Day 1040: Too good to be true

Have you ever thought that something was too good to be true?  Was it too good?  And was it true?

Why do we think that something can be too good to be true?  Don’t we truly deserve good things to happen to us, as often as possible?

Here’s something true.   I’ve never, ever had this thought:

That’s too bad to be true.

Why is that true, good people?

If something seems too good to be true, people often have distorted thoughts about it, including:

  • I don’t deserve this.
  • This is going to be taken away.
  • I better not talk about this.
  • Something terrible is going to happen.

Is that true for you, good readers?

Yesterday, I remarked that I was having a day that was too good to be true, because:

  1. I found out that a good and true therapist is going to be hired by the hospital to work with me.
  2. I saw reviews for my presentation at the hospital from a week ago that were so good that I wondered if they were true.
  3. The temperature was a too-good-to-be-true-for-Boston-in-November 74 degrees.
  4. My Thursday evening therapy group made me write “Ann is the best ever” on the white board. I wouldn’t believe that was true unless I had this good proof:

IMG_6577

It’s true that a good member of the group last night also brought up AFOG (which stands  for “Another Fucking Opportunity for Growth”). It’s too good to be true that I started this daily blog almost three years ago to help me write a book titled “AFOG.” If you don’t think that’s true, please read my good enough “About” page.

Have I truly written a book with the good title “AFOG”?  No, because blogging every day since January 1, 2013 has been too good to be true for me.

Let’s see if I have any other photos from yesterday that are too good to be true.

IMG_6550

IMG_6549 IMG_6553 IMG_6555  IMG_6558IMG_6559 IMG_6562IMG_6565 IMG_6566  IMG_6573 IMG_6569IMG_6574IMG_6576IMG_6583IMG_6580IMG_6581IMG_6582

I wonder if I can find some too-good-to-be-true music for this post.

It’s true that a good and superstitious person told me, yesterday, that I should throw salt over my left shoulder because of my too-good-to-be-true day. Here‘s too-good-to-be-true Stevie Wonder:

It’s too good to be true that my last photo matches that music, so well.

True thanks to all the good people who helped me write this post and to you — of course! — for being so true, to me.

Categories: blogging, personal growth, photojournalism, Psychotherapy | Tags: , , , , , , , , | 17 Comments

Post navigation

17 thoughts on “Day 1040: Too good to be true

  1. It’s interesting that you include some reflections in your pictures–reflections which show us things as they really are but in reverse. That could be a metaphor for our reaction to things that seem too good to be true: we fear good luck so we mentally reverse it or look for the flaw.
    I’ll also never forget the first time I heard “Superstition”: Stevie Wonder performed it on Sesame Street. It seems almost too good to be true that Sesame Street would take time out for music that, while wonderful, didn’t seem to be aimed at children. But children could and did still enjoy it.
    Finally you’re only supposed to throw a little salt over your shoulder if you spill it. Taking a pinch of usable salt and wasting it is bad luck.

  2. Hi Ann, I am so happy to hear you had such a wonderful day yesterday. I love your blog, it is so good and that IS true!!!!!
    Hope you have another stupendously, fantabulous day today!!!!!!

  3. truly an exhausting week
    it’s friday – that’s good

  4. Oh Ann, I do think “its too bad to be true”… when there is so much drama and hype to get people’s attention and tap into their fear! … You are however always true … neither too good or too bad 😉

  5. You are too good to be true Ann!

  6. I sure hope that’s not Harley texting anyone in that iPhone. Harley, text me!

  7. Pingback: Day 1132: Be suspicious | The Year(s) of Living Non-Judgmentally

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

