Day 1200: Where do we come from? What are we? Where are we going?

Because I come from Boston, I recognize that

Where do we come from? What are we? Where are we going?

is the English translation of this:

IMG_0783

which is the title of this amazing painting by Paul Gauguin

IMG_0784

which has been in Boston’s Museum of Fine Arts for as long as I can remember.

Do you think, in his painting,  Paul Gauguin has answered

Where do we come from?  What are we?  Where are we going?

How would you answer those questions?

To give you some time to think about that, here are lots of other photos I took yesterday (which may or may not help with the answers).

IMG_0741

IMG_0742

IMG_0745

IMG_0746

IMG_0747

IMG_0748

IMG_0757

IMG_0756

IMG_0764

IMG_0767

IMG_0785

IMG_0798

Where do I come from?  Boston.  What am I?  Human.  Where am I going? Wherever life takes me.

Are you going with me?

Thanks to Paul Gauguin, Boston’s Museum of Fine Arts, Picasso,  my friend Mary, Arlington’s Center for the Arts, The Healing Center, the Pat Metheny Group, and all the other humans who helped me create today’s post. And thanks to you, no matter where you come from, what you are, or where you’re going.

Categories: art, personal growth, photojournalism | Tags: , , , , | 25 Comments

Post navigation

25 thoughts on “Day 1200: Where do we come from? What are we? Where are we going?

  1. Thought provoking question Ann- love the accompanying photos. I remember when I was a child asking my father that question. He said “we’re all just here”

  2. Thank you for bringing these exhibits to us! I come from DC where we have an abundance of free museums but I’ve also had the good fortune to travel to many other museums around the world. My travel days may well be over now so I am happy that what I am is someone who carpes the diem (!) because if I’d waited until retirement I would have missed everything. Where I’m going remains to be seen but luckily your blog is easy to pack!

  3. My answer: I have no idea!

  4. Thanks also to Munch, Matisse, Degas, Van Gogh, Upadhyay, Goldsworthy, Horsting, Snoeren, van Herpen, and all the other artists who inspired this.
    And to you for your own artistic view of so much art.

  5. I love how your mind sees and hears and knows and shares and questions.

    I so love you and your beautiful mind.

  6. There’s a lot of photos to take in. I come from Michigan (at least I was born there.) Where am I going? I’ll find out when I get there

  7. Carol Ferenc

    Fascinating tour, Ann. Thanks for sharing! I come from Minneapolis but where I’m going is a mystery yet to be revealed.

  8. Ann your post made me think of this song that my co-worker heard at the end of the Scandal episode which prompted her to go out and buy a Diana Ross CD! ❤
    Diana xo

  9. Twenty percent of the world’s water pollution comes from the textile dyeing industry?!! I didn’t know that. Gives a whole new layer of meaning to, “That dress is to die for.”

  10. Some questions perhaps should be left unanswered 🙂

    Like those little of the museum.

  11. I’ve always loved, “Where are we going and why are we in this handbasket?”

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

