Day 1077: By Degrees

Yesterday, I heard a song that was new to me: “By Degrees.”

By degrees, what might you guess that song would be about?

  • Temperature (which was unseasonable warm in Boston yesterday)?
  • Certificates of college education (which my 17-year-old son will probably start receiving in less than five years)?
  • Small increments of measurement?

Here’s “By Degrees,”  performed by its composer, Mark Erelli of Reading, Massachusetts, USA.

Aaron, my son — who is, by degrees, getting very close to 18 years old — asked me yesterday, “Do you think you’ll lose any of your readers because of your blog post tomorrow?”  I said, “I don’t think so.”

Maybe I will win some and lose some, by degrees.

Here are all the pictures I took yesterday, in weather that was unseasonably warm by more than 20 degrees.

By degrees, you might be able to see that I took photos of yesterday’s march in Boston against gun violence and also of last night’s performance of the  Arlington Children Theater‘s production of One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest,” starring Aaron’s cousin Victoria and his great friend,  Cameron (who has appeared by degrees in previous blog posts here, here, and here).  If any of those photos are too small, you can increase the size of a photo by degrees with a click of your cursor.

As always, I would welcome any comments, by degrees, below.

By any degree,  I am grateful to all who helped me create this post and to all who are visiting, here and now.

Categories: personal growth, photojournalism | Tags: , , , , | 49 Comments

Post navigation

49 thoughts on “Day 1077: By Degrees

  1. I am finding this balmy December weather lifting my mood by many degrees Ann, and hope it continues! I love your bracelets!

  2. Thank you for sharing the video. I found it very powerful and moving. Maybe if more people saw the faces of those innocent victims they might have a change of heart when it comes to gun control.

  3. I’m so happy that you and Mark B are having unseasonably warm weather. It’s fekking cold here! ❤
    Diana xo

  4. I think you’re thoughtful blog approach here should be welcome to the crucial cause, Ann.

  5. I agree, that’s why I stick my paws in a fishbowl. Revoke the Second Amendment and get more kitties like me!

  6. Thank you for this very thoughtful and important post Ann.

    Guns do not discriminate
    against colour
    skin
    cannot stop
    their tearing apart
    bone
    stopped dead
    still
    in once beating hearts
    no longer free

    guns do not discriminate.

  7. PS — that song is powerful, the faces so beautiful and so sad to see.

  8. Love the blankets! That is such a great idea, and what a mitzvah! And how curious to find snow, or whatever that white stuff is, on a record breaking day of warmth. By degrees, reading your blog, I’ve come to feel I really know you, Ann!

    • The snow was from the nearby ice skating rink, Sunny. It was amazing to see little kids, with no coats, playing with that on snowless Boston Common. By degrees, I’ve come to feel I know you, too! ❤

  9. OMG, I just watched the video. Tears in my eyes, such sadness and so many wasted lives! Something has to change. Thank you for including this in your blog, Ann. If you do lose any readers because you’ve spoken out about the insanity of gun violence and the failure of the gun lobby to advocate positive change, who needs them?

  10. Reblogged this on sonnische and commented:
    This insightful blog post, by the talented and prolific writer Ann Koplow, will Touch your heart, especially if you watch the video with its amazing song, “By Degrees,” written and performed by Mark Erelli. His Dylanesque voice, folk style and poignant poetry are amazing and I hope we hear much more from him going forward.

  11. Lose followers for this post ? Interesting question. I don’t think I’d miss anyone who’d be offended by a rally against gun violence, Ann. By no degree. Carry on.

  12. So sad & true. Thanks so much for posting this.

  13. The temperature degrees are kind to us too. One Flew Over The Cuckoo’s was a great book and marvellous film – Nicholson before he got up himself

  14. Nancy Antunes

    You gained one. It was so nice to cross paths with you. It was comforting to know someone else was pushing themselves out of their comfort zone. I look forward to reading more of your posts. I could certainly use less judgement (both given and received in my life). Nancy (pictured above).

  15. Ann … I don’t think we’re numb to the violence. By degrees, we want to be hopeful for a positive change. 😉

  16. I’m glad you were brave, this is great video of a song in the best American tradition. I hope enough brave Americans will find a way to manage this problem. It doesn’t have to be all or nothing. I come from a family in the UK that own guns, but ownership is carefully controlled and legislated.
    I am a coward when it comes to controversial subjects, but by co-incidence I put up my first (and only) political post last night.

  17. Jan Woodruff

    Love the bib!!!

  18. I love the unfolding in degrees during this post Ann! An important topic shared in a powerful way. Thank you!

  19. That video is so moving. I find it very hard, as an outsider, to understand the mentality of the gun lobby.

  20. Reblogged this on Ancien Hippie.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

