Day 1079: Trash

Here are my first associations with “trash” this morning:

  1. In order to make room on my hard drive, I am trashing many things which do not stay trashed until I empty trash many times.
  2. My boyfriend Michael, almost every trash day, wonders why taking out the trash can feel so arduous.
  3. He who steals my purse steals trash.” — William Shakespeare
  4. One person’s trash is another person’s valuables.
  5. Every time I write something (including each daily blog post), I am deciding what to keep and what to trash.
  6. In my work as a psychotherapist, I help others trash unhelpful and habitual ways of thinking which are difficult to trash (like the trash described in #1, above).

What are your associations with the word “trash”?

Should I have trashed any of these recent photos and why?

IMG_7799

IMG_7810

IMG_7813

IMG_7814

IMG_7812

IMG_7815

IMG_7816

I would never consider any comment from you trash. And remember, only you can decide what is valuable and what is trash, in your life.

Valuable thanks to all who helped me create this trashy post and special thanks to you — of course! — for reading it.

 

Categories: personal growth, photojournalism, Psychotherapy | Tags: , , , , , , , | 31 Comments

Post navigation

31 thoughts on “Day 1079: Trash

  1. Good thinking is valuable and bad thoughts is thrash 🙂

  2. “One person’s trash is another person’s valuables.”-Ann Koplow

    Brilliant Ann, I couldn’t agree more. For me, “trash” can also have cultural connotations, that is probably why one may feel guilty at times throwing stuff away. Some artists may use the stuff, some stuff can be repaired or simply no longer “strikes one’s fancy” (a “bourgeoisie” expression in the urban dictionary). There is sometimes not enough time to do garage sales, or take things to the Salvation Army. We have accumulated stuff in our garage that we are planning to take to either the Salvation Army or a local shelter. “Trash” can have many connotations, so I use the word only to allude to decaying matter.

    “Trash” is also part of the human riddle. The world has accumulated so much of “things we longer need or want”, that recycling was invented. Most “trash” is simply non-biodegradable, so recycling tries to keep things at bay. However, so many trees have been cut down, so much air has been contaminated, simply because we cannot recycle at the same rate that we consume the products. I think one should to listen to environmentalists, because they know the “human riddle” all too well.

  3. Hey! I bought some Yogi ‘Egyptian Licorice’ tea for the first time here in Toronto yesterday, while you were taking of a picture of it there –

  4. Hey Oscar, they’re saying there’s a “human riddle”, what are we going to do?

  5. As much as I don’t like to admit it, Grumpy is right about one thing…

  6. Vote for me and my crew in the next presidential election, and everything will be just fine!

  7. That’s right, Ms. Antoinette:

  8. A few years ago I heard a Cornell scientist talk about how putting an end to pollution didn’t just require reducing what we throw away but an entirely different way of thinking about it. In nature, he said, there is no such thing as waste. Everything is consumed by something. The ultimate challenge challenge for us is to find a way to make everything recyclable, to have a world where children can safely play in the dirt next to a factory.
    We need to keep in mind that nothing thrown away really disappears. As a wise person said, “One person’s trash is another person’s valuables”.

  9. My first thought: Don’t trash the Bengal Spice!
    My second thought: I lived for many years in the Deep South. ‘White trash’ was a pejorative term not-so-poor people used freely to refer to poor white folks. I say trash the words ‘white trash’ and the sentiment and behaviors that accompany them.
    Third thought: It’s difficult to throw out what represents part of my life–even though it wasn’t always fun. It feels like I’m getting ready to die (which I am or am not, whether I like it or not!).
    Final thought: I’ll now review this comment to see whether there’s anything I need to trash–though I probably won’t see it until I hit Send and it’s too late.
    Respectfully,
    Elouise

  10. Ann

    Re: trash vs. treasure….I worked for a couple years as a trash collector, so, if I get started on the subject, we’d all be liable to be stuck here for days. Allow me to just say, nice & trashy…. and I mean that in the following way….

    My kids were 2 and 4 when I worked in trash; they believed I was the richest man in the world, for, every day I brought them a new toy, or book, or other item some idiot had thrown out as garbage…. which often included items still in the box they came in…. Thus, your reiteration of the old saw is further verified….In fact, my partner in the job used to say it thus: “one man’s trash is another man’s treasure….” All same-same, and always good to remember…

    In my mind, it teaches a lesson: reality is what you make of it….

    😉

    gigoid

    • This is what I make of this comment, Gigoid: I’m glad you made it.

      • 🙂

        BTW…. gigoid isn’t capitalized. Only the WP Title section makes it all caps….and I can’t seem to make it stop…

        By not using caps, I am reminded to leave ego-driven motivation out of what I write, and, out of anything I ask of a computer, as far as possible. Still working on leaving it out of reality….

        😈

        gigoid

      • ok, gigoid.
        — ann

  11. I love Bengal Pice tea…my random comment is trash…😝

  12. There’s a line from Will and Grace where Karen is mad at the ex-wife of the guy she is seeing, who is staying for a few days. The ex is taking the garbage outside and Karen says “I didn’t know trash could take itself out”

  13. We once took our trash to the dump or tip. It is now a ‘recycling centre’. Now, as then, we never come away empty handed, except that the other people’s trash is now kept in a ‘sales area’. Sometimes we go there just to shop

  14. hello ann koplow its dennis the vizsla dog hay and also wun mans trash is another dogs treasures!!! i no that is wot my brother tucker always yoozed to say wile he wuz trying to git into the trash kan in the kitchen!!! ok bye

  15. Lovely article, thank you for sharing 😉

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

