Day 1228: Danger

Yesterday morning, when I was facilitating a therapy group, I drew this picture

IMG_1960

which shows a fish in danger.

Yesterday afternoon, when I was in historic Lexington, Massachusetts, USA, I took these two photos, one after another:

IMG_1962

IMG_1963

 

For many reasons, I tend to notice potential danger, in the present and in the near future.  Do you?

In my personal and professional lives, I spend a lot of time trying to figure out how much danger people are in, as well as how to negotiate and respond to fear. It makes sense for us to be Fearful of Danger, but how can we accurately assess how much danger we’re in, during any particular moment?  Fear  of danger can save us to live another day;  it can also paralyze and imprison us.

What dangers are you in danger of seeing in my other photos from yesterday?

IMG_1932

IMG_1933

IMG_1937

IMG_1953

IMG_1954

 

IMG_1961

IMG_1964

IMG_1967

IMG_1977

IMG_1982

IMG_1988

 

 

With all the danger, destruction, death, and dragons we deal with, I sometimes suggest this helpful phrase:

It’s safer than it feels.

Is there any danger of my forgetting to  express gratitude at the end of this blog post?

IMG_1996

 

 

Categories: personal growth, photojournalism, Psychotherapy | Tags: , , , , , , , , | 24 Comments

Post navigation

24 thoughts on “Day 1228: Danger

  1. Thank you.

  2. Bthe concept of danger is different as I get older. I remember the fearlessness of childhood, the invincibility that lasted even into my thirties. The time I went hang gliding at fifty, and the time I hid in the jungles to avoid the military in northern Guatemala. Dangers I would not consider today!

  3. When I was six a friend and I were exploring a vacant lot near my house. I found an attractive spider with a shiny black body and a red hourglass on its abdomen. My friend picked it up and put it in a jar and we took it and showed it to my parents who reacted with horror. His father then coated the lot with bug spray.
    My friend and I kept going back to that vacant lot. I think we knew our parents’ reactions were out of proportion, that the risk of either of us being harmed was slight, and knowing what to watch for we reduced it even more. We were in greater danger crossing the street, but we’d been taught lessons that reduced the danger.
    I think it was a valuable reminder of something I already intuitively knew: fear of danger is a useful thing but it doesn’t mean you have to change your life.

  4. Danger is sometimes in the eye of the beholder ie ghosts, or real-big drop off of a cliff. We always have to look and assess whether we are up for the challenge or retreat to try again another day. Sometimes I feel strong and sometimes not. I like my strong self and have patience for my weaker self. It’s more fun to have adventures. Hope your fish flies far and has a safe landing in a nice watery, safe locale.

    • I greatly appreciate the fun adventure of this comment, which helped me fly far and have a safe landing.

  5. Awesome post, Ann, with some great historical detail. Awesome photos, to go with it, too. The concept of danger seems to vary from individual to individual. Perhaps that’s something to do with confidence – or lack of it – in our own physical or mental capabilities, or on views on life. One person’s views on ghosts may terrify them whereas another person laughs off the idea of ghosts as ridiculous. Does upbringing and instilled beliefs play a part in that? It isn’t my department to analyse, I’m just wondering. I think you’re right about being aware of dangerous situations without becoming paranoid about danger lurking everywhere we go. What a great, thought provoking post.

  6. When I was younger I use to love doing dangerous things. Climbing up the side of mountains, skydiving, etc. One day it hit me that I don’t do those kind of things anymore and I realized it happened the day my daughter was born. I don’t remember a conscious decision to be more careful, but my subconscious apparently said, “Stop it!”

  7. I worry more now about something dangerous happening to my son than I ever did when he was little. He’s so much more independent now, and much too old for me to tell him he’s not allowed to go to the corner store by himself–especially because he works there part-time! So now I worry about him getting robbed…

    • I worry about dangers, too. And I realize that worry can make things feel much more dangerous. Could it be safer than it feels? Many thanks for sharing your worry here.

  8. Ann,
    One thing we know for sure when we enter this world is that we will not remain in it.
    Danger is around every turn. But without risk there is no reward. What point is there to have life if we are afraid to live it.
    The lyrics from “The Impossible Dream” remind us that some potential dangerous risk are worth taking.
    “…to be willing to march into hell for a heavenly cause.”
    -Alan

  9. Were in danger from two geese attacking you ? 🙂

  10. Impaired vision could spell danger

  11. That was a good historical trip as well as a alert about how we over-anticipate danger. I love the Tea… Teammates photos and the giant tree. Most of all I loved your drawing of the fish and balloon!

  12. Fear can dominate our life and even extend into our death. Our statues and tombstones are made of stone, partly out of fear we’ll be forgotten.
    It’s wonderful to notice that many, if not most, fears are imagined. It takes away most of their power.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

