Day 1210: Nature vs. nurture

It is my nature to nurture understanding and clarity, so I shall now use the nurturing capabilities of the internet to explain “nature vs. nurture.”

Image result for nature vs nurture

mchscityzen.com
One of the oldest arguments in the history of psychology is the Nature vs Nurture debate. Each of these sides have good points that it’s really hard to decide whether a person’s development is predisposed in his DNA, or a majority of it is influenced by this life experiences and his environment.
.
As nature shows its beauty in Boston this weekend, I am nurturing many thoughts about nature vs nurture, today, because yesterday …
  • I saw the movie Zooptopia
  • I went to a large Passover seder where people talked about their passions, their pasts, and how nurturing elements in their lives have allowed them to overcome unhelpful aspects of their natures.
  • My boyfriend Michael and I had a conversation where he said, “I seem to be genetically disposed to not make money” and I said “I seem to be genetically disposed to not become famous.”

It seems natural, at this point,  to express my hope that this post is nurturing you to comment about any thoughts, feeling, or experiences you might have about nature vs. nurture.

Nurturing readers probably know  it’s my nature to take photos intuitively and then share them in this daily blog.

 

IMG_1044

If your nature is to ask questions about anything in this post, my nature is to nurture that natural curiosity.

Because my nature loves the natural beauty of spring, I shall nurture that love of nature by appreciating the beautiful weather  outside today.

Before I do, here‘s a nurturing, natural musical interpretation of the nature of New England spring, by the late Dan Gibson:

 

Natural and nurturing thanks to all who helped me create this post and — naturally! — special thanks to you for visiting, here and now.

Categories: personal growth, photojournalism | Tags: , , , , , , , , | 47 Comments

Post navigation

47 thoughts on “Day 1210: Nature vs. nurture

  1. I like that side of you. I’m curious if anyone in the street has ever recognised you from your blog.

  2. I used to be a firm believer in nature, that everything we are is bred into us from birth, but both Mendel and Darwin made me rethink that. Then again as a teacher once said to me, “If we only looked at Mendel and Darwin the whole world would be pea plants and giraffes.”
    So I think of how Shakespeare put it: “Where is fancy bred: in the heart or in the head?”
    Then I think of the British poet Jeremy Reed who asked, “Why be one or the other?”
    Naturally we nurture.

    • My nature is to miss your comments when you’re not here, Chris, so naturally I am thrilled to see you. Thank you for your nurturing thoughts.

  3. I think it’s a bit of both Ann. What do you think? ❤
    Diana xo

  4. Nuture is an act of love. Nature is an act of randomness. Nurture is a conscious effort; nature is a random act. You can nurture nature but nature doesn’t always nurture. And now that I am all pretzelly, you nuture us!

  5. Who is the woman in the frame?

    I seem genetically disposed to ask you about your photos most days

    • I am genetically disposed to appreciate your questions and to answer as best I can, Maureen. I do not know who that woman is, but I know the photographer — Jonathan Stark, my good friend and ex-business partner.

      • Maureen

        Aha! That explains why Facebook keeps floating up Jonathan Stark as a potential Facebook friend. Mystery solved.

      • I thought it was Isabella Rosselini. But don’t think she has light colored eyes…

      • I thought that looked like Isabella Rossellini, too.

  6. Love the birdsong in that piece. ( it’s not outside my bedroom window at 5 am.) Happy Spring to you, Ann. 🐦

  7. I do not completely believe in that you are pre-conditioned and you do not have free will to change or have influence the future outcome of your own.

  8. Viva nature! Viva nurture!

  9. I believe nuturing helps shape nature. I’m naturally optimistic and shy which I nuture. I use to hate that I’m shy but I’ve learned to accept it 😊 I nuture it by choosing activities that also provide me with my much needed alone time 😊

  10. Carol Ferenc

    It must be some of each, I think. Otherwise, some things don’t make any sense at all . . . right?

  11. I love the music selection. I would like to go there and live, where the birds sing like that. That would be wonderful!!!!

  12. Hum, why does the dog need power? I’m a nurture sort of person.

    • I love the way you nurture me with your observant comments. I was hoping somebody would notice and comment about that sign. Despite what it looks like, it’s actually supposed to say “No Power for the Day.”

  13. jwoodruf2015

    I loved rule number one and that music!!!

    Janet S. Woodruff RN, BSN Healthcare Associates BIDMC ________________________________________

  14. i’m nurtured
    by your nature 🙂

  15. My paternal grandmother could have used that Mom rules kitchen towel when her great big sons barged in and fried the fish they’d caught and cleaned and made hush puppies and cucumber salads. She was pleased they could cook, but I think she would have liked a little more deference…

  16. The vs is the problem. Both are influential, yet we always argue about it

  17. Ada

    Wow. What an excellent piece. Make us pause and think.

  18. Reblogged this on Ancien Hippie.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

