Day 1021: Water towns

No matter what town I’m in, I like to be near the water. Perhaps that’s because my hometown was on the water.

IMG_5040

Last week, I was in another Massachusetts water town.

IMG_5951 IMG_5952

Yesterday, I was in Watertown, Massachusetts, USA.

IMG_6002 IMG_6003

Here are some other recent photos of nearby water towns:

IMG_5592 IMG_5562 IMG_5451 IMG_5286 IMG_5038 IMG_4672-0 IMG_4563

Today, I’m going the Fort Point Channel Open Studios, in Boston. I’m sure tomorrow’s blog post will include more pictures of water towns. 

I think it’s time for some water town music.

That’s Bruce Hornsby,  singing about a water town,  in  “Every Little Kiss.”

A year from now, my son and I will probably both be in water towns, although not the same one. In this year before my son goes away to college, every little kiss, word, and moment with him seems even more precious. 

Thanks to my son, to Bruce Hornsby, to water towns everywhere, and to everyone who helps me water these daily posts with love — including you!

Categories: personal growth, photojournalism | Tags: , , , , | 31 Comments

Post navigation

31 thoughts on “Day 1021: Water towns

  1. I am a long-term desert rat who has become a water baby. I visit the water whenever I can! Soon it will cool off enough on the coastal town I love in Mexico and I will begin my winter visits there. Can’t wait!

  2. Very nice pictures of the water fronts and lakes. Yes, I think I like the water towns too.

  3. Wow Ann, those photos are so nice. You’re a great landscape photographer. As to the water towns:

  4. Yep, I can relate. Born and lived by a river my whole life, except for a stint in Salt Lake City…where no on lives by that nasty lake. ☺ My blog name…just a hint ! 💕

  5. I live at the foot of the Rockies, the ‘big’ water is a thousand miles to the west — and I hear its call, always.

    I love how you water my heart so well with your words and photos, you water down the things that would keep me from seeing and knowing the beauty all around!

    Thanks for the refreshing dip of wonder and awe this morning!

  6. I love water too Ann, it brings me peace to be by it. ❤
    Diana xo

  7. I love water, must have some water somewhere. How I ended up in a valley in the worst drought of the century, I will never know. It is so dry and parched around here. It’s really, really awful. We have a town near us that has run out of water completely, there is nothing scarier than knowing that you have no water. We are praying for rain, every single day.
    I love all the photos of the water.
    Have a deliciously wonder day surrounded by 2 Hydrogen and 2 oxygen (H202). Lucky!!!!!!

    • I am praying for rain for you, too, SD. Many thanks for the watering this blog with your lovely presence. I am lucky to have you for a reader!

  8. I love water, too, and live as close as I (safely) can to it. Occasionally, when it comes through the ceiling or out of pipes, I don’t feel quite as much affection for it. Many of your water photos convey a sense of serenity. I wonder if it’s because oceans and lakes dissolve some of our angst into their vastness?

    It sounds like you may know where Aaron is going to school next year. Has he been accepted to a university at a waterside town far from you, perhaps even on a different coast? It’s a watershed moment, when our kids move away, poignant and full of the kind of loss that increases something, too. You feel things deeply, so this will be a rich year for both of you. A year in which to flower.

    • “Every Little Kiss” returned a message saying that it wasn’t available in my country. But here’s a wonderful version of Sitting on the Dock of the Bay for you. It’s the Otis Redding classic, performed by musicians in different parts of the world who want to connect the world through music.

    • I don’t know where Aaron is going to school, but I’m assuming he’s going to end up in a town near water, perhaps very far away.

      Thank you for the beautiful, soothing blossoms of your comments and for the music, too. I love Otis Redding, “Sitting by the Dock of the Bay,” and Playing for Change. I’m also including another version of “Every Little Kiss” which may play for you, in your Canadian home by the water.

      • Drat! Also not available! Sometimes the internet gets halted at Customs. I’ll see if I can find one.

  9. Water soothes the soul.
    Water+music+Ann = Magical!

  10. I like to be near the water, too, Ann. So much so that sometimes when I meditate I put on the sound of surf or a babbling stream. Your photos are especially excellent today! Thanks for sharing them with us.

  11. Jan Woodruff

    All will be well next year…

  12. Your excellent photos display the attraction of water towns

  13. Pingback: Day 1022: Works in progress | The Year(s) of Living Non-Judgmentally

  14. I love water towns, Ann, but I’m not much of a swimmer or boater. Go figure.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

