Day 1205: What makes a special place?

My special boyfriend, Michael, often says

It’s not the place, it’s the people.

I thought of that yesterday, when I took a little trip to Leominster, Massachusetts, to visit The North End Diner and Doyle Community Park & Center and saw this:

IMG_0906

Even though this was the only person I took a picture of yesterday …

IMG_0904

… it was still people who made each place special, including

  • the waitress who gave me free fruit and home fries when I told her it was my first time at the North End Diner and that I didn’t eat meat and
  • all the people who were friendly, along my walk at Doyle Community Park.

I chose to visit Leominster yesterday  because of special memories I have of a special person who grew up there — Alexa, whom I first met in Boston Children’s Hospital when we were kids.

Here’s an old photo of me and Alexa:

1236849_10201365178164711_551174908_n

And here’s a special photo my special son Aaron took when we spent some time with Alexa in England during my first year of blogging (as mentioned in previous posts here and here):

1185281_10201143963034471_461356851_n (1)

When I found out that Alexa had passed away, I wished I had spent more special time with her in other special places.

Here are other special places I saw yesterday, in  Leominster Massachusetts:

When I drove back, yesterday, through Littleton,  Massachusetts, home of my special friend Rachel, I took this final photo of the day.

IMG_0939

What was special about that place, that I would take a photo of it?

I’m not sure, but soon after taking that special photo, I called Rachel, whom I haven’t seen in several years.  We agreed to meet in some special place, soon.

What makes a place special, for you? If you express that in a comment, that will definitely make this post more special to me.

Special thanks to all those who helped me create this post and to you — of course! — for visiting, here and now.

Categories: blogging, friendship, in memoriam, personal growth, photojournalism | Tags: , , , | 26 Comments

Post navigation

26 thoughts on “Day 1205: What makes a special place?

  1. Love this special post. A place becomes special when a sense of peace envelopes me, and I can feel the hint of a smile.

  2. You are special Ann and make every day feel special.

    What a special way to remember your friend, and to create a special place for her in your heart (and blog).

    A special place for me is where nature surrounds me with all its glorious sounds and smells and sights and touch and I find myself sinking into its special nature.

  3. Thank you for sharing such special and personal memories. I agree that it is the people we meet and spend time with that make places and events special.

  4. This is what I’ve been trying to teach my proteges, although Oscar gives me a hard time sometimes. I fired Grumpy a long time ago.

  5. There are many special places, but if it were not for the people, I could not stay.

  6. A special post for a special friend. Heart warming and inspiring Ann. 💛

  7. Thank you for sharing your special place on this special post. I have many special places, but I think the most special is Okracoke Island in North Carolina. It takes me back to a special time and has lots of special people.

  8. Carol Ferenc

    What a lovely post this is, Ann. Truly ~ very special.

  9. I just wrote someone today, that meeting people is the experience we look forward to in life now. People make the event. I’m sorry for your loss. What a lovely way to remember your beautiful friend.

  10. There isn’t one answer to the question. I think everyone relates to place(s) in different way. My special place for me is the place that I feel like home .. home it is 🙂

  11. In misguided attempts at political correctness, we, in UK at least, have twisted so many words and meanings. For example people with disabilities, once called handicaps, have become people with special needs, and now, just ‘special’ usually spoken with a negative nuance.

    As for special places – they are where my loved ones are

  12. You are definitely right about a special person does make a special place. My special place is the beach with my mom (Margaret). We always have the best time getting some sun and people watch. No cell phones needed unless I am playing music on it. Thanks for this post 🙂

  13. Lovely happy/sad photos. I remember my visit to Santa Fé because all the bus drivers wanted to give us free rides, and made such wonderful jokes to justify their kindness.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

