Day 1241: How ’bout them apples?

How ’bout that title?  Do you know what it’s ’bout?

How ’bout a definition from the Urban Dictionary?

How bout them apples?

Rur. What do you think of that? (Often used to express admiration; bout is short for about.)

Tom: I got first prize! Mary: Well! How bout them apples? Joe got a job as a newspaper reporter. How do you like them apples?

How ’bout these apples?

IMG_2371 How ’bout that sign on the elevator of the hotel where my sister and I are staying in Rochester, Minnesota?

I’ve only got ’bout ten minutes this morning before I have to leave for ’bout eight hours of medical tests and doctor consults at the famous Mayo Clinic.

How ’bout that saying that an apple a day keeps them doctors away? Because I eat ’bout one pink lady apple per day, I’m ’bout to give up on that idea.

How ’bout them pictures I took yesterday?

 

IMG_2349

IMG_2353

IMG_2352

IMG_2351

 

IMG_2358

IMG_2360IMG_2354

IMG_2366

IMG_2368

IMG_2370

IMG_2373

IMG_2375

How ’bout them …

  • quotes from “Staring at the Sun: Overcoming the Terror of Death” by Irvin Yalom,
  • giant corn,
  • Minnesota sunsets, and
  •  other images.

How ’bout this post?

How ’bout a bout of thanks to my sister Ellen (for accompanying me on this bout of cardiac consultations) and another bout of thanks to every other helpful person ’bout me, including you (of course!).

 

Categories: personal growth, photojournalism | Tags: , , , , , , , , | 36 Comments

Post navigation

36 thoughts on “Day 1241: How ’bout them apples?

  1. If I may speak for others, readers around the world are no doubt praying and hoping for a positive outcome of the consult.

  2. Thinking of you and wishing you well. How ’bout that nice sister of yours?

  3. The Mayo people will tell you, after 8 hours of testing, what the rest of us already knew, that you have a rare and most wonderful heart!!!!!! I am sending heartfelt wishes that all goes well!

  4. Thanks to Good Will Hunting I always associate the phrase “How ’bout them apples?” with Boston. I hope you’ll think of that too, making a connection between where you are now, the home you’ll return to, and the hope for a bright future.
    And Minnesota may not be where you belong but I am sure you will be accepted there–happily.
    In the meantime, how ’bout that corn?

  5. How ’bout that corn tower? Who neds surly beer when you can look at that? I hope all goes well, Ann. Sending many good wishes your way.

  6. Holly

    Urban Dictionary? That’s brave 😉

  7. Here’s to sisters! And Corn! And to good health and healing!

  8. My dad used to say that all the time! Thanks for the smile. Hope the tests went well and that things are progressing to where they need to go for you.

  9. How ’bout that corn tower … indeed!!
    Hope your appointment went well Ann 💛

    • It didn’t go the way I wanted, Val, because I wanted them to say, “You don’t need heart surgery!” They didn’t say that but I’m feeling scared AND hopeful.

      • Darn Ann! Now its time to deal with reality once more. You are good at that 💛
        Sending you love and light 🌟

  10. Yay! You saw the corn. Wishing you the best. Oh, I love the “Just because you’re accepted…” quote

  11. These days when I eat apples I get a bout of stomach ache. How ’bout that? Waving hi to you at Mayo Clinic from down here in Wisconsin!

  12. What beautiful sunsets!

  13. I hope thing about that you are going to do is great!

  14. I like some better than other apples. I think you and your sister are both good apples. And I have been thinking about you all day even though I couldn’t convince WordPress to let me reply this morning.

    • I think it takes one good apple to know the others, Maureen. ❤

      • I think I had better stop thinking in apples if I am using an Android, and think in more apples when using my iPad. Am experiencing some technical difficulties along with sympathy heart pains.

      • I’m sending heart-felt sympathy to you. ❤ ❤

  15. There is most definitely no man of my generation who didn’t think he could sing this:

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

