Day 1188: So what do you think the meaning of life is?

So what do you think the meaning of life is?

So I (and Merriam-Webster) think the meaning of life is

the ability to grow, change, etc., that separates plants and animals from things like water or rocks
: the period of time when a person is alive
: the experience of being alive

So I think the meaning of life is

what you make it.

So what do you think the meaning of life is, in these photos I took yesterday?

IMG_0436

IMG_0442

IMG_0460

IMG_0459

IMG_0458

So what do you think the meaning of life is?

IMG_0444

So what do you think the meaning of life is, in the following photos?

So I think those photos have special meaning in my life,  because they show my son in Edinburgh, Scotland, where he’ll be attending university.

So what do I think the meaning of life is?  So I don’t think I could explain it all in one blog post.

IMG_0435

… I think it includes giving thanks.

IMG_0461

So thanks a million, for reading this post.

Categories: gratitude, personal growth, photojournalism | Tags: , , , , , , , , | 66 Comments

Post navigation

66 thoughts on “Day 1188: So what do you think the meaning of life is?

  1. I am still wondering about it..

  2. Thanks to YOU Ann, for being such a great blogger, for being so helpful

  3. Eleanor

    To love and be loved

  4. The meaning of life is knowing you love trying to figure it out with family and friends at your side, Ann. ❤

  5. I think we establish meaning through our connections with self and others 💜

  6. I’ve quoted that Mae West line too. Very true. Cool post as always.

  7. Good coffee works for me….

    😉

    gigoid

  8. The Meaning of life can be summed up from the first 23 seconds of the final scene of the Monty Python movie of the same name. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qBArMmngVH4

  9. seems to mean
    being together
    & eating
    when possible 🙂

  10. I disagree with Miriam-Webster. Water surely has life, and even rocks seem to, to me. Dirt does (except the 99% clay dirt in my yard that won’t grow a thing!) and so does air.
    Maybe I should produce my own dictionary.

  11. Earlier this week I listened to Carl Sagan talk about how abundant the chemicals that make up life are in the universe which made me think about the scientific definition of life. And then here I was surprised you didn’t share Monty Python’s song about the meaning of life which made me think that, in the philosophical definition of life, surprise might be a part. We are alive only so long as we are aware and can be surprised. Maybe you thought someone would share that song in a comment.
    Would it be more surprising to bring it up without sharing it?

    • Are you aware that I might be surprised by your comment, Chris? To answer your question, most things are surprising to me.

  12. self-awareness starts the ball rolling and after that, obviously, it’s a crap shoot.

    • I love the meaning of your aware, ball-rolling comment!

      • Thanks. After spending a lifetime pondering exactly that: the MEANING of life, well, that is the extent of my wisdom on the matter. “Meaning of life” is as varied as there are sentient types out there (notice I’m pointing to beyond the universe 🙂 ) trying to figure it out, and while the meaning of the “meaning of life” is being shoved through the philosopher’s ringer, meaning just happens: ta-da! Pondering the “meaning of life” is like standing in front of the movie theatre asking, “I wonder what that movie is really about?” I think you really have to pay the admission price and go in to find out. Good thing about life is, it’s an interactive game.

      • I’m glad that these interactive comments happen here.

  13. ‘meaning’ is an overrated concept

  14. Congratulations to Aaron. What a great fit! And to you for being the sort of mom who had her son on stage in Scotland and seeing some great theatre there before he even applied for university there. He will feel at home.

  15. The meaning of life today….is congratulations! And celebration. And sharing. And anticipation. And so much more!

  16. I’m still figuring that out, Ann. We all have our own meanings and if someone did a big meta survey, some themes would no doubt emerge. But they probably wouldn’t work for everyone. Keep looking, but not too hard.

    • I’m looking at the meanings in your comment and it’s not hard to feel lots of gratitude and appreciation.

  17. I believe that you are suggesting that the meaning of life has something to do with whipped cream, unicorns and cats. Speaking of cats, is Oscar still in the doghouse?

    • Hey, if the cat’s in the dog house, is the dog in the cat house?

    • As I’m writing this reply, Oscar is on my lap. So what do you think the meaning of that is?

      And I love all the meanings you bring, Maureen and Sha’Tara.

  18. Meaning of life, eh? Deep post. Some great thoughts here. Thank you.

  19. Meaning of life … Love, which you captured a lot of in those photos.

  20. hello ann koplow its dennis the vizsla dog hay i agree food and sleep!!! oh and also gitting pet!!! and playing with toys!!! but mostly food and sleep and getting pet!!! preferably on the eerz!!! ok bye

  21. Carol Ferenc

    The meaning of life . . . will we ever really know?

  22. I think it’s whatever you want it to be. Too simple?

  23. Stopped by to thank you for following. This looks like a fun blog. The meaning of life? To feel joy and spread it around. To be love wherever you go. Simple.

  24. Reblogged this on Ancien Hippie.

  25. Pingback: Day 1247: Find your place | The Year(s) of Living Non-Judgmentally

  26. I think meaning of life is derived from self 🙂

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

