Day 1169: Grumpy

I have many reasons to be grumpy right now, including the following:

  1. I’m always grumpy immediately after a time change,
  2. I’m wearing a new dental device to treat my sleep apnea, which puts my jaw out of joint (temporarily) overnight,
  3. my only child– who’ll be graduating high school in June — will be leaving home very soon,
  4. our cat Oscar likes to bite me in the mornings,
  5. I ate way too much fat and sugar yesterday,
  6. I discovered that the whiteboard at my new office in Newton had fallen down,
  7. when we were moving the desk for my new office, one of the legs fell off,
  8. my son and I visited a make-your-own-Sundae place near where I grew up, which made me miss my late mother,
  9. I didn’t have any time alone yesterday to relax, and
  10. my empathy makes me join with any grumpy creatures around me.

What makes you grumpy?

Of course, I have many reasons not to be grumpy today, including the fact that I have lots of new pictures to show you.

IMG_9916

IMG_9949

 

IMG_9966

IMG_9967

IMG_9978

IMG_9979

I am inspired by the cool fish in that last photo to let go of all remaining grumpiness with a song:

Many thanks to all who helped me create today’s grumpy post and to you — of course! — no matter how grumpy you’re feeling, here and now.

Categories: personal growth, photojournalism | Tags: , , , , , , , | 67 Comments

Post navigation

67 thoughts on “Day 1169: Grumpy

  1. What makes me grumpy is that time of the month … and being hungry!

  2. I’m sorry that your whiteboard fell down and the leg came off the desk and so on, although being bitten by the cat sounds rather nice. I have found it helpful to screw our whiteboards into the walls rather than hanging them, if they are to stay in one spot. Do you think that might work for you?

    Aaron is going away to school? I am surprised as you live near so many wonderful schools. That will be a big change. (I’ve experienced it with one of my own kids.) No wonder you are grumpy! Deservedly so! But, congratulations to Aaron on his acceptance.

    Happy pi day.

    • Aaron does not know for sure where he is going to college, which might be making us all a little grumpy. No matter what he decides, he won’t be living at home. And, he might go as far away as University of Edinburgh (which is the only place he’s been accepted, so far).

      • I wonder if he would like UBC, in my neighbourhood. It is big, has theatre, medicine, law, engineering, creative writing — everything. It is on the ocean and an easy bus ride up from Seattle and if he liked us, he could stay with us. 25/minutes by bus to campus, less than 30 minutes by rapid transit to airport, 15 minutes to downtown by public transportation.

      • Sounds great. He didn’t apply, though. Does that make any of us feel grumpy?

  3. That fish sign is cool! 🙂

  4. those are plenty of good reasons for being grumpy Ann. I’m a little grumpy because I got to bed too late, it’s Monday and raining, and you know what Karen Carpenter always said about Rainy Days and Mondays…….
    Hope your day improves! 🙂

  5. Large cup – 1/2 Dutch chocolate, 1/2 pistachio . Ungrumps me for short while.

  6. To do: start cult. Transform office into dance studio.

    You made me laugh! Definitely not a grumpy laugh.

  7. This reminds me of the joke “Instead of waking up grumpy this morning I let him sleep.” Is it strange that make-your-own-Sundae shops can make me grumpy because the options overwhelm me? But remembering “Head Of The Class” does serve as a counter to that.

  8. Love that clock!

  9. Even in your grumpiness, you are a shining light!

  10. I’m a natural!

  11. What makes me grumpy? Rain on Monday mornings, not seeing my granddaughter, a messy house, not walking and gaining weight. What makes me happy? Walking in the rain, playing with my granddaughter, a clean house, finding time to paint and draw and feeling good in my clothes. Time to get off the computer and start cleaning so I can get out to walk, despite the rain, and still find time to paint today. Love your blog.

  12. I have written “I am grumpy” blogs myself. Makes ya feel more human, you know? As that old adage goes, This Too Shall Pass….

  13. Hi Ann, sorry you were grumpy, but glad you are now not grumpy. I am grumpy because I have to prep for a colonoscopy tomorrow. That gallon bottle of Golytely sits on the kitchen counter taunting me. I am grumpy because I can only have clear liquids. I would gladly eat ice cream with even limited toppings at this point. Have a good day eating real food while I drink what is essentially anti-freeze.

    • I have rarely felt more grumpy when I had to drink that giant bottle of anti-freeze, SD. Here’s a gift for grumpy you from grumpy me.

      • That was hilarious! Thanks Ann. You are a food friend! I’m so glad that the lovely procedure is over. It turns out I get to do it all over again in a year. Yippee.

  14. Some grumpy feelings are celebrated!

  15. Barb C

    I’m grumpy also
    But I love Putnam pantry; and grumpy cat

  16. Only ten reasons on the list? Sounds like a great day to me.

  17. Carol Ferenc

    I’m sure Oscar’s bites are really love bites. Monday will be over with soon ~ time for a fresh start! Have a wonderful Tuesday, Ann.

  18. I love on the board in the second picture that it says step 1 is to start a cult. I never thought of that. It could be fun. I’m not sure I know what makes me grumpy. Sometimes I just am.

  19. The ‘no alone time’ really puts me on edge. We’ll commiserate together over that. No. Wait. It would add to not having alone time. Sigh.

  20. I think those are good items that can drive one grumpy. I actually get grumpy after I know that I got grumpy 🙂

  21. Lately I’ve just been making myself grumpy!

  22. As I read this I had my very grumpy daughter on the phone complaining about her son breaking things yet again, when I said sounds like something she would had done she got all pissy and told me not helpful, oh well she will get over it.

  23. I didn’t know about your sleep apnoea. (No apologies for UK spelling). As if you didn’t have enough to contend with. What makes me grumpy is the facile responses one gets to telephone and internet problems – but then, you’ve probably twigged that

  24. Pingback: Day 1170: Live in your strength | The Year(s) of Living Non-Judgmentally

  25. Your number 3 is making me grumpy too. Otherwise, I’m very put off that I’d lost track of time because it’s still light outside at 7:00 pm and I still haven’t started dinner, because it just seemed too early. And now I’m hungry-grumpy!

  26. Someone speaking to me before my morning coffee….

  27. hello ann koplow its dennis the vizsla dog hay i am a verry sweet dog and am never grumpy!!! however my sister saya on the other hand gits grumpy if she is sleepy or if yoo want her to moov frum wotever her fayvrit spot happens to be at the moment or if you try to adjust her blankits or for enny number of reezons!!! dada sez she is lukky she is such a pritty dog!!! ha ha ok bye

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

