG_2823

IMG_2826IMG_2829IMG_2831

IMG_2832

IMG_2833

IMG_2834

IMG_2836

IMG_2840

IMG_2841

IMG_2842

IMG_2845

IMG_2846

IMG_2848

IMG_2847

Do any of those pictures help you picture yourself in the future?  The last picture helped me picture this Lip Sync Battle for our immediate future:

Shake it off, please, and picture yourself in my future by leaving a comment, below.

Future-picturing thanks to all those who helped me create today’s post and to you — of course! — for the future you’re picturing, here and now.

 

 

Categories: personal growth, photojournalism | Tags: , , , , , | 14 Comments

Post navigation

14 thoughts on “Day 1258: Picture yourself in the future

  1. I used to get the most amazing writing and drawing, asking students to draw where they’ll be in the future. Me, I’m not so sure now that I’m older. I hope I’ll be even older than I am now. And have my mind.

  2. Someone said to me that they hope the future is like Star Trek. I agreed but I think the long term appeal of Star Trek, something none of the people involved with it imagined in 1966, is that it imagined an ideal future to try and make the present better.

  3. Facebook keeps telling me my profile picture (three years old) needs updating. If I send one of me in the future, will this get them off my back?

  4. I picture myself in 10 years sitting on the patio outside my little seaside cottage drinking coffee and reading your posts. I know it will come true, because that is what I am picturing in the future.

  5. I can picture a flood of pictures from you from Minnesota, before and after your surgery as we get to see just how you get stronger every day after your surgery.

  6. I can picture the future, but the MacIntosh SE was definitely a blast from the past! I hope Dr. Deeb got back to you with a date-appropriate answer!

  7. hello ann koplow its dennis the vizsla dog oh hay the fyootcher!!! i hav ben their in my time traveling doghowse of justiss!!! it lukd kind of like the past eksept for more modern!!! ha ha ok bye

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

