Day 1247: Find your place

As I was finding my place in Newton, Massachusetts, USA yesterday, I found a place with this sign:

IMG_2549

I found a place for that image on my iPhone and now I’ve found a place for it, here.

Over the next few months I’ll be finding my place in many places, including

  • the Kickstand Cafe in Arlington, Massachusetts, to sing at another Open Mic,
  • Simmons College in Boston, for an intensive 3-day conference on group therapy,
  • New York City, with another attempt to try out for The Voice,
  • Springfield, Massachusetts to see comedian Louis C.K.,
  • Edinburgh, Scotland, to attend the Festival Fringe and also get my son settled for his first year of university, and
  • the Mayo Clinic in Rochester, Minnesota, for heart valve replacement surgery.

What helps me find a place, wherever I go?

  • Love.
  • Faith.
  • Hope.
  • Charity.
  • Creativity.
  • Openness to new experiences.
  • Learning.
  • Using all my senses.
  • Support from others.
  • Self Care.
  • Confidence.
  • Music.
  • Being in the moment.
  • Letting go.
  • Breathing.
  • Self expression.
  • Bravery.
  • Balance.
  • Preparation.
  • Spontaneity.
  • Humor.
  • Curiosity.
  • Skill.
  • Character.
  • Safety.
  • Home.
  • The right clothes for the weather.
  • Blogging.
  • Awareness of what’s around me.
  • My GPS system, Waze.

What helps you find your place?

I shall now find a place for the other photos I took yesterday. I hope you find your place through each one.

IMG_2537

IMG_2528

IMG_2530.JPG

IMG_2534

IMG_2535

IMG_2538IMG_2539IMG_2542

IMG_2543

IMG_2545

IMG_2546

IMG_2547

IMG_2550

IMG_2551

IMG_2552

IMG_2555

IMG_2559

IMG_2560

IMG_2561

IMG_2562

IMG_2564

IMG_2565

IMG_2567

IMG_2566

Now that you’ve found your place at the end of today’s photos, I’m finding a place for some music I made yesterday.

I found a place in my day yesterday to make up new lyrics for “So What?” by Miles Davis. In case you can’t find your place through those lyrics, here they are:

I’m gonna have an operation.

So what?

A finer chance I’ve never had.

So what?

They’re gonna do it at the Mayo.

So what?

I’m gonna get a brand new valve.

So what?

I’m gonna have an operation.

So what?

A shiny new mechanical valve.

So what?

They’re gonna do it at the Mayo.

So what?

A finer chance I’ve never had.

So what?

I’m gonna have an operation.

So what?

I’m kind of scared and kind of nervous.

So what?

They’re gonna give me a new valve.

So what?

I can’t wait for it to happen.

So what?

A finer chance I’ve never had.

So what?

I am finding my place, now, to point out that my voice found its place all the way up to high G while I was finding my place at the keyboard, sitting down.

Please find your place for comments, below.

I’ve now found my place for gratitude to all those who helped me create this post and to you — of course!  — for finding your place here.

 

Categories: personal growth, photojournalism | Tags: , , , , , | 27 Comments

Post navigation

27 thoughts on “Day 1247: Find your place

  1. This morning, I enjoyed finding the “Greetings” mat by the late Stephen Huneck as we have several of his paintings and books. The end of “So What” reminded me of Jean Stapleton at the end of the theme song for All in the Family. I also enjoyed meeting her once in Chambersburg, PA back in te early 1980’s. I can’t even dream of singing that high.

  2. Great new lyrics, Ann. That’s the attitude! Your old photo snuck into the middle of yesterday’s places is perfect, too. My place today will be my wonderful new job. I’m glad I visited your comfortable place before setting out to mine, my friend. I needed to hear your voice …

  3. Everyone around me helps me find my place; that includes my blogging friends

  4. Just this weekend I was thinking about how much smaller the internet has made our world, how I can feel that I know and even be concerned about someone I’ve never met. I can find myself far away from a computer and even internet access and still feel hopes and fears for a blogger with an unusual heart
    So what?
    So buttons!
    I hope this presses all the right buttons.

    • All the right buttons in all the right places, Chris. I’m always so happy when you find and take your place here.

  5. I like this place you have created here where I find myself enchanted every morning.

    Especially if it turns into a dance studio! Love that idea for my office. 🙂 that’s a place where I can find myself gettin’ into the groove baby! Okay — that’s my attempt at finding my place in cool-talk — not my natural place obviously. 🙂

  6. Thank you for creating the space that feels like my place Ann!
    Love your gutsy rendition!
    You are also so right about something I hadn’t considers before … Wearing the right clothes for the weather is important 😊

  7. Lovely singing! I love the Join a Cult! It reminded me of when my son was 5 and we had moved to Dallas. One afternoon my son and 5 other children walked in the kitchen for a snack. I asked Mike, Who are these kids? He looked dead at me and said These are my People. lol I think he was starting a cult! lol Keep being positive! You have a lot of prayers and love behind you!

  8. What a task that is Ann, to find one’s place. I think you found yours a long time ago! Thanks for sharing it too.

  9. When are you coming to New York??? I hope we can find a place to meet!!

  10. Hi Ann, m place is right here on my patio, reading your post and listening to your lovely singing. This won’t be my place for long as it is supposed to be 105 degrees today – good thing I have to go to work.

  11. I’ll right away grab your rss feed as I can’t to find your e-mail subscription link or newsletter service.

    Do you’ve any? Please permit me recognise in order that I could subscribe.
    Thanks.

  12. Pingback: Day 1340: What you need to know | The Year(s) of Living Non-Judgmentally

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

