Day 1115: How to let go of embarrassment

Is there any thing you’re embarrassed about, right now?  If so, let’s figure out

IMG_8730

What do you know  about letting go of embarrassment, based on your past experience and your own wisdom?  If you can’t think of anything, please don’t be embarrassed.  When somebody unexpectedly puts me on the spot and asks for answers, I’m embarrassed about how long it can take me to think of something useful.

I’m also embarrassed that I can’t remember everything people came up with, yesterday in my office, when we were brainstorming about how to let go of embarrassment.  I do remember the list included:

  • acknowledge what’s embarrassing you,
  • recognize how the embarrassment is affecting your thoughts, feelings, and actions,
  • figure out who originally gave you the idea you should be embarrassed in this situation,
  • challenge that assumption,
  • share your thoughts and feelings with somebody you trust,
  • recognize that other people get embarrassed,
  • let go of the embarrassment as quickly as possible, and …

IMG_8729

Because I’m a little embarrassed about my handwriting, I’ll point out that #9 says “Treat yourself kindly.”

As usual, I have an embarrassment of riches, photographically, that I’d like to share with you today:

 

Which of those images are most embarrassing to you?  How might you begin to let go of that embarrassment?

It’s embarrassing how easy it is for me to ask for comments for my daily blog posts.  Please don’t be embarrassed to leave one, below.

This might be embarrassing, but I’m not going to thank anybody for their help in creating today’s blog.  I’d definitely be embarrassed, however, if I didn’t thank you — of course! — for reading it.

 

Categories: personal growth, photojournalism, Psychotherapy | Tags: , , , | 29 Comments

Post navigation

29 thoughts on “Day 1115: How to let go of embarrassment

  1. Timely post for me! I have spilled my angry guts on my blog, then removed or edited posts due to repercussions. argh. I am such an idiot and need to pause before I react!

    • You are not an idiot, Julie. Please try not to call yourself names. That’s another suggestion for how to let go of embarrassment. Please treat yourself kindly. ❤

  2. “challenge the assumption”…I worked on that for a while, once I figured out where it came from…good advice, Ann. ❤️

  3. I am embarrassed to tell you that I am not sure whether shame and embarrassment are the same thing but in different degrees, or not the same thing at all. One of them has burrowed itself into me like a parasite right now.

    I am somehow not embarrassed to reveal that the construction of the secure patient information disposal bin attracted my curiosity, mostly because of the big sign on it saying it was secure. I suspect that I would test that lid with my fingers to see how hard it is to open, although I also know that I would not read anything that was inside.

    • I am embarrassed to say how much I appreciate your visits, Maureen, although I’m sad to hear that shame or embarrassment is affecting you that way right now. I hope you can let some of it go.

  4. I just found the best method of saving myself from embarrassment by recovering this post from the trash. I didn’t mean it, honest

  5. I thought I’d have a hard time finding an image that was embarrassing and then I saw the MyPlate graphic. It’s a little embarrassing to live in a country that has governmental organizations that interested in controlling every single aspect of my life.

    As for getting over embarrassment? Treating oneself kindly involves self understanding, as well as perspective, which usually is an antidote to embarrassment.

  6. Embarrassment or shame seem very social because social events may trigger it, unlike guilt which arise from memories of what one may think as “wrong” decisions. I’ve always been prone to embarrassment because I was nerdy, and not at the same level of other children (too slow, too fast, too unconventional, said the wrong things at the wrong time). The older I get the more I realize I overcame the embarrassments, and became more quiet to avoid misinterpretation. Now surprisingly my Aspergers condition falls under ‘autism’ which means that my brain may be different too. Everybody with this diagnosis was very embarrassed to know the DSM V changed this diagnosis to ‘autism’ because of the many children that have it. Parents now seem to feel embarrassed about its new name, and now people just say they are “autistic” although they may not behave as the severely autistic people do. The “not fitting in” is probably the most embarrassing aspect, yet now I feel I’m just too old for these kind of feelings. I’m grateful to life as it is.

  7. The “If you sprinkle…” rhyme makes me chuckle a little and I feel slightly embarrassed about that. It’s the sort of thing that makes my wife ask, “How old are you?” She says the same thing when she catches me watching Spongebob Squarepants.
    But I only feel slightly embarrassed and then I recover. I take a certain pride in indulging in childish things. Isn’t that one of the advantages of getting older?
    Hopefully as I get even older I’ll be able to let go of that fleeting sense of embarrassment.

  8. Ann,
    Good advice as always. Hope this praise doesn’t embarrass you. I’ve been embarrassed while singing in the car at a stop light when the next car rolls up in the next lane and looks over. If I don’t get a smile I simply roll the window up.
    -Alan

  9. When you’re a socially awkward introvert, every conversation has the potential to be embarrassing. It makes life interesting, to say the least.

  10. I’m not embarrassed to say that being embarrassed is very human. You have great pointers here Ann!

  11. Arrow sticky notes!!!! I am not embarrassed that I did not know about them, but need to find where to get some!

    • I am not embarrassed to say that I got them at the deCordova Museum gift shop, which was featured in my blog post three days ago. I am also not embarrassed to say that I am extremely glad to see you!

  12. The best and easiest way to get over embarrassment is to get older, because with age we learn not to give a rats ass or maybe that is just me

    • I am not embarrassed to say that I don’t think it’s just you, Joanne. As I age, I’m learning not to give a rat’s ass (and that’s pretty much the point of this post). ❤

  13. I’ve found as I get older it’s so much easier to let go of embarrassment simply because I forget it quicker. During the moment of embarrassment it’s embarrassing but after it’s passed I’m pretty much good to go.

  14. Pingback: Day 1116: What is the theme of this post? | The Year(s) of Living Non-Judgmentally

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

