Day 1170: Live in your strength

Yesterday, when I was having a grumpy day, I saw this on a teabag:

IMG_0010

What does “Live in your strength” mean to you?  Does the strength of that advice live, for you, with any of my live-in-your-strength guesses?

  • Appreciate what strengths you have.
  • Live in the moment.
  • Take advantage of what life gives you.
  • Find strength wherever you can.
  • Expand your understanding of your own unique gifts throughout your life.
  • Embrace what you’re good at.
  • Share your strengths with others.
  • Let go of judgment about your limits.
  • Challenge yourself, with kindness.

Which of my other photos from yesterday best illustrate “live in your strength,” for you?

IMG_9991

IMG_9992

IMG_9995

IMG_9996

IMG_0001

IMG_0004

IMG_0003

IMG_9994

IMG_0006

IMG_0007

IMG_0008

IMG_0009

IMG_0012

IMG_0013

IMG_0014

On the strength of my including two photos of the same lively yellow moped, above, I now want to share these strong life memories:

When I was in my early 20s, I went to Bermuda with my friend Peter and rode a moped for the first time. That made me feel so alive, I bought a yellow moped when I returned to Boston, exactly like that lively one I saw yesterday. For years, I lived on that moped, riding it to work and all around town. After my lifestyle changed and I stopped riding it, I  still kept that moped, no matter where I lived. When I moved to where I live now, four years ago, I sold that yellow moped  to one of the lively movers. Ever since then, I’ve missed my yellow moped and I’ve envied the lives of scooter riders that live all around me. However, my  cardiologist strongly advises me to live the remainder of my life off of mopeds and scooters, because of the strong anti-coagulant medication that helps me live a normal life.

Which “live in your strength” music would you choose for this post? I choose the strongest (or, at least, most popular) song from 1975, the first time in my life that I lived on a moped.

I now invite you to live in your strength by expressing any thoughts and feelings in a comment, below.

Live and strong thanks to Peter, to my cardiologist, to Terry S. at work (who owns the “Daily Bitch” calendar), to the Captain and Tennille, and to all those who live in their strength, here and now (including you, of course).

Categories: personal growth, photojournalism | Tags: , , , , , , , | 31 Comments

Post navigation

31 thoughts on “Day 1170: Live in your strength

  1. Captain and Tenille … Those were the times of mopeds and adventures!

  2. That Daily Bitch calendar is priceless! Just like you.

    Listening to Captain and Tenille right now — lovin’ it and the memories they bring. 🙂

  3. One of my strengths has always been finding the positive in everything. For instance while I’m sorry you had to give up your scooter I think an advantage is you may walk more.
    And while your moped may have gone to a good home it could have been memorialized as a very nice chair.

    http://belybel.com/bel-bel-scooter-chair/

  4. I am relying on my mental strength to remind me that my physical strength is not what it was 🙂

  5. Your blog today is like a can of spinach for Popeye!
    Feeling strong!

  6. Nobody can mope on a moped.

  7. I can’t believe you chose “Love will keep us together” rather than “Muskrat Love,” which is the all time best song ever.

    My favorite song is actually “Lithium” by Nirvana. I’m not sure why. It’s kind of a downer song, but I can relate so much to it that it gives me peace of mind. I think it reminds me I’m not alone in the world, which gives me strength.

  8. Marcia Dubreuil

    Somehow, “live in your strength” brings to mind Rufus Wainwright’s song “Oh What a World.” Mostly, I am reminded of a great line from “Three Amigos,” when the people of Santo Poco have to come up with something they are REALLY good at. Their reply, after some hesitation, is “We can sew, a little…”

    Loved seeing the twin of your wonderful scooter, Ann.

  9. “Forgiveness is giving up all hope for a different past.” WOW! If that doesn’t say it clearly I don’t know what does. I soooo wish JD could let go of the past he had and grasp how wonderful the future COULD be. And many thanks for the Daily Bitch excerpts! I think that may have to go on my desk next year!

  10. Carol Ferenc

    The Daily Bitch, “That lie you’re living . . . how’s that going?” LOL!! I live in my strength when I don’t live a lie. Captain and Tennille ~ nice touch, Ann. Love that song!

  11. The greatest strength is that which is held in silence. As one who holds a black belt in karate. Just knowing what you can do is sufficient.
    -Alan.

  12. Have you heard, “not for the faint-hearted”?
    Definitions:
    “extreme or very unusual, and unsuitable for people who like only safe and familiar things”
    or simply:
    “faint-hearted or fainthearted”
    Definitions:
    adjective: “lacking in courage”

    Life itself is not for the fainthearted, but do people really get a choice? Even in wealth, there are basic things to fight for. People have to learn for themselves. Nobody is going to live your life. How are you going to choose your battles? According to your own values. In the end, one could be alone, but is that a bad thing? Life is not for the fainthearted!

  13. I have not thought about one’s strength in those items. They are good for me to look at one’s strength differently now. Good ones!

  14. Ok I have read the post three times and still can’t think of a funny, nice and happy comment so instead I will say Hi there how ya going, I am all soft and flabby and have no strengths, hell if I was to life something heavy I would drop it on my head or foot, and might end up in hospital so not going to try that and you know what I don’t know what I am talking about

  15. Great song!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

