Day 1237: Immortality

Some say that human beings are the only creatures aware of their own mortality. I say that a yearning for immortality, of some kind, affects most of us.

People can seek immortality through

  • art,
  • religion,
  • their children, and/or
  • their work.

Where I work, I found this message about immortality:

IMG_2239

Should I submit any of my other pictures from yesterday to the hospital’s research study on human immortality?

IMG_2231

IMG_2232

IMG_2236

IMG_2240

 

IMG_2246

IMG_2249

Last night, at live piano karaoke, I sang an immortal song:

Speaking of (im)mortality, I killed it.

Any thoughts or feelings about immortality? If you leave a comment, it will live forever in my heart.

Immortal thanks to Judy Garland, my handsome son Aaron, the Red Sox, the hospital where I work,  piano karaoke, people who are so good and so caring and so close, and you — of course!  — for reading this all-too-mortal post.

Categories: personal growth, photojournalism | Tags: , , , , , | 25 Comments

Post navigation

25 thoughts on “Day 1237: Immortality

  1. That mortality sign haha

  2. “and the dreams that you dare to dream, really do come true” 🎵 🎶

  3. I do not think immortal is a good thing to have.

  4. Isn’t that why we all blog?

  5. Congratulations on killing Judy Garland last night.

    Wait. That didn’t come out right, did it? Let’s try again.

    Congratulations on your beautiful performance of a timeless classic last night. Is there any chance we can convince you to post a recording?

    • Nobody recorded it, Maureen, so I guess the memory lives only in me (and the other people there last night).

  6. On Being Mortal by Atul Gawande was the book club’s choice just last month.

  7. The question of our mortality will keep the human mind occupied forever.

  8. Aaron is indeed a handsome young man. I hope he was off to a special evening. As close as I can get to thinking about immortality is being very consciously aware of making memories with my grandchildren. That’s important to me. I’ve never been bold enough to sing karaoke. Good for you!

  9. Aaron looks so handsome, Ann. I think about immortality alot- just in terms of being remembered in a good light rather than a bad one.

  10. Becoming aware of my mortality was the highlight of the past year.

  11. I hope our joy and humor are immortal. Thanks for sharing

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

