Day 958: Tangible

Yesterday, in a part of Edinburgh near the sea, I was lucky enough to see a tangible sign of what to call today’s post.

Here are other experiences that, to me, were tangible:

  









Some of those photos — including that giant sculpture of a hand– tangibly demonstrate one meaning of tangible: “touchable.”

One of my tangible motives for this post is to finish it quickly, so my son Aaron, Aaron’s aunt Deborah, and I can go on a tour today of the tangibly beautiful countryside outside of Edinburgh. We are leaving soon, at the tangibly early time of 7:30 AM, which might make me rather touchy.

At the same time, another tangible motive for today’s post is to show you other experiences that tangibly touched me yesterday, including images from our walk to and through the Lethe section of Edinburgh:




















We also saw some tangibly great performances at the Festival Fringe.

Hurt and Anderson …

… tangibly stood out from all the others trying to create tangible audiences for their shows yesterday.

Here were some of the tangible high points of Hurt and Anderson’s smart and confident sketch comedy, that I was tangibly able to capture:
  

I could almost touch their set list from our tangibly front-row seats …

… which I just turned around — with a few touches on my phone — so you could tangibly read it:

The other tangible performance we were touched by yesterday was that of Dr. Professor Neal Portenza in “Catchy Show Title” again.

Here is tangible proof of the good Dr. Professor’s kindness:


Those were hand-written tickets touchingly arranged for us, at the last tangible minute. Last night, we were sitting within  touching distance of  his tangible inventiveness with his tangible audience:


  

I took the above photo when Dr. professor P asked the audience, “Can you feel it?” We could all feel it.

Then, the tangibly brilliant Dr. Professor posed for my touch-screen camera:

Later this week, we may share a tangible meal with Dr. Professor Portenza, where I may ask him this tangible question: “How does one become a Doctor AND a professor at such a young age?” and my son Aaron might ask if it’s true that an audience member really broke his ribs, in Australia, by touching him too hard with one of these tangible plungers:

I’m not sure what tangible tune would go best with this touchy-freely post, so I’ll pick some music from the  Dr. Professor’s  show:

I know that “Lovely Day” by Bill Withers will tangibly touch at least one of my readers. For you, what was most tangible about this post?

A lovely day to everybody who touched this tangible post and for you, especially, I leave this tangible message:

Categories: personal growth, photojournalism | Tags: , , , | 29 Comments

Post navigation

29 thoughts on “Day 958: Tangible

  1. What a bubbly, full post. And long! I hope you were still able to make it to the tour.

    Aaron looks like he fits in perfectly there. But you could never Leith him behind.

  2. You do have an ability to get strangers happily to pose for you

  3. This was a very tangible post Anne- I could feel the beauty of the places and faces!

  4. It would be good to meet you tangibly!

  5. Tangibly yummy looking cupcakes! Whipped cream on Aaron’s mustache. Girl in cat outfit, lots of fascinating stuff you’ve shared with us these past days from Scotland. Such great photos make it tangible to me how wonderful it has been for you guys!

  6. What fun Ann! I can’t wait to see the photos from your tour in the country! ❤
    Diana xo

    • As usual, I took lots of tangible pictures with
      my touch tone phone before it ran out of tangible power. I’m sure I’ll touch on many of them in tomorrow’s post, Diana. ❤ xxoo

  7. Tangible beauty there in Scotland, Ann, thanks for sharing. But..”all you need is leith (love)?? 💕

  8. Jan Woodruff

    OMG!!!! I am now playing “Lovely Day” while I try to tangibly balance what I have to do with what I want to do today!!! Looks like you’re having a great time!!! You’re making Scotland tangible for me!!!

  9. I love all the statutes of Robert Burns, and the “sit-by-me”.

    Speaking of Burns, the poem “To a Mouse”, is a Scots poem written by Robert Burns in 1785. According to legend, Burns was ploughing in the fields and accidentally destroyed a mouse’s nest that it needed to survive the winter. In fact, Burns’ brother had claimed that the poet composed the poem while still holding his plough. Here’s a tangible reminder written in Scots:

    • What a visionary! Died when he was only 37, and predicting the future of humankind with this poem, dedicated to a mouse. Poignant and great video here, tangibly produced.

  10. Happy tangible trails Ann. I look forward to seeing where you get to today. 🙂 Maybe its North Berwick to visit Fringe by the Sea? My mum, and brother’s family will be there. They live tangibly close! xo

    • We were in the tangibly beautiful Highlands, Val. We didn’t touch any sea monsters but I was touched by all we saw.

  11. Although it appears quite tangible, I do not understand that hand thing with the grasshoppers on it. I am going to assume it is intangible symbolism of some type. I hope you have a lovely time in the countryside and stop at a tangibly delicious pub for lunch. Can’t wait to see and hear what you guys get up to today!!!!!

    • I did not touch that enormous hand, the giant grasshopper, or the symbolism of that sculpture, SD. The meaning of art is rarely tangible, butI tangibly appreciate your touching and lovely thoughts.

  12. It’s so wonderful that you’re tangibly enjoying all the fun and beauty that Edinburgh has to offer. From some of your pictures I expected this to be your song of the day:

    • Now that I’ve touched upon your comment, Christopher, I tangibly proclaim The Proclaimers tune the song of the day.

  13. I loved your Leith touch today, Ann. For some reason you left my hungering for some Ginger Snaps … But I shall not. That would not Portenza well for me.

  14. Pingback: Day 1327: Why did Ann share this picture? | The Year(s) of Living Non-Judgmentally

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

