Day 1248: Did you ever wonder what was down the road?

I’ve been wondering a lot lately about what’s down the road for me, especially regarding my very unusual heart.  After years of  walking down a  life’s road where several doctors have disagreed  about what we should do about my aging, sturdy, reversed-road heart, I’ve decided to have valve replacement surgery at the Mayo Clinic in Rochester, Minnesota.

I’m still wondering what’s down the road for me and my unusual heart, because there’s a chance that the surgery will make things worse for me down the road.

Yesterday, I wrote an email to my long-time-on-my-road cardiologist, Dr. Deeb Salem, about my wish to ask Dr. Carole Warnes, the Mayo cardiologist, for some numbers and data about that possibly down-the-road negative outcome.

Seems like here are some questions to ask her:

What are the chances the ejection fraction will go down with the valve replacement surgery ? If it does, what are the chances it will go up again?

Are you wondering what was down the road in that email exchange?  Dr. Salem replied, like so:

I doubt that she will have an answer to your question.

Further down that same email road, I wrote back to Dr. Salem:

Some of the most profound questions in the universe have no answers.

A wee bit down that email road, here was Dr. Salem’s response:

…….yet

Did you ever wonder what was down the road for you? I can tell you what’s down the road in today’s blog post.

Photos!

IMG_2590

IMG_2585

 

IMG_2587

IMG_2589

 

IMG_2593IMG_2591

IMG_2594

Are you wondering what’s next on this blogging road?

Music!

First, “The Long and Winding Road.”

 

Next, “Ease on Down the Road.”

 

Finally, my boyfriend Michael’s favorite Down-the-Road song, “Road Runner.”

 

I wonder what comments are down the road for me today?

Red-brick-road thanks to all those who helped me down the road of today’s blog post and to you — of course! — for joining me on this road, here and now.

Categories: adult congenital heart, personal growth, photojournalism | Tags: , , , , , , , | 28 Comments

Post navigation

28 thoughts on “Day 1248: Did you ever wonder what was down the road?

  1. I have a feeling that there will be a long road for you and your finicky heart to travel, so you can continue to “delight” in the “adventure” we call life.

    I think I will also steal the theme in a few days when I share with my readers the fact that my wife and I are picking up and moving almost half way accross the Country at the end of the month to start down a new road in Mchigan. You heard it here first.

  2. Or even down the yellow brick road? Great post with a thought provoking undertone. And warmest wishes to you Ann, that all goes well.

  3. What’s down the road always evolves, Ann, every dang day. Potholes develop … And are patched. Traffic springs up … And dissolves.

    I think this acoustic version by my fave, The Boss, of one of his best and by now 40-year-old song, is apt proof of this.

    • You, my friend Mark, help me avoid those potholes and also feel better in traffic. Thanks to you and The Boss for accompanying me on this road today.

  4. Fortunately I don’t worry too much about what’s down the road. In your position I probably would. You know we all wish you well.

  5. The only way to know what’s down the road is to go down it.

  6. Gene Phillips

    Now you’ve got me thinking about the red-brick road. I don’t think much about down the road, but I do think about roads not taken. Drive down the road in a your own version of a pink cadillac.

  7. Even if the EF would go down, it can actually come back up. My hubby is a good example of that. All the best, Ann, I’m sure it will all go well.

  8. I don’t think you ever know what’s down the road. Best wishes for smooth sailing over whatever the road brings.

  9. Carol Ferenc

    Wishing you and your gentle heart all good things down the road, Ann.

  10. Those are good questions to ask but once decided to go with it then I think we just need to hope for the best. Best luck down the road for you.

  11. This was a favorite song of mine when I was very young:

  12. I tend to think too much about what is down the road- I think as a result of getting older and close friends dying. So I try to just look for the positive that I hope will be towards me on the road 😀

  13. Sometimes I do not comment on blogs because I do not know how to respond. With advice? With commiseration? Or just to say thanks for blogging. This is one of those times. But I can say that I have been following you for at least a year and you have been trudging right along on your road sharing your friends, famiy, pictures and favorite songs, and you have done it with your unusual heart. Why should going forward be any different, no matter which road you choose? So, ease on down, ease on down the road, I said ease on down, ease on down the road.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

