Day 999: Nein, nein, nein

Did you think I wouldn’t notice there were three nines in today’s post number?

Nein, nein, nein.  I noticed, noticed, noticed.

Is it possible that I didn’t think about this post last night, before I went to bed?

Nein, nein, nein. I thought, a little.

Was this the first title I thought of last night?

Nein, nein, nein.  The first title I thought of, last night, was “To the 9’s.”  Did I consider using that title today?

Nein, nein, nein.  I’ve already used that title before, in this blog post.

Did I use the title “To the 9’s”  for posts #99, #199, #299, #399, #499, #599, #699, #799, #899, or any another post I’ve written with a 9 in it?

Nein, nein, nein.  That nine-oriented title was for a post number that had NO 9’s in it, at all.

Do I know how I’m going to celebrate reaching my 1000th post tomorrow?

Nein, nein, nein. I’m not even sure what else I’m going to write today.

Am I going to include 999 photos in this post?

Nein, nein, nein. All 25 photos I took yesterday have no 9s* in them (as far as I know).

IMG_5241IMG_5242  IMG_5243IMG_5244IMG_5245IMG_5246IMG_5247IMG_5248IMG_5249IMG_5250IMG_5251IMG_5252IMG_5253IMG_5254IMG_5255IMG_5256IMG_5257IMG_5258IMG_5260IMG_5261IMG_5262IMG_5263IMG_5264IMG_5265 IMG_5267

Did I have any idea how I was going to incorporate those 25 photos into today’s post, when I was taking them yesterday?

Nein, nein, nein.

Is there anything else Inquisitive Ann wants to say about those photos?

Da, da, da.**  Those two guys in photos number 23 and 24  are Cameron and Nick, friends of my son Aaron. Has Nick appeared in this blog before, as himself?  Nein, nein, nein. However, he HAS appeared in “Serious Economics,” an amazing play that Aaron and Cameron wrote (and which you can watch in its entirety, here).

When I asked Cameron and Nick last night if they followed our cat Oscar’s Facebook page, Cameron said, “Da”** and Nick said, “Nein,” but not in German.**

Am I going to include music today that has the word “nine” or “nein” in the title?

Nein, nein, nein. Instead, I’m going to include an incredibly intricate number from A Little Night Music, which Aaron and I will be seeing today in Boston.  Is that performance at 9?  Nein, nein, nein.  It’s at 2 PM.

Every number in A Little Night Music is some form of the waltz, with three beats per measure. Since there are three different waltzes intertwined in “Now/Later/Soon” and 3×3 = 9 ……  might I say that I’ve finally achieved a “9” in this post?*

Only you, the reader, can say.

Nine hundred ninety-nine thanks to all those who helped me create this post and to you — of course! — for being 99% awesome (because nobody’s perfect).


* Actually, after I published this post, I realized that Ted Williams, the Red Sox player whose statue appears in the background of the very first photo in this #999 post, wore the number 9.

** Did I study German or Russian in school?  Nein, nein, nein.  Did I study Latin?  Ja, ja, ja.

Categories: blogging, personal growth, photojournalism | Tags: , , , , , | 42 Comments

Post navigation

42 thoughts on “Day 999: Nein, nein, nein

  1. I think you are amazing, Ann, 999 straight times through thick and thin and operations and overseas, English and German. One more to the Guinness Book of World Records! Oh, I just made that one up. Could be? Da or nein?

    • Nein, nein, nein, Mark. For years I thought I could be in the Guinness Book of Records and promised Aaron, when he was about nine years old, that I would do my best to get into that record book, based on the widely held assumption that I was the longest surviving person in the world with a pacemaker. Nein, nein, nein. Somebody else, who found this blog, holds the title. Am I upset about that? Nein, nein, nein. Am I glad you’re my faithful reader? Da da da.

  2. Did I enjoy this? Da, da, da.

  3. I’m sure you noticed that in the “BOO” photo there was a price of 19.99 – uhm, likes 3 nines to me, ja, ja, ja πŸ˜‰

  4. Oscar bro, stop typing that triple 9 because that’s the number Damian had on his head in the movie The Omen! Ooops, it was 666, sorry bro!

  5. Has Ted Williams featured in all 999 posts?

  6. all the nines
    are in ahhhh πŸ™‚

  7. Oscar has a Facebook page! That is awesome!

  8. Ann, wie gehts? I took 6 years of German in school and was surprised to see Nein, Nein, Nein – I thought maybe you were emphatically saying No to something. You and Aaron always do such exciting things – going to plays and stuff. I am off to the gym – my boys are helping me to learn to weightlift and I, in my mind, say Nein, Nein, Nein but to them I say Macht schnell!!! -let’s get to the gym.
    Have a truly superb Saturday!!!!

  9. I tried, but could detect no nines. But I had a vivid memory of the German audio course at university with fellow students chanting ‘Siest du die blonde, sie ist eine freundin meine schwester’. Funny what lingers in the memory. I spent several years as a child in Germany, so I mastered nein very easy on. (Well that was a spellcheck challenge).

  10. Ann, Congratulations on your upcoming Day 1000! That’s awesome. Just like Oscar who undoubtedly has 999 lives in addition to his special FB page! And yes, I also caught the $19.99 price screaming out on the LED battery-operated Marquee sign. But so what. It feels so good to say Nein, Nein, Nein!
    Elouise

  11. So many nines or should I say nein………………..

  12. Wows and congrats on 999 posts! You deserve some honky-tonk piano and a few good dances. Ja!

  13. Happy 1,000th post!!!

  14. Ann, have you heard of the enneagram personality test. #9 is the peacemaker. πŸ™‚ ❀
    And nein, I'm not a nine. I'm a 7. πŸ˜‰
    Diana xo

  15. Ja, Ja, Ja, Nice use of German here in your post, Frau Koplow. I had already had 3 years of Spanish when I took my first German class, and read these 3 words aloud as “Ha Ha Ha”…as it would have been pronounced in Spanish…it got a laugh, oddly enough. Thanks for the sweet memory, Ann. ❀️

  16. Amber Danette

    I had to go back through your posts and hit ‘like’ again. I don’t think the likes always work. I dislike that button. Lol

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.