Day 1004: Losing It

Yesterday, I encountered an unexpected snag when I tried to transfer my photos from my phone to my laptop during my morning blogging. That resulted in my losing the opportunity to share several photos I had taken the day before.

Sometimes, when I encounter unexpected snags, I end up losing it.

I didn’t lose it yesterday morning, though.  What prevented me from losing it?

  1. Blogging, which centers me wonderfully every morning.
  2. Skills I’ve developed over decades of dealing with difficult and challenging situations.
  3. Skills I’ve developed over years of working as a psychotherapist.
  4. The inexplicable appearance of one and only one photo from the day before:

IMG_5428

Note the last column, third item from the bottom, in that one photo from September 29 that chooses to be easily available to me, even now.

Yesterday, faithful reader Mark Bialczak prevented me from losing it about my photos with this comment about yesterday’s post:

And I choose to mildly suggest that when Apple won’t share the photos between them — I hate when that happens between my iPhone 6 and iPad Air — you could type all your text on your laptop, save draft, call the file up on your iPhone, and add the pictures last.

Thanks, Mark!

I’m guessing Mark chose to “mildly” suggest, there, because he’s read posts of mine when I’m on the verge of losing it about strong, rigid, and unhelpful suggestions from doctors and other experts.

Lest you think I’m losing it, now, I’d like to share those previously missing-in-action photos from two days ago.

IMG_5426 IMG_5427 IMG_5430 IMG_5431 IMG_5432 IMG_5433 IMG_5434 IMG_5436 IMG_5437 IMG_5438 IMG_5439 IMG_5440 IMG_5441 IMG_5442 IMG_5443 IMG_5444 IMG_5445 IMG_5446

Of all those photos from two days ago, which best represents “losing it” to you, and why?  I promise I won’t lose it if you ignore those questions or this one:  which photo are you most glad I did not lose?

Falling behind in my obligations and departing from my regular routine can put me on the verge of losing it, so here are the photos I took yesterday:

IMG_5447 IMG_5449 IMG_5451 IMG_5453 IMG_5455IMG_5454 IMG_5456 IMG_5457 IMG_5459IMG_5460 IMG_5463 IMG_5464 IMG_5466 IMG_5467

I was successful in not losing it, yesterday, as I was taking all those pictures in the midst of

  • pouring rain,
  • fog,
  • various gatherings of people and vehicles,
  • an appointment with my Primary Care Physician, where she told me that somebody at her hospital ended up losing their job when they took a selfie that included patient-sensitive material, and
  • other challenges.

However, I DID end up losing it, temporarily, after a 90-minute meeting at my son’s high school last night (not pictured) which focused on many stressful details and deadlines involved in his applying to colleges and for financial aid.

Personally, I believe it can help to lose it, every once in a while, in order to find it again.

What’s the “it” I’m talking about losing and finding again, in that last paragraph?

  • Composure.
  • Tranquility.
  • Control.

If I don’t include some music here and now, you’ll probably think I’m losing it, this morning.

I’m not.

Here’s a tune I heard on the radio yesterday (as people all around me were trying to not to lose it in rainy traffic):

That’s not the version of “Blue Skies” I heard yesterday morning. And neither is this:

That’s actually a different tune called “Blue Skies” performed by Tom Waits, a performer much beloved by my son and my boyfriend.

Together, my son Aaron, my boyfriend Michael, and I support each other in not losing it, every day.

Losing-it-and-gaining-it-again thanks to Aaron, Michael, Mark, Dr. Laura Snydman, Ella Fitzgerald, Tom Waits, blue skies, my work, music, blogging, taking pictures,  and everything in this world that helps me not lose it — including you!!!

Categories: personal growth, photojournalism | Tags: , , , , | 29 Comments

Post navigation

29 thoughts on “Day 1004: Losing It

  1. “Losing it” is a good way to put it. Have you heard: “don’t push my buttons”? Losing it is navigating the human world and having patience, because information one needs may not always be there; others are needing information but also have OTHERS withholding it from them. Patience is precious. Have you noticed that when you’re in a rush, like in a traffic jam, it usually gets worst? Pacing oneself and having patience does wonders.

  2. You always make me rethink things in the most interesting way. The phrase “losing it” is so strange. What is “it”? And how do we lose it? It’s when bottled up emotions burst out which always reminds me of those lines from Alexander Pope’s The Rape Of The Lock, “Men prove with Child, as pow’rful Fancy works,/And Maids turn’d Bottels, call aloud for Corks.”
    A few centuries later we can see Pope taking the subject of rape far too lightly–it’s hard to read without losing it.
    I’m glad you didn’t lose the picture with “The show might go on”. Hopefully the show will go on, but holding too strongly to the belief that the show must go on could cause anyone to lose it.

  3. I used to be good at losing it. Thankfully, not so much any more. But when technology doesn’t work?? THAT is when I lose it! Thanks for not losing the photo of the flower.

  4. Hi Ann, so those pictures of the dining set up….did a troll come by and knock over all their games? Did someone lose it because they didn’t win at the games? I am with you on the college stuff. So much to do. I have a senior in High School, but his school doesn’t seem to be interested in guiding the parents through this quagmire of college preparation. I have been through this once before, it is just a matter of methodically plodding step by step through the maze.
    Hope you find your way through the inclement weather you seem to be having on your side of the country. Have a lovely, warm and cozy day!!!!

  5. I suggest a post on the blessings of losing it! Am I losing it?

  6. I love that version of Blue Skies by Tom Waits.

    I congratulate you on all the self-control you practiced yesterday, Ann. But in the evening, do you really think you lost it at your son’s school? I think you may have just set composure, tranquility and control down in a safe place for a little while so that you could be a better advocate for your child. Sometimes, being a strong advocate requires having and expressing strong feelings, including anxiety, fear and frustration. You’re a wonderful mom. That’s using it, not losing it.

  7. So glad to see you haven’t lost it, Ann, and I’m in agreement over Tom Waits…unique sound and talent. ❤️ Ella, of course, legendary.

  8. I’m very glad you did not lose the dining space on the zebra crossing/court.

  9. I could use an Ann’s therapy whiteboard screensaver sometimes….

  10. I always lose it when I encounter such snags, especially when I don’t know whether it’s them or me. I’m glad you didn’t lose Foster Parents Matter.

  11. Amber Danette

    I wish You were My psycho therapist Ann. You’d put a smile on My face. I agree, we all lose it sometimes. Which is healthy. XOX

  12. When I lose it I also tend to lose a few powerful words….. 😉

  13. I sometimes lose it when I become overwhelmed by unexpected problems. But, as I peel off the problems one by one, I begin to regain my balance.

  14. I’m glad you found all the photos, Ann, or they found you! My favorite from the Lost Day is the No Parking sign with the white-out of the latter half of the snowstorm. 🙂

    College details can make any parent lose it, Ann. I know.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

