Day 946: Putting worries to bed

It would be very easy to list all the things I could be worrying about right now, including:

  1. Flying, next Tuesday, to Edinburgh,
  2. Whether I’ve chosen the “correct” new car,
  3. A presentation about my therapy groups I’m giving next Monday,
  4. My son, who is 17 and appearing this weekend in a production of Green Day’s “American Idiot” (although he’s no American idiot),
  5. 17 year olds, everywhere,
  6. One of our cats, who peed out of the box (and who shall remain nameless, because we don’t know which one it is),
  7. My heart (which is very unusual),
  8. My head (which is very unusual),
  9. My sleep (which is insufficient) (which is not unusual, at least here in the USA),
  10. Any physical and emotional pain, in my vicinity,
  11. All the things that need to get done for my 45th High School reunion,
  12. All the things that need to get done everywhere else,
  13. Various items of varying necessity I variously have trouble locating,
  14. How well I’ll be able to write and post pictures on WordPress while my son, my excellente ex-sister-in-law, and I are in Edinburgh,
  15. How much I can really do for my clients who deal with so much adversity and injustice,
  16. All the wonderful blogs I have so little time to visit or comment on,
  17. People I may have misunderstood or offended, and
  18. All the awful things in the world the media is reporting on, while I’m writing this.

To repeat, it would be very easy to list things I could be worrying about right now. And easy it was — it took me less than three shakes of a cat’s tail

to create that list.

But rather than focus on any list of worries, I am going to concentrate on putting worries to bed.

Yes, I am going to tuck those worries into bed next to a slowly tail-shaking cat, and wish them sweet dreams.

Let’s see if I have any images on my iPhone to amuse or soothe those worries, as they fall into slumber.


 

  


Which  pictures do you think might help put worries to bed?

Personally, I’m going to (1) pick the Yardbunny and (2) imagine writing the following on a blank yellow sticky note or on a blank sign in somebody’s yard:

Go to bed, worries!

Finally, here‘s a tune sung by some non- Yardbirds to turn, turn, turn  worries toward sleep:

Worry-free thanks to the list of things that helped me create this post (and fall back asleep last night) and to you — of course! — for bringing your worried or unworried self here, today.

Categories: personal growth, photojournalism | Tags: , , , , | 50 Comments

Post navigation

50 thoughts on “Day 946: Putting worries to bed

  1. Jan Woodruff

    I’m glad you got back to sleep!! Sleep is WONDERFUL!!

    • You’re wonderful! I’m not going to worry about the fact that you never read my responses to your comments, so I’m going to tell you in person today.

  2. Worry is a habit I have worked hard to break. Still tough. Worry doesn’t change the outcome of your tomorrow, it just robs you of peace in your today. (Note to self.)

    Deep breaths, Ann. 💕

  3. Ann, I listen to Audio Dharma regularly (http://www.audiodharma.org) and it’s like having a therapist in your iPhone. It’s a podcast in iTunes that you subscribe to. After you subscribe you only download the podcasts you’re interested in (in Settings in your iPhone, you choose the “manual download option”). The only way to listen to them in the plane is downloading them because you don’t have internet on the plane. You don’t have to be a Buddhist to listen to them, and they are highly therapeutic because they address existentialist issues regularly. Subscribe here:
    https://itunes.apple.com/us/podcast/audio-dharma/id75519213?mt=2
    There are several teachers, but one of the best ones is Andrea Fella, because her talks are long, and she addresses existentialist themes regularly:
    http://www.audiodharma.org/teacher/2/
    Gil Fronsdal is also one of the best (along with Andrea Fella, they are the master teachers there)
    http://www.audiodharma.org/teacher/1/

    • Maureen

      This is very interesting to me, Maria. Thank you for sharing that.

      • Maureen, you’re welcome, I couldn’t recommend it more. Andrea Fella is good because she regularly addresses several existential concerns and her teachings are 50 minutes always. Gil Fronsdal is great also; sometimes his teachings are not as long, but that’s because he’s probably more concise.

    • Thank you so much for helping us put worry to bed in these ways, Maria. I will check out these podcasts.

  4. I love the image of the Periwinkles around the tree!

  5. All of these pictures could put worry to bed. The train tracks picture is especially soothing to me, strange as that might seem. I traveled across Britain on trains and still think of it as the best way to travel, in spite of the running joke about British trains being stopped by leaves on the tracks. And then there’s your son who’s seventeen–what a great age! On my seventeenth birthday an older friend told me, “Seventeen will be a great year, and eighteen will suck.” He was right, but, looking back, if I had simply changed my perspective eighteen would have been great too. It’s all a matter of perspective. Sylvia Plath’s poem “Totem” begins in a train station, and has a dark perspective on trains. But she goes on to say,

    There is no terminus, only suitcases

    Out of which the same self unfolds like a suit
    Bald and shiny, with pockets of wishes,

    Notions and tickets, short circuits and folding mirrors.

    • The pockets of wishes, memories, poems, new perspectives, and insightful thoughts you bring here, Chris, are without end.

  6. lundygirl

    I’m curious ann – who cares about me? safe trip to Edinburgh – is it the festival again?

    • Curiosity helps me put worries away, Lundygirl. Cambridge Honda is claiming they care in that photo and, yes, we are going back to the Festival Fringe next week. Thank you for caring enough to ask!

      • lundygirl

        I’m touched that Cambridge Honda care 🙂 Have a great time at the festival fringe.

  7. NotAPunkRocker

    I have campus bunny that used to show up on Fridays when I was having a bad week, so yard bunny is my vote.

    That poor stick family…

  8. How much can you really do for clients who suffer so much? Maybe all you can do is show them you care. That is something you don’t have to worry about, because you do care.

  9. Worries will always keep for another day, m’dear.

  10. I love the idea of putting worries to sleep. Tuck them in and let them melt with a loving snuggle. 🙂
    Now I’m worrying about the weather in Edinburgh when you go over…. While Europe is roasting Scotland has been cold this summer … take layers and an anorak!!

    • I will tuck in my worries, Val. I also can tuck in your thoughtful worries about me by telling you the online forecast says that the weather in Edinburgh will be okay.

  11. Worry does not make a good travel companion. I’m very excited to see your pictures from Edinburgh. I didn’t have a problem in Ireland with WordPress. But….that’s not Edinburgh. I hope you don’t have any problems.

  12. If you think you got rid of me by going to Ireland, well… You’re wrong!


    via https://www.pinterest.com/carringtonmoon/grumpy-cat/

  13. I think that colorful flower photo makes me forget about a lot of worries, Ann. Thank you for that placement today. 🙂

  14. Grumpy cat will be there waiting for you!


    http://on.fb.me/1P59FNZ

  15. I like the visual of putting worries to bed. There’s a poem called ‘Courage’ that mentions something like that. If you can hug your five year old self, you can put your worries to bed. Yes. May try it tonight. Not in the same bed, though.

  16. There are so many things I could worry about, I chose not to worry about stuff that I cannot change

  17. What about the worry you forgot to include? 🙂

  18. Rod Newton says to write all your worries on a piece of paper, and then to put it away until the next day when you can do something about them.

    • Rod Newton sounds like he knows a lot about putting worries to bed, Robert. Thanks for helping us all find out about that.

  19. Safe journeys! And prayers for a worry-free visit to Edinburgh. I love the bunny–just waiting to come and tuck you in and give you a little wiggle nose kiss.

  20. No sense in worrying ahead of time… Outcome may not be as expected…

  21. I worry about things all the time, and if I don’t have anything to worry about, then I worry about what is right around the bend to worry about. I tell my son, who is a worrier, to attack those things that worry him with vigor, do what it takes, plus a little more to address and put that worry to bed. He says it is great advice and saves him a great deal of stress (wish I could follow my own advice all the time).

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

