Day 923: Beeeooootiful

Sometimes, I find it beautiful to deliberately misspell the word beautiful, as Lewis Carroll did in the mock turtle’s beau-ootiful song from Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland, “Beautiful Soup.”

Here’s beeeeootifulll Gene Wilder, as the mock turtle,  singing beau-ootifullly in one of the beeootiful Alice in Wonderland movies.

Yesterday, I spent some beeootiful  time with my beeeooooootiful son Aaron and my beau-ootiful beau Michael in beautiful Brookline, Massachusetts, USA, which has a beeoootiful book store, many beeeooteeful restaurants,  AND a beeoooteefulllll art deco movie theater.

At the beeooooteefull Booksmith, I spotted this beautifully signed poster:


The beeoootifulll author, George Saunders, has byootifully written

Thanks, Booksmith

You are more byootifull

Then this phlower

Luv.

George Saunders

… which I find beeoootiful, in many ways.

What do you find beeooootiful, in this moment, where you are?

Here are 57 varieties of additional beeeooootiful photos I snapped last night:


  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
WordPress uploaded all of those quickly and  smoothly.  Beautiful !

Are there any of those images you find particularly beeoootiful? It would be so beautiful if you’d let us know why! And if you wish, I’ll let you know, as best I can, why I took that beeooootiful shot.

Which reminds me of an exchange I had with somebody who asked me a question, many beeootiful moons ago, while I was taking lots of photos in his neighborhood:

Unknown neighbor: I’m sure I’m not the only one who would like to ask you this, but why do you take so many pictures around here?

Me: Of course! I’m glad you asked. I write a daily blog and I take pictures of things  I find interesting and beautiful.

Neighbor: That’s okay, then.

Many beeeoootiful thanks to neighbors, Aaron, Michael, beau-ootiful Lewis Carroll, Alices in Wonderlands, Gene Wilder, turtles (mock and otherwise), Brookline Booksmith, George Saunders, the Regal Beagle restaurant (although none of us had the Beau-ootiful Soo-oop), the Coolidge Corner Theater, gangs of Harleys,  The Wolfpack,  and all the other beeeooootiful things I saw yesterday. And special thanks to beeeeeeeooooooooteeefullll you, for visiting today.

Categories: personal growth, photojournalism | Tags: , , , , , , , , | 44 Comments

Post navigation

44 thoughts on “Day 923: Beeeooootiful

  1. Here’s another question for you Ann. After you share your pictures on your blog, do you keep the photos in a file or delete them? ❤
    Diana xo

    • I have tried many solutions to the photo-storage issue over the years, Diana. These days I take photos with low quality (less pixels) to save storage space. I also immediately delete photos I know I don’t want.

  2. Another beeootifull post from Ann, the most witty blogger in WP. I’m getting a tour of Boston as well. I love the “Magnetic Personalities Finger Puppets”, and knowing me, I would have to collect them all!

    • The most “wittiest”, I meant.

    • I think ‘wittiest’ goes alone without the ‘most’. Do consider those socks Ann, the sooner you get used to them the better. I saw residents who regretted later not using them. It’s a discipline to be established when you’re younger.

      • Thank you for your beautiful concern, Maria. I will bring up the socks with my cardiologist on Wednesday.

        BTW, beautiful me says “wittiest” and beautiful Michael would probably say “most wittiest.”

      • We have to bring the English Professor who sometimes visits you here.

      • I heard my name loud and clear! Someone just called me!

  3. Beauty-full.

  4. How is this for beeeoootifull. A superlative in GRAMMAR (of an adjective or adverb) expresses the highest or a very high degree of a quality (e.g., bravest, most fiercely) Therefore, two syllable words ending with a “y” – change the “y” to an “i” and add “est.” Two examples are crazy to craziest and silly to silliest.

    Oh, and my whiskers are not for sale, no!!!

    • A superlative adjective compares three or more nouns. This takes the comparison of nouns to the highest degree. An example would be: “My mother’s cooking is the best.” The rules for making superlative adjectives are almost identical to the rules for making comparative adjectives. They are:

      One syllable words – add “est” to the word. Remember that it is sometimes necessary to double the final consonant. Examples are: strong to strongest and big to biggest.

      One syllable words ending with an “e” – only add “st” like fine to finest or rare to rarest.
      Two syllable words ending with a “y” – change the “y” to an “i” and add “est.” Two examples are crazy to craziest and silly to silliest.

      Two and three syllable words – use “most” or “least.” Examples include most desirable and least expensive.

    • That’s the craziest and silliest thing ever!

      • I know, I had to review all of this because of my typos, but that cat still has a lot to learn. How can a professor fall asleep in a middle of a lecture? Precisely a famous cat?

      • That was a “grumpy” disgrace.

        For guidance always come to me, the Wise Owl.
        “Beautiful”, is a beautiful word indeed. Now “beau” may seem it’s French, but it’s actually “beau” from “bee”, remember, “the birds and the bees.”
        “Ooo” is from from “ooze”, as “oozing liquids” from your stuffed nose.
        Finally, “full”, is as my belly was this morning from eating “Three Blind Mice”.

        Then Lewis Carroll came and finally spelled the word correctly as ” beau-ootiful”.
        Well, it’s time to eat my Python for dinner. Farewell.

      • Okay then, Wise One!

      • Oh, pardon, “ti” comes from “do, re, mi, fa, sol, la, TI”.
        Best- The Wise Owl

      • Thank you, musical and wise owl.

  5. I don’t suppose you ever had need for Bernard Matthews’s turkeys over there. He was a supplier of turkeys to UK buyers from his farm. I remember packs of his turkey breasts. His countryman’s presentation of his ‘bootiful’ product was mimicked everywhere in my youth.

    • I think it’s a beautiful thing how you used that apostrophe for Bernard Matthews’s turkeys, Derrick , but we never heard that bootiful pronunciation here in the US.

  6. Ann,
    Using my aunt’s pronunciation: I found all these photos “bee-u-tee-full!”
    -Alan

  7. Beeoooootiful post beeooootiful Ann! Love those little puppets and baby turtle. I must be in a beeooootiful soft toy kind of mood today 🙂

  8. I thought the painting of people hanging in the restaurant was bee-ootiful. And I’m a sucker for all those book covers and everything they promise inside.

  9. The detail in those finger puppets…amazingly beeoootifull ! And I eat tomatoes like a fruit all summer long, especially right off the vine.

    Gene Wilder…a national treasure. Such a sweet song. And I laughed at Michael Douglas’s tiny cell phone…I remember those things ! 💕

  10. Yes beautiful it the right word for this post

  11. Movies about records and books about books, and blogs about blogger taking pictures for blogs. It’s all beeeooootiful to me, Ann, particularly your neighbor’s answer. Well, that’s OK, then. 🙂

  12. Beeoootiful images- I loved more than I can say here- but the Candy Crush sweet treats caught my eye as I love sweets and love Candy Crush!

  13. Byoootiful ~ you writing, photos, thoughts, comments and of course your supportive team of readers 🙂 Make for a good feeling heading into a new week! Cheers ~

  14. I think i read this too late at night, for I found it too busy to digest it all. A lot of pics with a lot of objects in each one…sort of a buzz if you look at any one too long. Call me a deadhead at midnight…beeuteeful indeed, but overloooooad more like it tonite. Love u!

  15. Jan Woodruff

    I loved the zipper hospital (maybe that’s what I need) and the blue turtle…and many more of the photos that I can’t {oops, I guess I’m (oops) lazy} remember…see you tomorrow

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

