Day 1244: Rescues

Yesterday, I saw a bumper sticker about rescues, which I’m now rescuing from my iPhone:

IMG_2483

I feel rescued by that, here and now, because

  1. It rescues me from having to worry about using the word “whom” in future blog posts.
  2. We have two cats, Harley and Oscar, that we’ve rescued from animals shelters.
  3. I’ve been thinking a lot about rescues since a cardiologist who’s an expert in my unusual heart condition told me she wants to rescue me with major heart surgery at the Mayo Clinic as soon as possible.
  4. I had a day at work yesterday where I rescued and also was rescued by others.
  5. I believe that healing connections among people AND animals rescue us, every time.

Who is rescuing who in my other photos?

IMG_2470

IMG_2471

IMG_2472

 

IMG_2476

IMG_2477

 

 

 

IMG_2469

IMG_2481

Who rescued who through the inter-office mail yesterday?  My co-worker Susan sent me that rescuing humor, shown above.  The joke about the clown reminds me that I’ll be seeing my son’s new play The Great Spa Fire today, wherein a clown and many others will not be rescued. I think my son deserve a No-Bell prize for what he’s written, including this knock-knock joke:

Knock knock.

Who’s there?

The town detective.

The town detective who?

I’ll be asking the questions around here.

 

Here’s some music I just rescued from YouTube:

Thanks to my son, my kind co-workers, our cats, Irvin Yalom, Elvis Costello, Casey Johnston, rescuing cardiologists,  and all those who helped me rescue the words, pictures, memories, music, thoughts, and feelings in this post today. Special thanks to you — of course! — for rescuing me with your visit.

 

Categories: personal growth, photojournalism | Tags: , , , , , , , , , | 46 Comments

Post navigation

46 thoughts on “Day 1244: Rescues

  1. Just lovely- and funny and upbeat. Made me think about a book I enjoyed called ‘Guardians of Being’ Eckhart Tolle. It’s a book of cartoons about dogs and the way they rescue us from ourselves and our worries. Very wise and funny. Sorry you are facing surgery. That must be a worry. Be so great to get it over you. Plenty of blog time while you are recovering, I’m sure!!

    • Thank you for this lovely and upbeat comment. I will look for the book by Eckhart Tolle. I’m worrying that the heart surgery might break my streak of over a thousand consecutive days of blogging.

      • Oh my word! That is so impressive. I’m sure you could be excused a couple of days off. And then- maybe double blogs for a few days to make up??

      • I’m sure either I or perhaps my boyfriend or son will rescue my impressive blogging record. ❤

  2. Instagram – love that one, and the knock knock. But especially
    5. On your list at the beginning. 🌺😻

    • You’ve rescued me many, many, many times, Carol, with your healing connection. ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤

  3. Thank you for rescuing me from No Comment Land, Ann.

    I need to play detective and find out more about your pending heart surgery, my dear friend.

    • Thank you for rescuing me with this comment, Mark. Just read my most recent blog posts for more information, my dear friend.

  4. Wishing a certain rescue for your challenged heart, Ann. 💕

    And Instagram…perfect ! ☺

  5. I find your blog style very interesting. Capturing the images and words around us, and intergrating them with your personal experiences is very modern and cultural. I’m absorbed in your posts.

    • I feel very honored and rescued by your telling me that you find my blog interesting, modern, cultural, and absorbing. Many thanks!

  6. I love your sense of humor 🙂 I love the coffee stealing joke. I’ll have to remember so I can share with my students. They’ll love it given that I always have a mug on my desk 🙂

  7. Aretha chimes in on your post, I knew you wouldn’t mind…https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=ALQ6lzS-Npc

  8. You rescued me from a momentary lapse in lightness of being where I was taking myself way too seriously!

    Thanks for the lift! ❤

  9. I am starting at Staring st the Sun right now as my own copy is within reach. There is no actual sun to stare at as it is raining. But I am smiling, thinking of your nice Jester. I predict you will write many thoughtful posts in this next year.

    • Thank you for rescuing me, Maureen, with another thoughtful comment.

      • Maureen

        We often have Watching the Detectives on our playlist. Elvis Costello often rescues me from boredom when I am peeling potatoes.

  10. Knock knock,
    Who’s there?
    Orange.
    Orange who?
    Orange you glad it wasn’t Banana.

    That is the only Knock-knock joke I know. Orange you glad about that?

  11. You always come to the rescue Ann!
    May we all find our way to the place beyond ❣
    How do you like the Yalom book?

    • I’m finding it very helpful and a wonderful rescue from fear. Thanks for coming to my rescue today, Val.

  12. Be brave. Then we can share pictures of hospital jello!

  13. We have a rescue cat – although he actually rescued us! Funny how things work that way.

  14. All will be well. It’s Mayo.

  15. I rescued myself with a bike ride today and saw a heron flying home low along the river. I think you know how to take care of yourself, so you don’t need rescue, but to be buoyed up by support from all the quarters you’ve stored it. Including this one. We’re all pushing good thoughts your way during this undoubtedly worrying if not truly scary time.

  16. I love Aaron’s knock-knock joke. I do hope your surgeon can help you, and put and end to your undoubted anxiety. Arlingwoman speaks for us all.

  17. OMG Harley, look at your belly, Kitty Queen call Jenny Craig to the rescue!

  18. Did someone say my name? Oscar, Harley likes Grumpy better than me.

  19. Carol Ferenc

    Haha! Great post, Ann. Peace, love, rescue.

  20. hello ann koplow its dennis the vizsla dog hay i kan anser that first kwestchun!!! mama and dada reskyewd me!!! of korse i wuz a bit of a mess at the time but i am better now!!! ok bye

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

