Day 1246: Focus

Often, when I focus on starting a post,  I like to focus on past times I’ve focused on a similar subject.

Here’s how I’ve previously focused on Focus:

Day 13: Focus on what you’re doing (rather than on what you’re not doing)

Day 249: If you are having trouble focusing

If you focus on the numbers in those posts, you might focus on the fact that I wrote both previous posts about “focus” in the first year of my several years of daily focused blogging.

I’m focusing on “Focus” today because I wrote this quote about focus last week:

There is nothing like imminent heart surgery to beautifully focus the mind.

I’m now wondering about the focus of the latest focused photos on my phone.

Let’s all focus on them together, shall we?

IMG_2501

IMG_2502

IMG_2503

IMG_2504

IMG_2505

IMG_2507

IMG_2508

IMG_2509

IMG_2510

IMG_2511

IMG_2512

IMG_2513

IMG_2514

IMG_2515

IMG_2516

IMG_2519

IMG_2520

IMG_2521

IMG_2523

 

IMG_2525

IMG_2526

What do you think about the focus in those photos?

What music am I going to focus on  in this focused post?

Ready to focus in on the next two paragraphs to find out?

When my sister Ellen and I drove to and from the Mayo Clinic in Rochester, Minnesota last week, we focused on the album of the musical Hamilton.

After Lin-Manual Miranda had focused on the idea of writing a hip hop musical about Alexander Hamilton for about a year, he was able to present his first focused musical number at the White House Evening of Poetry, Music, and the Spoken Word on May 12, 2009. Here‘s Lin-Manual Miranda and his piano accompanist Alex Lacamoire, wonderfully focused at that 2009 event.

If you’d like to focus any thoughts or feelings you have, here and now, in a comment below, please give it a shot.

Focused thanks to all those who helped me create this post about focus and to you — of course!  — for focusing enough to read it.

Categories: personal growth, photojournalism | Tags: , , , , , , , , | 39 Comments

Post navigation

39 thoughts on “Day 1246: Focus

  1. I can see clearly now, your heart needing repair and kitty seems to concur after checking out the papers, focusing on “Who will take care of me?” As he stares into the lens to inquire.

    • It’s always wonderful to focus in on a comment from you, Ruth. Usually, my boyfriend Michael focuses on taking care of the cats when I’m away from home. However, he’ll be accompanying me when I get my surgery at the Mayo Clinic in September. So kitty Oscar has every reason to focus on some care-taking concern now, but we’ll make sure to focus on taking care of that before we leave. ❤

      • Perhaps I misinterpreted what Oscar was thinking after reviewing all that info….he knew you had his care in mind, already. Thinking of you.

    • I’m also focusing on a favorite song, Ruth, after reading your comment.

  2. Thats a lot to focus on Ann. Yet I’m glad to be informed!
    Sharing one of my favorite Focus tracks:

    Rock it!!

  3. It look like you can stay focus. That is a good thing to have!

  4. Page 12, notes page is not filled with notes Ann. You sure did focus on understanding everything there is to understand about your upcoming surgery though. Soon you’ll be focusing on recovery. ❤ Sending warm thoughts and prayers your way. ❤
    Diana xo

    • I’m writing lots of notes and questions on my cell phone, Diana. Thank you, so much, for your focused understanding, warm thoughts, and prayers. ❤ ❤ xxoo

  5. Oscar looks like he’s focused on you-nothing like kitty love to help one keep their focus.

  6. I’m thinking how hard it must be to focus on anything but your surgery, Ann. But, Mayo Clinic ? You are in good hands.💟

    I remember that 2009 clip. I could only focus on the genius of bringing his vision to Hamilton, and the fact that I may never be able to get tickets. ☺

  7. Oscar already knows, and he’ll focus on helping you get better!

    • I wish he would focus his pee into the litter box. Today, I realized that he’d focused some of that elsewhere!

  8. I don’t know how focused Oscar really is. I’ve had to save his life a couple of times.

  9. I am sad that you must focus so hard on what most of us don’t have to give much thought.

  10. When we first “met” you explained your unusual heart to me and mentioned that you might have to undergo the type of surgery you are now facing. Sometimes waiting is a good thing — and this surgery is probably one of those things. Your future surgeons have now got two years more surgery experience behind them. They will do well by you.

    People always proclaim that folks facing health hurdles are “strong.” And of course you are. But I think “resigned” and “hopeful” are two words that are in your weird heart right now. I am “confident” for you and your future.

    I don’t know if I missed the post where you said when you are going in. Until I read you are OUT, i will keep you in my heart.

    Be well.

    • I appreciate all the focus you brought here today, Elyse. The surgery will most likely be in September at the Mayo Clinic. I’m so glad we’ve “met”!

  11. It all sounds very scary, having heart surgery and right after you come back from going with Aaron to Scotland. I am sending good thoughts your way – and a little music video that I simply love, because it says so much. Let me see if I can find it for you…..
    I’m back – here you go…

    Hopefully this helps a little.

  12. Maureen

    The page of info about bacterial endocarditis was particularly scary. I am focussing on sending you good wishes and positive energy.

    • I love Heart, Maureen. Thank you. And I’m not so focused on fear about endocarditis, perhaps because I’ve already had it three times and caught it, really early. ❤ ❤ ❤

  13. This is a lot to think about, deal with, focus on. Advice seems a bit crazy, but maybe focussing on the next step is the best thing. I’m thinking of you and focussing some good thoughts!

  14. Focus, or concentrate, are the same thing.

  15. Oscar looks like he’s very focused, and there may be a lesson in that. Also you’ve made me think that altering a quote to suit one’s needs can be a good way to beautifully focus the mind. However I’ll leave this quote, completely unaltered, from Lord Tennyson:

    Howe’er it be, it seems to me,
    ’Tis only noble to be good.
    Kind hearts are more than coronets.

    • I was so unfocused back then, Chris, that I totally missed this beautifully focused comment from you. ❤

  16. There is probably much that I can say here, but I will just tell you that although my husband Mike (karma?) has had Congestive Heart for many years now,. However it is not as rare as yours. He did have to be shocked back, and hospitalized many times. The last time was Jan. of this year. The Cardiologists (he has several) decided to insert a pacemaker. So far so good. It is a scary thing to have to live through for everyone concerned, but with your focus on everything good it will turn out fine. I will keep you in my thoughts and prayers. Keep well and focus. :o)

  17. Pingback: Day 1273: Many Signs | The Year(s) of Living Non-Judgmentally

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

