Day 936: Do, Do, Do

Here’s something I do, do, do in therapy sessions: remind people they do, do, do not have to do, do, do in order to be worthy, worthwhile, worthy-of-love human beings.

I do, do, do this, too: I remind those people who do, do, do all the time that we are

Human BEings

NOT

Human DOings

and it’s okay to just be, be, be.

Do, do, do you believe that I heard this song yesterday, which I do, I do, I do love?

Stevie Wonder does, does, does what he can do, do, do better than anybody, and in that YouYouYouTube video he is singing “Do I Do” live, in London.

I do, do, do assume there will be lots to do, do, do soon, soon, soon, north of London,  when my son and I do, do, do Edinburgh’s Festival Fringe for the third year in a row, row, row.

Do, do, do you assume, dear, dear, dear readers, that I do, do, do intend to show, show, show another song, now?

I do, do, do love Michael McDonald too, too, too, and three Michael McDonalds  do, do, do “Row, Row, Row Your Boat”!

Do, do, do you prefer any of these pho, pho, photos?



  


   
  
  


  

Do, do, do tell.

Do, do, do you know that I am very, very, very grateful to Stevie Wonder, to  Jimmy Fallon, to Justin Timberlake, to Michael McDonald, and to you, you, you?

Categories: gratitude, personal growth, photojournalism, Psychotherapy | Tags: , , , | 50 Comments

Post navigation

50 thoughts on “Day 936: Do, Do, Do

  1. Do-Be-Do-Be-Do. That will stick with me.

  2. I like how you do do do this post.

  3. Love, love loved this post!

  4. Loved the reminder that I am a human BEing not a human DOing… I forget that sometimes.

  5. I like this song very much by Abba, but I agree with what you say at the beginning of the post, It’s okay to just “be”, rather than ‘do’.

  6. Goodness me, I remember Stevie Wonder when he was a young lad. I do, I do, oh yes, I do. My favourite picture has to be ‘Keep Calm and Carry On’, because Becky and Ian brought me back a T-shirt from the Hawk Conservancy Trust bearing the slogan: ‘Keep Calm and Carrion’.

  7. I do, do, do, especially the photos of the squirrel, Ann! ❤
    Diana xo

  8. I do, do, do love this post!!!! And a rather sophomoric thought has been triggered by this post on “Do, Do, Do” – and that is I need to do a Doo-Doo patrol (which is rather a massive undertaking, with a Great Dane and Golden Retriever living in our house) in my backyard today before mowing. Or maybe I will let the doo-doo be and just rest and watch the grass grow. I quite like the second option!!!!!

  9. I do love this post Ann. Have been an Frank Sinatra do-be-do-be-do fan for a while.
    I’m also a pondering an other type of human behavior. Human Thinking. There are a lot of people who think, but don’t do, and find it hard to simply be. 😉

  10. Happy moment for me. Row, Row, Row was my younger daughter’s first words (more like wow, wow, wow…). I think the photo through the netting with the silhouette of the couple is pretty special.

    • Especially since there’s a sign in that photo that says, “Sale Sale Sale.” I do, do, do appreciate happy coincidences. And I’m happy you shared that sweet, sweet, sweet memory of your daughter, Hilary.

  11. No, No

  12. Hello, Hello, Hello, my cel phone just rang, did anyone just call me?

  13. Hi, Hi, Hi, I’m Emmy Blumberg, I’m looking either for Oscar or Harley.

  14. Hey, Hey, Hey, my cel phone just rang also! Hello, Hello, Hello?

  15. My name is Barbie Streiscan, okay, okay, okay?

  16. Ring, Ring, Ring, Harley, it’s me Heidi, remember me?

  17. We’ll take Grumpy Cat to our modelling school and teach her some manners, of finally, yes, yes, yes.

  18. Lovely photos, and the squirrel is adorable! 🙂

  19. No, No, No.

  20. Bye, Bye, Bye, it’s time for me to leave. No modelling school, no, no, no.

  21. Maureen

    Yes. But you do a lot with this blog. You do a lot for readers. You do this by being here reliably.

  22. love that squirrel! Your do do do reminded me of the opening lines of a song my husband and I like to sing to each other that starts with Du,du liegst mir im Herzen” -“You, you are in my heart”

  23. You are a Ray of sunshine to Me, Ann. And that brings us back to Doe!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

