Day 1214: Relationship Managers

What is a relationship manager?

I think we are all relationship managers.  That is, we all manage different relationships throughout our lives.

In what ways are you a relationship manager?

One of the most important relationships I manage is that with my 18-year-old son, Aaron, who will be managing new relationships  at University of Edinburgh this fall.

Yesterday, Aaron and I met with somebody who is officially a relationship manager.

IMG_1122

IMG_1123

Jose, who works for our local bank,  managed to improve Aaron’s relationship with money by  managing to approve him for a credit card.  Aaron and I told Jose we really appreciated the way he managed our financial relationships.

After we managed our new relationship with Jose, Aaron wanted to manage his relationship to some lines from a  Shakespeare play he’s appearing in soon, so we rehearsed a scene where Prince Hal is trying to manage his relationship with his father, King Henry IV. Aaron managed to memorize this line about  Prince Hal managing two different relationships:

I will redeem all this on Percy’s head,
And, in the closing of some glorious day,
Be bold to tell you that I am your son..

.

Aaron, my bold son,  is glorious at managing lines and also his relationship with his mother.

I shall now manage my relationship with my readers by sharing all the other photos I managed to take yesterday.  Do any of them relate to relationship managers or management?

IMG_1113

As a psychotherapist, I see relationship managers and relationship management everywhere, all the time. As a blogger this morning, I almost managed to choose two different titles from those relationship-manager pictures, above.

I wonder how I would have managed my relationship with this blog if I had chosen either of these alternate titles for today’s post:

Day 1214: Our Humble Beginnings

Day 1214: Muster Point

I actually managed my relationship with that second title by writing this introduction before I managed to choose today’s topic:

Do any of the people mustering here, at this point, know what a muster point is?

A muster point is a pre-determined spot that everyone is aware of.

Will you manage your relationship with me by managing a comment in the muster point below this post?

My final blogging relationship management, for now, is to thank all who helped me create  this  post and you — of course! — for all the relationship managing and mustering you’re doing, today.

 

 

Categories: blogging, personal growth, photojournalism, Psychotherapy | Tags: , , , , , | 26 Comments

Post navigation

26 thoughts on “Day 1214: Relationship Managers

  1. I can barely muster a thought but wanted to leave a comment, pre-caffeine. Interesting terminology. I’m thinking some people who try to manage a relationship become aware of how little control they can muster. All the best to Aaron in Edinburgh.

    • I am mustering a reply before I leave for work, Ruth, to thank you for managing this excellent comment, pre-caffeine.

  2. Luis Del Castillo

    Aaron is such a cool kid!! I’m pretty sure he’ll manage really well in Edinburgh
    lovely blog as always

    • You are so cool in managing relationships, Dr. Del Castillo! I can barely manage my joy about seeing you here today.

  3. I am so excited for Aaron about his university plans. Congratulations to him on his first credit card.

  4. Now I’m thinking about how Prince Hal managed his relationship with Falstaff, and how Falstaff managed–or mismanaged–his relationships with others.
    I remember one of my professors saying that Shakespeare’s historical plays, unlike the comedies or tragedies, were often studies in leadership. But the categories aren’t Shakespeare’s; they’re a way we manage the plays, and it occurs to me that every play has examples of how to manage and mismanage relationships.
    I’m glad Aaron is taking part in the tradition of keeping Shakespeare’s relationship managers alive.

  5. I always thought muster meant summon – as in “muster your courage” – ah well, learn something new every day!

  6. Your comments section is one of my favorite muster points.

  7. Carol Ferenc

    I’ve never met an official Relationship Manager. Weren’t they previously called Customer Service Reps? I can’t keep up but I love visiting your muster point, Ann.

  8. I heard the call to muster today! Must be because we have a relationship 😉

  9. “Relationship Manager” sounds odd. It gives a wrong tone for relationship is fragile and needs to maintain properly. I hope we do not need one for every relationships one has.

  10. As usual, I muster all my courage to appear here

  11. Ann, I know Jose is a relationship manager and all, but did anyone bother to tell him his hair is well, lopsided? It suits him though. Is Aaron excited about Edinburgh? What an adventure that will be.

  12. It is interesting that, in an era where relationships have given way to financial considerations, those who manage our money are called ‘relationship managers’

  13. Reblogged this on Ancien Hippie.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

