Day 1221: Hopes

When my one-week spring vacation began five days ago, I had hope

IMG_1567

that the weather would be seasonably sunny and warm.

Because the weather has been consistently rainy and cold, I translated that

IMG_1589

into hope that I would see wonderful, hopeful people, indoors.

Yesterday, that hope came true as I saw Joanne and Caitlin in a hopeful place where I used to work and also Rachel, who worked with me decades ago at two different high tech companies.

As I was driving  in the morning, I heard the 1st movement of the “Italian” symphony, composed by Felix Mendelssohn in response to the kind of sunny weather I’d been hoping to experience this week:

 

I

IMG_1577

you enjoy seeing Joanne, Caitlin, Rachel, and other hopeful sights I saw yesterday.

IMG_1566

IMG_1568

IMG_1572

IMG_1580

IMG_1581

 

IMG_1587

IMG_1588

IMG_1594IMG_1597

IMG_1596

 

IMG_1606

IMG_1608

I hope you enjoyed seeing Joanne, Caitlin, Rachel, Rachel’s dog Flash, her husband Tom, and her new granddaughter Rayla. Rachel and I talked, over lunch yesterday, about doctors who have given us different levels of hope about our health. She said to me,  “At one point I just decided I’m going to be fine, no matter what I read or what they said.” (I hope I quoted Rachel accurately.)  I told Rachel yesterday that I’ve reached a similar hopeful point, too.

I hope you like two more hopeful pictures from yesterday:

IMG_1612

IMG_1611

I hope that new cat bed keeps Oscar off my laptop, because he posted again on Facebook yesterday:

()GGGikm8 <– Oscar just typed that. What does that mean?

I hope my Facebook friends don’t mind if I quote their responses:

Janet H. Feed me.
Unlike · Reply · 1 · 12 hrs
Linda S. Oh great G-d grandeur, kick my 8(0/0). He’s asking for humility. Sooo easy!!!Lol!
Unlike · Reply · 1 · 12 hrs
Deborah Faye #nevertrump
Unlike · Reply · 3 · 12 hrs
Peter C. Pissed off at your menu choices. “Golden Ginger Grahams isn’t kibble, mate !”
Unlike · Reply · 1 · 12 hrs
Beth B. Hi Beth!
Unlike · Reply · 1 · 12 hrs

I hope you also leave a comment, below.

Hope-filled thanks to all who helped me create this post and to you — of course! — for whatever hope you bring, here and now.

Categories: personal growth, photojournalism | Tags: , , , , , , , | 44 Comments

Post navigation

44 thoughts on “Day 1221: Hopes

  1. what a beautiful post ❤

  2. “I was just making sure of you”. Pooh as Zen master. 💖

  3. I like what Rqchel said about deciding to be fine. I think that is easily half of getting to fine, simply deciding.
    Also loved seeing Winnie the Pooh. I cannot believe I missed that as a child and had to see it for the first time when I was in my twenties! Loved it then, love it still.

  4. I HOPE you know how much I enjoy reading your blog each morning.

  5. Looking at the pictures–and the pictures of pictures–makes me think about how the internet is a visual expression of how interconnected we all are. We’re interconnected even without the internet but sharing pictures allows us to see that interconnectedness.
    And that gives me hope for the future.

  6. Pooh Bear and Calvin and Hobbes all in one post! What could you go wrong?

  7. I have faith in hope – and very hopeful recording you have provided

  8. “Hope” is the thing with feathers –
    That perches in the soul –
    And sings the tune without the words –
    And never stops – at all -“

    Emily Dickinson

  9. A lovely, hopeful post. I feel that I’ve had tea in a garden with a wise friend. I love the Calvin and Hobbes selection.

    I tried to post from another device and WordPress wouldn’t let me. I hope this one takes.

  10. I love the fact that your friends know when Oscar has posted and what he meant!

  11. Carol Ferenc

    There aren’t many blog topics better than hope. Lovely post!

  12. Your sentiments about ice cream are 100% spot on!!

  13. HOPE Victor Frankl

  14. I hope that all goes well for you in the future!

  15. Hopingal is well.

  16. Nice to hear a bit of Mendelsohn. Like that and lovely hope post!

  17. Pingback: Day 1222: Be proud of who you are | The Year(s) of Living Non-Judgmentally

  18. I think next time I clean my house I will do it to this piece by Mendelssohn and little blue birds will come in and help me and it will all be done so quickly (like in Snow White)
    Hello, out there! Oh, I hope nobody answers. – Winnie the Pooh.
    Hope you have a fantabulous day!
    The music is done, and so am I.

  19. Just lovely- enjoyed the positivity and the pictures!

  20. Lovely. Thank you for sharing. I like the songs from “Annie”. “The Sun Will Come Out Tomorrow”. I love the potential and love of babies and pets.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

