989: Expansion

I’ve been noticing many different types of expansion lately, including:

  • the expansion of tasks and obligations to fill every available moment, unless I consciously and continually reserve time for self-care,
  • building and construction expansions near where I work in Boston,
  • the expansion of the number of classmates attending my high school reunion this coming Saturday,
  • the expansion of hope for people who feel supported by others in therapy,
  • the possible expansion of my group therapy practice to include people who do not have doctors at the Boston teaching hospital where I work, and
  • this great tune by Pat Metheny, which expanded three times yesterday through my earphones during my expansive walks to and from work:

When I saw Pat Metheny appear on stage alone playing “Expansion” — surrounded by the expansion of all those incredible new instruments in his Orchestrion  — that expanded my mind, my heart, and my soul.  If you’d like any expansion of your knowledge and understanding about Pet Metheny’s  Orchestrion, I’ve expansively included  this link.

Today, I’m facing the expansion of all these tasks and obligations:

  1. Individual therapy where I work,
  2. Group therapy where I work,
  3. Checking out office space, as I possibly expand my therapy practice,
  4. Meeting all of my son’s new teachers (who I hope will be contributing to the expansion of his fine mind and understanding of the world around us), and
  5. A board meeting of the Northeast Society of Group Psychotherapy, an organization which contributes to the expansion of group therapy practice around here.

I think every photo I took yesterday, while I was listening to “Expansion,” relates to the title of today’s post.

IMG_4866

IMG_4868IMG_4869 IMG_4871IMG_4875 IMG_4876IMG_4879 IMG_4880 IMG_4883 IMG_4885 IMG_4887 IMG_4888 IMG_4890 IMG_4891 IMG_4892 IMG_4894 IMG_4895 IMG_4899 IMG_4900  IMG_4903 IMG_4904 IMG_4907 IMG_4909 IMG_4910 IMG_4908 IMG_4911  IMG_4916 IMG_4919

If you were going to choose one of those images to represent “Expansion,” which one would it be?

If you have any thoughts or feelings about the expansions expanding in this post, I hope you expansively leave a comment in the expanse below.

An expansion of gratitude to Pat Metheny; to people who explore the expansion of hopes and options in individual and group therapy; to  teachers everywhere who contribute to the expansion of young minds; to every person, place, organization, animal, and thing that expands my universe; and to you — of course!  — for the expanse of time you spent here, today.

Categories: personal growth, photojournalism | Tags: , , , , , , , | 20 Comments

Post navigation

20 thoughts on “989: Expansion

  1. Ain’t this the truth! “the expansion of tasks and obligations to fill every available moment, unless I consciously and continually reserve time for self-care,” 🙂

    and if I were to chose one image it would be the “I’m lovin’ it” bag.

    May hope, peace and love expand around the globe to encompass all humanity.

    Blessings on your day Ann as you continue to expand the reach of your beautiful heart.

  2. It is very exciting to hear your office may be undergoing expansion. Seems there are many interesting places in the area in which you live and work for expansion. I think the photo that I find most interesting is the dining area set up outside in the parking lot. Why is it there, I wonder? What does it mean? Why are those games set up on each end of the area? I feel some in expansion in my early morning brain as I think about this.
    Have a most awesomely expansive Wednesday!!!!!

  3. I could get expansive about all your shadow pictures. The one with two shadows and the feet on the wall, suggests how the figure up there would expand hen its shadow hits the ground

  4. I love that you’re expanding my knowledge of music–and so many other things as well. And even sharing the familiar things expands the associations with them, expanding the mental connections between things.
    I would choose the photo of the photo of flowering lithops as an illustration of expansion since lithops grow in some of the most arid areas of Earth. They’re a wonderful example of how expansive life’s variety is.

  5. I had to smile at Barbie’s vital stats. My middle number has expanded a bit over the past decade. lol ☺

  6. Peace to all gentle souls and otherwise, Ann. I’m glad to hear that attendance for your hootenany this weekend is expanding! New office space?! Wowser. That big news. Expanding my your responsibilities, are you?

  7. I love expansion of shadows Ann. It means either earlier or later during the day, and great photography as usual.

  8. Lovely.

  9. I’ve expanded my schedule to allow for some creative writing.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

