Day 1023: Becoming

I saw this last night.

I found that very becoming, because I was already thinking about how things can become other things, like a spoon becoming a pen …

… caring becoming worry (and vice versa) …

… a slinky becoming something else…

…  “busy” becoming other things…

… and my work computer screen becoming upside down, yesterday.

I was also thinking how Larry David had no trouble becoming Bernie Sanders on SNL this past Saturday, but had unexpected trouble becoming George Costanza (a character unbecomingly based on himself) on Curb Your Enthusiasm.

I believe it is becoming and healing to let go of shame, guilt, fear, worry about the future, regret about the past,  and outdated thought patterns.  However, as many becoming people have said in my office,

That’s easier said than done.

I know that, but saying the change can be the first step to becoming it.

Today, I will not be coming into the Boston teaching hospital where I work as a psychotherapist. Instead, I will be coming to a conference on innovation in medical practice.

Who knows what will become, on this day in October? I know this: another blog post will be coming your way, tomorrow.

I am becoming grateful to every person, place, and thing that helped this post become what it did today. I’m becoming especially grateful to you — of course! — for becoming,  here and now.

Categories: personal growth, photojournalism, Psychotherapy | Tags: , , , , , , | 38 Comments

Post navigation

38 thoughts on “Day 1023: Becoming

  1. I am realising some of these things now – thank you!

  2. I love the flow of your posts Ann, always so easy to read 🙂

  3. A hard day be coming up here…

  4. I am becoming addicted to your healing posts, Ann, and also to your philosophical and funny and worrying ones. I hope you are newly refreshed by the innovative conference.

  5. Interesting & provacative.

  6. Hi Ann, I have been going to the gym with my boys, who are both into bodybuilding. I realize I am becoming stronger, not only in my muscles, but also in my mind. I am lifting weights that I thought would be impossible to lift. My boys say I have muscle memory (I was a swimmer in college) and that is why I am building muscle so quickly. I found I don’t avoid bending down to pick things up anymore – I don’t even mind bending down. I feel more energetic and I sleep better. I have vigor. I have a long way to go. 17 years of no formal exercise has certainly taken a toll on my body. But by doing all this I am becoming in control of my mind and body once again and I am not accepting aging lying down on the sofa.
    Have an indubitably magnificent day!!!!!!!

  7. It’s so interesting that you bring up the theme of becoming at this time of year when the season is changing, the days are getting shorter and colder, the leaves are changing, and some of us may put on costumes to temporarily become someone or something else.
    It’s so wonderful to think of it not as a time of passing but a time of becoming.

  8. Love the Seinfeld clip…when the creation coaches the creator…interesting !

  9. Your viewpoint is always becoming for those of us who want to think about the world, Ann.

  10. I think that pen just made a tiny wrinkle in my brain.

  11. I often wonder how I became this old

  12. A becoming and interesting post Ann! xo

  13. Nietzsche’s Imperative: “Become who you are”

  14. It’s very positive that none of those thoughts are negative

  15. I have spoken change many many times before it became change. I talk a lot. 🙂 (But…change does follow.)

  16. I have been gone from this space, I think for nearly a year…and today I decided to come for a visit. I left for another space, one that isn’t quite the community as this space but none the less, I am there. Today I needed to read your words more than you will ever know and in fact. I will be making some art today. Art like the first photograph you have here. I need healing and I need a physical reminder. Thank you ever so much.

  17. Becoming seems to be an ever on-going process.

  18. That’s a great observation about how one thing/emotion/event slides into another, often without our noticing. It’s good to be aware of that. The thing you call a Springy, we here call a Slinky.

    • We call that a Slinky, too, Hilary. I had never heard it called a “Springy” before I saw that package. I guess a Slinky by any other name still springs eternal.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

