Day 940: How’s your heart?

The heart of this post relates to my phoning many people from my high school class of 1970, last night.

My heart was hoping to reach as many classmates as possible,  with a heart-felt invitation to attend our 45th reunion, in the heart of the North Shore of Massachusetts, USA.

Even though I haven’t spoken to most of my classmates  in many years, all those I reached last night showed hearts that were kindly courteous and sweet (which helped me, somehow, with my heart-felt vow to give up cookies).

Somebody living in the heart of New York responded to my phone call last night, like so:

Ann Koplow!

It’s been a long time.

How’s your heart?

For a heartbeat,  my heart was surprised at that unexpected question. Then,  I laughed and replied:

It’s funny you should ask.  This year, things were looking kind of dicey, but  recently I had an operation, and people seem to think I’ll be around for a while.

Then, we had this brief exchange:

Me: How’s YOUR heart?

Classmate: Very good.

Me: How’s the rest of you?

Classmate: Also excellent.

My heart felt good and excellent —  after this brief, heart-centered talk — because the heart of it felt real.

In the past, my heart has worried that people see me primarily as somebody with a congenital heart condition. However, that conversation simply felt like an authentic, brief heart connection.

After I left several heart-felt phone messages, I had a heart-to-heart with my sweetheart Michael. I told Michael  there are words in my heart I am NOT sharing with my classmates, as I inform them about the reunion.

Here’s what I’m not speaking from my heart:

This is our 45th reunion and I don’t know how much more time I, you, or anybody else has on this earth. Several people from our class, whom I wanted to see with all my heart,  have already passed away. Please come to the reunion! We shared a lot of important times together, all those years ago.

I don’t share those heart-felt thoughts with my classmates because:

  • People probably don’t want to discuss mortality, especially on a weekday evening with somebody they haven’t seen in decades,
  • There’s much more relevant data I need to convey about the reunion — like where, when, and how much it will cost,
  • In my heart, I really don’t like to pressure people,
  • I avoid, if possible, causing even the smallest amount of heartache, and
  • I’ve got a damn lot of high school hearts to contact, as soon as possible.

Here are some photos I recently snapped from the heart, in the hearts of  Boston’s medical and baseball areas.


                       

       

Which of those photos got to the heart of the matter, for you?

Here‘s “You Gotta Have Heart,” from Damn Yankees:

Going back to the heart-felt title of this heart-centered post, how’s your heart?

Thanks, from my heart, to all my classmates, to Michael, to all the hearts I witnessed connecting yesterday and to you — of course! — for the heart you bring here, today.

Categories: personal growth, photojournalism | Tags: , , , , , | 39 Comments

Post navigation

39 thoughts on “Day 940: How’s your heart?

  1. My heart is good, especially after reading this post!!!! I was looking at your board with all the words, I am assuming these are all the issues that at are the heart of you therapy group. I was trying to guess what type of people were in your therapy group. I came up with a divorcee, a Mom with “Empty Nest”, someone that takes care of an elderly parent – someone in a “Catch 22” – I saw Kurt Vonnegut. I like that board, it fills my heart with curiosity.

  2. I don’t know why but this extraordinary positive post somehow enabled me to recognise that my heart is broken. This is a good, honest thing; thank you.

  3. The photo of Loretta’s Last Call really hit my heart–a little bit of Nashville (sort of) in the heart of Yank–er, Red Sox territory. It also reminds me of the expression “bless your heart”. There’s a broad misinterpretation of this phrase. People have come to think of it as an insult. It can be, and has been, used that way sometimes, but my grandmother never wished ill will toward anyone. When she said, “Bless your heart” she meant it as an expression of genuine sympathy. I hope that phrase touches your heart as well.

    • Your entire comment touched my heart, Christopher, and this question now touches my mind: Who on earth would think of “Bless Your Heart” as an insult?

  4. I am from the class of 1970 too! No wonder we resonate!

  5. This question leads me to Canadian singer Céline Dion with “My Heart Will Go On” (watch for top quality stage production on this video)

  6. What a lovely post with which to discover your blog. And “how’s your heart” is a fabulous question. I’m totally co-opting that as my new check-in query.

    • My heart is filled with joy, Deborah, because of this mutual discovery, your lovely comment, and this flattering co-opt.

  7. Ann,
    Reunions can be fun. In reliving good old times with friends, makes for new fond memories you can take with you.
    -Alan

    • My heart agrees with your heart, Alan. That’s why I go to all my reunions. It’s always great to reunite with you here at WordPress!

  8. A heartfelt thank you for your heart Ann. It keeps you going and so many others along with it 😉

  9. You kind of grabbed me with this, Ann. I also graduated in 1970 and have so far ignored the “request” for the reunion. Since our 40th one good friend did pass, and there you go…your point. I’ll need to reconsider. It’s very good to hear in your response to your NY friend that you are doing well. And I must say that if someone as encouraging as you called me from my high school class it would be a lot harder to pass on the opportunity! 🙂

  10. What a loving and lovely post. I could feel you holding your classmates in your heart and am sorry that you will not see some of them.

    Reading this made me think about my own feelings. I don’t think I will be around for my 45th reunion. It gave me pause to think about that. But then I remembered that I’ve never gone to any of my reunions anyway, because I am kind of a background person. So, I will be making my usual contribution. And I feel okay about that.

  11. A few years ago I tried to get people together from high school because one of our friends had a very serious and incurable form of cancer. Eventually six of us got together and continued to meet at least twice a year. We’ve tried to bring others into the group. One of them suddenly died before she could make it to our reunions and the friend whom we got together for eventually died last summer. We’ve vowed to keep getting together and we have brought 3 new people into the group. It takes effort but it’s worth it and hopefully we can find a few more friends to join our little mini reunions. Good luck with your reunion and maybe you do need to remind people of their mortality.

  12. Ann, I read your reasons for not sharing your heart. I think you should share your heart with your classmates – it’s too beautiful not to share. To answer your question: My heart is well. ❤
    Diana xo

  13. How is my heart? Well it’s still beating and that is a good thing,not beating would mean I was dead and I don’t want to be dead just yet have grandchildren I want to see grow up thankfully most of the women in my mums side of the family live nice long lives………………..

  14. Free wifi and free inspiration is a good one. My 40th reunion is next year and out of a class of 600 sadly we know of 32 who have passed away. I agree with your approach of not pressuring people- as much as I like reconnecting on FB and have attended all my reunions up until now, I am not sure I will attend next year. It is interesting to see that even though 40 years have gone by many people are the same as they were at 17, it shows in their comments and reactions to things posted in the group. You would think people grew up, matured, changed, but many haven’t. It is best for some(maybe me) as someone who did not really enjoy high school, to leave the past right there in the past and not revisit it now in the present.

  15. How’s your heart? I like that question. Mine is happy. I am going to my 40th HS reunion this year, having never been to one. But Like you, I felt that perhaps it was time. We have lost some people and now is a good time to go back.

  16. Ann, I believe they picked an excellent class representative to call for quick phone heart-to-heart invitations to your reunion! I think you’ll get excellent results.

  17. Have a good reunion, Ann. Through my blog I have heard from a contemporary of mine who now lives in South Africa. We too, exchanged information about those who haven’t made it this far.

  18. Ann, I see my heart as a large box with many levels but no bottom.

    • Robert! I hope your wonderfully described heart will forgive me for missing this comment for several weeks. As always, thanks for bringing your heart here.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

