Day 1015: Envision the Opportunities

Yesterday, when my 17-year-old son Aaron and I took the opportunity to go into Harvard Square (which you might be able to envision in Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA), we didn’t envision all the opportunities we’d find there.

For example, I didn’t envision the opportunity to see a sign on the subway that was directly related to the post I had written earlier in the day.

IMG_5852

When we got to Harvard Square, we discovered an Oktoberfest celebration and HONK!, a Festival of Activist Street Bands. (I would have envisioned the opportunity for HONK to be an acronym, but it isn’t.)   Neither Aaron nor I had envisioned the opportunity for Oktoberfest or HONK!, but there they were.

I envisioned many opportunities to take pictures, so I did.

IMG_5856

IMG_5854

IMG_5863 IMG_5865 IMG_5866 IMG_5867

IMG_5869 IMG_5875 IMG_5880IMG_5881 IMG_5883 IMG_5887

During previous opportunities in Harvard Square, I had never envisioned a train like this  …

IMG_5888 IMG_5890

IMG_5895 IMG_5900

… nor the closing of the  Harvard Square Theater (where I had many opportunities to envision great films) .

IMG_5891 IMG_5892

I’m envisioning opportunities to share more pictures from yesterday, but first, can you envision me missing an opportunity to introduce music into this post?

I can now envision the opportunity for you to find The Leftist Marching Band playing on YouTube.

Here are other envisioned images I had the opportunity to capture, yesterday:

IMG_5896

IMG_5902 IMG_5904IMG_5906 IMG_5907

IMG_5909 IMG_5912 IMG_5914 IMG_5915 IMG_5916 IMG_5917

Can you envision the opportunities if we actually enjoyed and did not destroy?

Envision the opportunities I have to thank so many who helped me create this post, including my son Aaron, Harvard Square, the HONK festival, the Leftist Marching Band, and other activist bands from Detroit and elsewhere.  And allow me the opportunity to thank you — of course! — for all the opportunities you envision, here and now.

Categories: personal growth, photojournalism | Tags: , , , , , , , , | 32 Comments

Post navigation

32 thoughts on “Day 1015: Envision the Opportunities

  1. Great pics.
    The discrepency between the messages conveyed and reality is really ironic.
    Cambridge is one of the most expensive and elitist islands of pure privilege on the planet, and those of us who once had working class neighborhoods there have been forced out with no hope of ever going home again.

    • I’m so glad you envisioned the opportunity to comment here, Claire. I was noticing the corporate “feel” of a lot of the Harvard Square festivities yesterday, very different from my memories from the 1970s.

  2. Hi Ann,
    It looks like a good time was had by all. I envision those ladies that did the twirling with the band must have has some experience with twirling thingies at an earlier time in their lives.
    Have a most magnificent Monday!!!!!

    • I always love to envision you taking opportunities to comment, SD. I don’t know if you can envision this: I used to twirl a baton in my basement when I was a kid. Not as well as those ladies, though!

      • I really wanted to be a baton twirler too, but no one could envision me being very good at it (myself included), as I was all arms and legs when I was a kid – completely uncoordinated.

      • I love the coordinated way you twirl your words on WordPress, SD!

      • Thanks Ann. That is most kind of you to say!!!!!!

  3. I’m so glad you envisioned the opportunity to share these visions. The world would be a wonderful place if we could always enjoy and not destroy.

    • My world is more wonderful and enjoyable whenever you visit, Chris. Now I’m envisioning you leaving comments on my other posts from this weekend.

  4. I love the “indication of harm” quote. Your world there in Boston is always a vision of culture and activity. So glad you get to enjoy it, and share it with us here, Ann. You are an (en) visionary, and we are so lucky to have you. ❤️

  5. What’s with the carpet sweeper (or Hoover?) in the middle of the road? Making a clean sweep of things?

    Love the leftist marching band, setting the world to rights.

    • Your guess is as good as mine, Maureen, or maybe better, considering what a visionary you are. Love the way your comments expand the opportunities in my posts.

  6. Envision your opportunities with a carnavalesque version of “Evil Ways” of Carlos Santana! How about a solo from this master guitarist?

  7. Love you vision Ann. I’m envisioning you sitting back and smiling as you respond to our comments today 🙂

  8. Adam

    What a fascinating Journey, I love it when You post photos, I get to see parts of the world as it really is.

  9. Adam

    And yes, I got the word: envisioning 😉

  10. This is a honking great post, Ann, on the left, right and center.

  11. The thing that really made me go wow was the train

  12. I didn’t envision Maureen nicking the carpet sweeper comment.

  13. I envision this:

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

