Day 943: Shoulda Woulda Coulda

I shoulda explain the title of this post.

I woulda written this post earlier this week, but I had other thoughts about other things I wanted to share, first.

I coulda told you about a poem I wrote last weekend, but there’s no time like the present.

Shoulda Woulda Coulda

Is not endorsed by Buddha.

Because I’m not Buddha, I shoulda woulda coulda every day about:

  • tasks,
  • thoughts,
  • feelings, and
  • every other aspect of life.

I shoulda ask if you do the same.

I woulda taken more relevant photos yesterday, if I’d been more focused and mindful.


  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
I coulda taken a better picture of last night’s blue moon, for sure.

I shoulda think of some good-enough music for this post-blue-moon post. I woulda included tunes I heard yesterday by Pat Metheny and Stephen Sondheim. I coulda share this classic, which I heard last night on the radio in a new (to me) version:

I shoulda woulda coulda rest my sore typing thumbs this weekend. Let’s see if I do.

I shoulda say, now, I’m not sure how others woulda and coulda order the words shoulda, coulda, and woulda.

Coulda I care about the perfect order? Shoulda I say? Woulda it matter?

What matters to me is if there’s anything you shoulda woulda coulda comment.

I shoulda thank Buddha, Tom Morello, Tennessee Ernie Ford (who coulda sing a mean version of “Sixteen Tons” by Merle Travis I loved when I was young), the moon, my thumbs, all those who helped me create today’s post, and I woulda be a very ungrateful blogger if I didn’t thank you.

Categories: personal growth, photojournalism, poetry | Tags: , , , , | 41 Comments

Post navigation

41 thoughts on “Day 943: Shoulda Woulda Coulda

  1. There’s no if’s, and’s, or but’s about it, Ann, I couldn’t get a great shot of the Blue Moon last night either. But I don’t think we woulda, or coulda, or shoulda, considering we both use our iPhone 6(teen tons of good pictures in them, but the moon is never one of them).

  2. I got a kick out of this one Ann! I expect the Buddha would too 🙂

  3. This is so funny Ann, and fun. What came out in my mind was: I shoulda, woulda, coulda followed Ann’s blog much sooner.

    • I shoulda coulda woulda say, Maria, that I’m so glad you followed it when you did!

      • You’re right, the time comes when it comes. Ann, but do you believe in “second chances”? I’ve heard this term over and over again. Is there such a thing as a “second chance”? Sometimes I really wonder about that.

      • I believe in second, third, fourth etc. chances, Maria, whenever possible!

      • I would really like it if you wrote a post on “second chance”, because I hear that term so often. I had a job once that I wish I would’ve had a “second chance” on; however, I never did. So there’s that “missed opportunity” feeling. So the “second chance” I guess is what most yearn for.

      • I’ll write about it right now: There are some situations where we don’t get a second chance. However, because of my personal medical experiences since birth, I see second, third, fourth, etc. chances everywhere, and a big part of my job — as a psychotherapist — is helping other people see those chances, for themselves.

    • You think then that if you didn’t get the “second chance”, that it was “destiny” then, or the “lesson” to be learned?

  4. I coulda asked you, Ann, if you remember the days when all they asked about your coffee was “Cream or Sugar?”. That woulda been long before Starbucks. I shoulda stayed awake to see the blue moon, but I was lost in baseball and forgot. sigh…

    • I coulda and perhaps shoulda mentioned this in my post, Van: That pictured drink is one I made up (iced soy milk with a pump of chocolate and vanilla) which my local Starbucks has named “The Ann.” I woulda, but I wanted to get outside and enjoy the weather before it gets too hot today!

  5. Rob

    You sounda like Chico Marx.

  6. Love the post. I did not see the blue moon, I went out to look for it, but it looked the same as it always did, but it did seem really, really close. I shoulda taken a photo of it, and I woulda, but coulda not because I was in the midst of cleaning the aquarium and by the time I was done, all I coulda do was go to bed. But…the fishies are happy!!!! Maybe next time.

    • The blue moon shoulda coulda woulda looked the same and not blue, SD, because “blue moon” is a moon that appears for the second time within one month. I shoulda coulda woulda be glad every time you visit, and I sure am!

      • Oh – I guess I shoulda have read up on it – I don’t read anything on the Internet. So I really had quite a nice shot of the “Blue Moon” which isn’t really blue at all. Man – do I feel stupid! And I usually Google everything – but never, ever look at the news because it bums me out so much. Well, that’s a shame – because it came over the trees and it was like I could see all the crevices in the face of the moon. It was so brilliant and bright – I shoulda, coulda, woulda taken a picture if I had only known. It was so bright last night, it reminded me of the night scenes in the older movies back in the 60s and 70s. Darn it.

      • I shoulda woulda coulda say that we’re all doing the best we can, including you, non-stupid SD!

      • Thanks Ann!!!!

  7. Oh Ann, This is just what I needed today – I have so many things I could be doing, but only one ME to do them. I should just stop worrying about it and then I would feel better! Thanks!

  8. Buddha woulda like this one
    if he coulda 🙂

  9. You’re right… it was relevant after all! I do a lot too much of it too.

  10. ~meredith

    🙂
    it’s got such a groovy rhythm
    the pace is hard to shake.

  11. Photographing the moon was on my ‘should’ list, but it was all overcast and drizzly. That’s actually a GOOD thing in the desert, so I’m not complaining. Another full moon will be along in four weeks, though not a blue moon.

  12. Maybe you coulda known about this song, but once in a very blue moon we all miss something. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vU-B1k9kI8E

  13. I shoulda, woulda, coulda remembered this:

  14. I woulda coulda shoulda been a singer

    • I shoulda woulda coulda gotten dizzy from that.

      • You shoulda woulda coulda realized that cats have emotions too, and that I shoulda woulda coulda been a singer. That beautiful close-up of me shoulda woulda coulda sufficed to express my feelings.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

