Day 1030: Be Yourself

I’m going to take the advice in my post title, today, and be myself.

That’s the easiest thing to do, isn’t it? I mean, who else could I possibly be? Haven’t I’ve been being myself since the day I was born?

Be yourself, right now, and think about your reactions to that title.  Have people told you to be yourself? Who, why, where, and when?  Have you ever told yourself that?  What was the result?

I’m just being myself, now, asking questions about other people.

When I’m being myself, I often like to explain what’s behind my actions.  Therefore, I’ll tell you that I’m writing about “Be Yourself” today because I said that to two people I love, yesterday, who are both nervous about interviews.

I don’t know if “Be Yourself” is helpful advice. It’s difficult to be yourself when you’re

  • anxious,
  • meeting somebody new,
  • wanting to impress,
  • concerned about the possibility of rejection, and
  • invested in a particular outcome.

I’m just being myself whenever I include a bulleted list of examples, like that one.

I’m going to be myself and show you some photos I recently took, hoping that some of them fit today’s topic. Be yourself, please, when you look at them.

IMG_6285 IMG_6286 IMG_6292 IMG_6288

IMG_6294 IMG_6299 IMG_6303

IMG_6295

IMG_6308 IMG_6311IMG_6310IMG_6314IMG_6309IMG_6305IMG_6325 IMG_6326 IMG_6329IMG_6324

I took this photo

IMG_6321

when I was being myself, stuck in Boston traffic and wondering, “What IS that on the side of the Hancock tower?”

When I got home from work,  I was myself — I googled it and found this article, “Artist Behind Mural on Former Hancock Building Revealed.”

Myself, I did NOT know

  • that was a temporary art installation by French artist JR or
  • that the Hancock tower is now the “former Hancock building.”

I guess I was too busy being myself.

If you were being yourself and writing this post, what music would you include?

That’s Graham Nash, being himself and singing “Be Yourself.”

Thanks to all who are themselves, including you!

Categories: personal growth, photojournalism | Tags: , , , , , , | 25 Comments

Post navigation

25 thoughts on “Day 1030: Be Yourself

  1. “Be yourself – everyone else is already taken” 🙂

  2. In the immortal words of Dr Seuss: “Today you are You, that is truer than true. There is no one alive who is Youer than You.”

  3. Good one! Love the 25 other letters in the alphabet.
    Best from Ruth, in Pittsburgh

  4. It seems so easy to be myself until I start asking, who am I? That seems to vary. I think the question is, do I like who I am or is there a need to change? And how does my name define who I am? That makes me think I am someone who could share a musical version of this poem but will go with the author’s voice instead.

  5. So glad you are always yourself, Ann.

  6. Thanks for being yourself and posting the rockin’ medusa pumpkin! Wowsers!

  7. Your blog gets better each day. I love coming here to be myself. ❤️💞💓💕

  8. Sound advice for nervous applicants. And don’t pretend

  9. To be yourself, you have to know yourself, a lifelong path of discovery.

  10. I have to be myself, because no one else can do it quite the way I can, and no one laughs at my jokes as much as I do!!!!!
    I hope you had a uniquely Ann kind of day!!!!!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

