Day 953: If you want to find the good in anything or anybody …

… look for it.

Most likely, you’ll find some good.

If you can’t find the good now, you probably find it later.

Now that we’ve gotten the good wisdom in this good post out of the way (whether or not we were looking for it), let’s look for the good in some photos I snapped yesterday:


I took this first good photo when I was on my way to the talk I gave yesterday about my therapy groups  to staff at the Massachusetts Department of Mental Health. I was looking for something good and familiar to bring with me into the unfamiliar room, and I found Van.


Next, I focused on the Ness-ness in that sign, which reminded me of my  trip today to Scotland (home of Loch Ness). That was also good for my pre-presentation jitters.

Then, I could easily find the double dose of good in this good sign:

When I looked for the good in this:


I found it in the ChickPea.


That building holds good memories for at least one of my good readers.

When the person who was meeting me in the lobby of Massachusetts Mental Health Center (where I was giving my good presentation) texted me that she was running late, I found the good in that by eating this good-for-me lunch.


That good sign was on one of the good doors of the good conference room where I gave my good talk. I saw it after my good demonstration of how my good therapy groups do their good work.


My good eyes saw this good statue in the good Longwood Medical area of the good city of Boston.


I took this good photo a good minute after I snapped the previous good one. Do you see any good in that?


That’s the first line of the good group exercise I did with the good people at Massachusetts Mental Health Center. Because my handwriting isn’t very good, it says, “What is your personal experience of making yourself vulnerable?” I think that exercise did some good, for everybody there.


Somebody has left a perfectly good stethoscope on the floor. How can that do anybody any good?


The nurses where I work have apparently received an award. I knew they were good, but I didn’t know they were THAT good.


That sign is trying to do some good for dirty cars.

I will leave it to my good readers to find the good in the rest of these photos:


  
  
  
  
  
  

If anything in this post is NOT good, it’s good that I know — on this good day — that people will forgive me, out of the goodness of their hearts.

How might you find the good around you, here and now?

Here’s a good song:

It’s just a good guess, but I think that duet of “For Good” was good for everybody.

Good thanks to everybody and everything that helped me make this a good-enough post and especially good thanks to you, my very good readers!

Categories: personal growth, photojournalism, pride | Tags: , , , | 44 Comments

Post navigation

44 thoughts on “Day 953: If you want to find the good in anything or anybody …

  1. It is a good thing to look for the good- even when it is hard to find it sometimes-the cup is half full not empty!

  2. One of my college English professors always encouraged us to write poems that conveyed the “-ness” of things. He loved Keats and would cite “Ode To A Nightingale” as an example of a poem that conveyed “nightingale-NESS”. He would also tell me, “I always recognize your signature. It’s the one I can’t read.” Like you I have terrible handwriting–but perhaps that’s why I had no trouble reading your writing. So there’s good in everything–even in the time I saw “Wicked” and there were problems with the sound system, but I could still make out the words.

  3. This was not a good post, this was a great post. My husband always tells me I am the perpetual optimist, I find good in everyone and everything. Ii makes me happier that way, I would rather look for the good than the bad. I hope you have a good (perhaps even a great, possibly a stupendous) day!!!!!

  4. Oh, I’ve never seen so many handsome cats together…

  5. That’s right Abbey. If you want to find the good in anything or anybody, you better come to our fashion show this weekend in Boston. It’s never too late. I know you’re hooked on Harley.

    • I made a background check on him. He has a turbulent past, just like you Abbey. Who knows, he’s the answer to your prayers.

      • Samantha, I told you I was interested in Harley, way before Abbey!

      • I know Barbara, but If you want to find the good in anything or anybody, you better do a good job in that fashion show! Abbey is my good long-time retired friend.

      • Is anybody hooked on Oscar?

      • Ann, I don’t know if you remember, but I’m Oscar’s grandmother. I can’t let him go out with my girls. They are all newly grads, and Oscar needs a real woman, not these youngsters that are still experimenting life. Meow!

      • Meow, meow, meow, Ann please, I don’t know who Samantha is. Do a background check on her please!

        Ann, have a great flight tomorrow!!!! Regards,

        Maria

      • We had great flights, Maria! As always, your regard helps.

      • Have a great time Ann!

      • Busted…Cougar Samantha! You were after Oscar all this time…

  6. Gene Phillips

    Some of the good in some of the pictures came from shadows and reflections, which can be confusing and, I suppose, even unsettling, but in this case were mostly fun.

  7. Now that was good Ann!
    You are right … we find the good when we look for it.
    I trust your group was a good one yesterday and gave you a good review!
    xo

  8. How very honored I was to open your post and see the shout out, Ann. Thanks so much, I will strive to live up to my Van-ness ! 💕 p.s…love your idea of lunch.

  9. Good stuff, Ann. There’s lots of good if we just open our eyes, and I founds lots in your photos. For me, there’s good just right downstairs, where pizza awaits. In a beautiful painting made for me by a beautiful woman, on my desk. In photos and a lego Darth Vader alarm clock right next to me, from my littlest girl.

  10. It’s all good, Ann. I’m glad you found your head from the shadows on the day of the trip to Scotland. Michael has the cats well in hand, I see. 🙂 Safe too-da-loodling on the Fringe with the son and the splendido.

  11. NotAPunkRocker

    Thank you for the reminder. Good is everywhere (and reading is, indeed, sexy!)

    The Chubby Chickpea made me smile a little wider too 😀

  12. Life is pretty good all round now

  13. What a delightful post! I think the person who left the stethoscope on the floor wanted to hear the bottom line. Keep her ear to the ground. Get to the bottom of things.

  14. A bloody great post, I think it is easy to see the bad in people but if we choose we can see the good if we look for it

  15. I think you elevated good to G-R-E-A-T! Loved the kitties, as always. Wishing you the most wonderful time in Scotland! As we would say in the South, “Be sure to sop up all the goodie with a biscuit!” (that way you don’t miss a drop.). Happy travels!

  16. Okay so today I am going to look for the good in the big bad nursing home manager. Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

