Day 1074: The Head and the Heart

Yesterday,  people in a therapy group decided to explore this topic:

What’s in your head and what’s in your heart?

I suggested that we draw our heads and our hearts and fill them with words, images, and whatever else we chose.

IMG_7618

IMG_7619

For the rest of the day, I noticed things in my head and/or my heart.

What do you hold, now, in your head?  What’s in your heart?

Thanks, from my head and from my heart, to all who helped me create this post and to you — of course! — for bringing your head and your heart here, today.

Categories: group therapy, personal growth, photojournalism | Tags: , , , , , | 50 Comments

Post navigation

50 thoughts on “Day 1074: The Head and the Heart

  1. It’s looks amazing!!! when heart and mind makes wise and cunning, true!!! Explained well with images 🙂

  2. Sometimes my head holds my heart in check. Sometimes it doesn’t

  3. My head holds my anxieties and fears. My heart holds the anecdote for both.

    (My head and heart both hold much more, but this is the first thing that popped in to my head. And my heart said to share it.)

  4. First, Happy Chanukah. Second, this morning, after reading your post, I am reminded of the words, attributed to St. Thomas Aquinas that read, “The heart has it’s resons that reason knows nothing about”, which continues to help explain the head-heart dichotomy.

  5. Logic and feelings is a wonderful way of putting it.

  6. its amazing at how you discussed it.

  7. Will think about a good answer to your question.

  8. I think I would like to come to your therapy sessions Ann. I like the way you explain things. I am also quite fascinated by the little plastic kitties the pet store puts in the empty cages. My heart did not want to write “cage” but my head couldn’t think of a better word.

  9. Not surprisingly this brings to mind Shakespeare’s famous query: “Tell me, where is fancy bred? In the heart or in the head?” Although some people think there was a misspelling and he was actually looking for an artisanal bakery.

  10. Thankfully we all have both head and heart. Sometimes we forget and its nice to be reminded Ann!

  11. I’ve spent years trying to get out of my “head”, Ann. Still working on it. Speaking of heads…love your short hair. ☺

  12. My heart is a mix right now–on the same day that my son got accepted into university last week, I found a letter he had written to Santa Claus when he was little.

  13. What a neat activity – drawing the head and the heart, then filling them in. So important to be aware. And to be aware of where we’re making our decisions from.

  14. The heart just believes, the head tries to figure out why.
    Great post, Ann! Blessings.

  15. Oscar! There you are, finally! What a handsome cat you are! See how important it is to know the difference between the head and the heart! That is why you’re such a good “Human Whisperer”, and so is Harley. I have a question though. Grumpy wants to become a ‘Human Whisperer’ as well! Do you think you could train her? She just called me to tell me she has too much “mind” and not enough heart. She says it could hurt her business!

    • Oscar, I can’t believe Ms. Antoinette is bringing up Grumpy in this post. Grumpy is a millionaire cat. Why would Grumpy want to be a cat with “head and heart” now? It sounds too suspicious Oscar. I would just ignore her.

  16. I will ignore this concern of hers. It is very suspicious since Grumpy enjoys her work. Even when she eats goldfish and neon Tetras.

  17. I love all your pictures of cats! They fill my heart with joy.

  18. I’d like to have a little bit more of heart. Where’s that fish meal that’s usually served here?

  19. LOL Your kitty looks completely annoyed, at the end there. 🙂

    My head usually tells my heart to shut up. Hearts tell us what we want to hear, heads usually tell us what we don’t want to hear, lol.

    I do adore the heart shape though! There is a lovely symmetry to it. 🙂

  20. The quote posted by The Simple Village Undertaker “The heart has it’s reasons that reason knows nothing about”,sums it up for me

  21. Now you’ve got me thinking. Sometimes I don’t know where one begins and the other ends, though when I try to think too hard I can definitely feel it in my heart. I’ll have to give your exercise a little try. Thanks. I really enjoy your posts.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

