Day 1001: What’s that?

Yesterday morning, I published my 1000th blog post on my 1000th consecutive day of blogging.

What’s that?

“Blogging” means web logging and, yes,  I have blogged for every day since January 1, 2013, through health and illness, sun and snow, fears and relief, ups and downs.

IMG_5357

What’s that?

That’s our cat Oscar, seeming to celebrate my 1000th day of blogging.

12036366_1641922172748721_6373032253957717905_n

What’s that?

That’s Oscar again, pressing the power switch on my lap top, turning it off, on, off, and then on.

What’s that?  Somebody allows their cat to step on their laptop?

There’s really nothing I can do to stop Oscar from being right there, wherever I am. So, I just take photos of him using my computer and post them on his Facebook page.

What’s that? A cat has his own Facebook page?

Have you seen Facebook lately?

Yesterday, in the middle of a beautiful day,  my 17-year-old son Aaron and I went to Brookline, Massachusetts.

What’s that?

Brookline, Massachusetts is a town almost completely surrounded by Boston, Massachusetts, with great schools and restaurants. Aaron and I went there yesterday to have lunch and walk around while he worked on his comedy routine for an important appearance at a Cambridge comedy club last night.

What’s that?

Yes, my 17 year-old son does stand-up comedy. Isn’t that amazing?

Before I took my first photo in Brookline, Massachusetts yesterday, I said to Aaron, “What’s that?”

IMG_5360

Aaron took a break from trying to memorize his comedy set to reply, “It’s money and outer space.”

As I’m writing this, I realize that whenever I take a picture, it’s because — in some way — I’m asking “What’s that?”

I shall now present all the other photos I took yesterday, in chronological order.

What’s that?

That means I’m including the pictures in the order I took them.  Feel free to ask “What’s that?” about any of them, in a comment below.IMG_5361 IMG_5362IMG_5364 IMG_5365 IMG_5366 IMG_5368 IMG_5369 IMG_5370

IMG_5371 IMG_5372 IMG_5373

IMG_5374 IMG_5375 IMG_5376IMG_5378 IMG_5379 IMG_5381

IMG_5382

IMG_5383IMG_5384IMG_5386 IMG_5390

IMG_5392 IMG_5393 IMG_5394 IMG_5395 IMG_5397 IMG_5398IMG_5399 IMG_5402 IMG_5403IMG_5404 IMG_5405 IMG_5406 IMG_5407 IMG_5409 IMG_5410IMG_5411

The last few shots are of last night’s super moon lunar eclipse. If you don’t know what that is, you could look it up.

What’s that?  I hear my readers exclaim, as if in unison.  YOU DON’T HAVE ANY PHOTOS OF YOUR ONLY CHILD PERFORMING HIS COMEDY ROUTINE FROM LAST NIGHT?

Well, the Comedy Studio didn’t allow patrons to use their cell phones once the comedy show began. However, Aaron got a DVD of his entire routine, created by the staff there.

What’s that strange word the host used to introduce Aaron last night?  Ignore that, and just enjoy my son in his first performance at the well-known Comedy Studio, located above the Hong Kong Restaurant in Harvard Square.

IMG_5412

What’s that?  Those are the first exchanges, on OkCupid five years ago, between me and my boyfriend Michael.

What’s that?  I haven’t expressed gratitude to anybody yet, in this blog post?

Many thanks to Aaron, Michael, Oscar, the Comedy Studio, Rick Jenkins (the owner of the Comedy Studio), Brookline, Cambridge, the moon,  and every person, animal, place and thing that helped me create my 1001st blog post, today. And special thanks to you — of course! — for visiting, here and now.

Categories: anniversary, blogging, personal growth, photojournalism | Tags: , , , | 42 Comments

Post navigation

42 thoughts on “ Day 1001: What’s that?

  1. Congratulations on 1000 posts!

  2. What’s that? Our wonderful Ann, having firmly established a daily habit of blogging, posts her 1001st post for our edification and enjoyment! And along the way we learned that Oscar has a laptop on/off fixation, Brookline has a neat store that claims the nicest customers and shares inspiring words, and Ann stayed up to see and photograph the eclipse. Thank you, Ann!

  3. Is Irving still with us?

  4. Tell Aaron I thought his comedy routine was fabulous – how does he get up there and seem so relaxed and natural. I like the part about telling the neighbors cat that bad actually means good. Brilliant. I see some of you in his routine – especially the part about turning to the left and telling the person next to them “I appreciate you.” Genius.
    Have a grand day, my prolifically blogging friend!!!!!

    • I told Aaron what you thought and after he said, “What’s that?” he said, “Thanks!”

      What’s that you see in him … me? I am so flattered, SD!

  5. Aaron is really good!

  6. Like Scheherazade you’ve entertained us for 1001 nights, and like Scheherazade you’ve improved us. That simile can only go so far, though, because I sincerely hope none of your readers had to be stopped from murdering their wives.
    And I noticed two strange words used to introduce Aaron. They were “physics homework”. “Strange” may not be the right word. “Impressive” may be better, since I was terrible at math and couldn’t take physics.
    I still want to hear the one about flying thesauruses, but clearly he’s learned the first lesson of showbiz: always leave ’em wanting more.

    • Yesterday, when Aaron and I were discussing comedy techniques, I told him that I thought one of mine was deliberate misunderstanding for comic effect. Aaron didn’t say, “What’s that?” He said, “You’ve told me that before.” I’m telling you this now, Chris, because I believe you and I may have some comic styles in common.

  7. Oh Ann, I love your son’s jokes. I loved the one about the spaghettis and the worms, and the one about the heroin addict. On top of that, he’s so handsome. What a great post! What’s that? A compliment to a great blogger!!!

  8. Karen Funkenstein

    Aaron was wonderful! keep posting him. Love, Karen

  9. Aaron is brilliant and cannot be eclipsed.

  10. Oh, my! What an accomplishment!! Congratulations!!! As much as I love blogging, I doubt I could ever be as committed to it as you are. Although I did a photograph each day for the month of August on my blog and it didn’t seem too overwhelming but writing every day is another story!! Lol! I came here to say thank you for your visit!! I enjoyed reading your post, so I hope you wont mind me coming back for more!! 😉

  11. Great start on the next several thousand, Ann! And congratulations to Aaron. His accomplishment beets most 17-year-olds in every way.

  12. Congrats on your 1,000th! And Aaron for a funny comedy act. Takes a lot of courage.
    -Alan

  13. Congratulations on 1000 posts. Aaron has a maturity well beyond his 17 years. He’s a natural and will only get better with age (just like cheese). Haha.

  14. What a poised and confident young man you have there, Ann. You should turn to your left and say “I appreciate you” and mean it. His comedy is quirky…I love quirky. It shows he’s thinking. Love the fish joke…they never have been warm until then. ☺

  15. Reading this made me feel happy and oh so glad that I came and read this post today life is so much better when we read things that make us happy

  16. That’s what it’s all about Ann! Love how you truly embrace what’s that every day 😃

  17. Love your kid Ann. Comedy is hard! I know I took a stand up course once and had to do a 5-minute act. I’m used to public speaking but comedy is 100 times harder. ❤
    Diana xo

  18. This post was extra special in so many ways.

    Kudos! 1000 posts and never missing a ‘beet’ … 😉

    I thought your son did an excellent job!

    ☕️❤️

  19. I love that one of your first conversations with Michael were online and about food and now he cooks real meals for you and you post photos of them online.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

