Day 922: Thumbs

Because my thumbs are sore this morning  —  from typing so much on my iPhone keyboard — I am focusing on sayings about thumbs, including:

  1. “Thumbs up” (meaning approval)
  2. “Thumbs down” (meaning a negative judgment)
  3. “All thumbs” (meaning clumsy), and
  4. “Stick out like a sore thumb” (which is what my first heart surgeon told my parents my first cardiac pacemaker would do, when I was 10 years old).

Pain makes things stick out like a sore thumb, so it’s no wonder my mind is thumbing through  thumb-related associations and memories.

My calves are sore too, today, but I can’t think of any sayings about calves. If you can, I certainly won’t thumb my nose at that.

Are there any thumbs in the photos I snapped yesterday, always using my left thumb?


No thumbs to be seen in that photo, but I am giving a big thumbs down to myself for leaving my car’s moonroof open during a night of rain.


Something’s up in that photo, but it’s not a thumb.

I can see several thumbs in that last photo. Can you?

No thumbs there.

See that guy, to the left, holding his thumb at his side? He’s wearing a New York Yankee shirt and hat, right next to Boston’s Fenway Park. Moments later, two Boston fans verbally thumbed their noses at him, with

“You’re in the wrong city, buddy.”


There he is again, after that thumbs down.

Speaking of thumbs down, that’s how I feel about one of my favorite Starbucks baristas, Kevin, leaving the Boston hospital where we both work.


Kevin is using his thumb to put the going-away card I just gave him into his apron pocket.


Thumbs up to Kevin for  going to another Starbucks closer to where he lives and thumbs up to Alex, for staying.

Personally, I give two thumbs up to these next two photos, from where I work:

Thumbs up or down to any of these photos I took after work?


  
  
  
That’s Tom, who said he’d give me a thumbs up if I contributed just $1 to a campaign to fight hunger.

Here’s Tom’s  reaction


… when I told him I’d thumbed over five times that amount.


There’s one of the nice guys who works where I park my car near Fenway Park. I gave him a thumbs up for putting my car near that door, so I could make a quick escape.

I always give two thumbs up to spending a Friday evening with my 17-year-old son Aaron and my 50-something-year-old boyfriend, Michael. Last night, I used my thumbs on the steering wheel of my cat* to drive us to Harvard Square in Cambridge. A big thumbs up to all the fun we had there.


  


  


  

After I used my thumbs to eat a “Longy School of Music” ( not pictured) and was all thumbs enough to spill some of that Smores Frappe (pictured) on myself, we went next door to the Harvard Book Store, where we thumbed through lots of books:


  
  
  

  
  
  
  
  
  
  

  

  

  
I bought one of those dozens of books, pictured above . A gigantic thumbs up to anybody who can guess which book that is.

What thumb-related music am I using for this all-thumbs post?

Here’s a hint:

It’s “Thumbelina” from the movie, Hans Christian Andersen!

My thumbs are too sore for me to give a proper thumbs up to all who helped me write this post, so I’ll just say


to them and to you, too!


* That’s a typo. I drove my car to Harvard Square, not my cat.

Categories: gratitude, personal growth, photojournalism | Tags: , , , , , , , , , | 57 Comments

Post navigation

57 thoughts on “Day 922: Thumbs

  1. “Both thumbs up” 🙂

  2. What a great bookshop. And yeah, two thumbs up 😉

  3. Thumbs up, definitely!

  4. Ann, I would say “The Mindfulness Coloring Book” or “Judge This”. Ann, the thumb condition is also being called the “Blackberry Thumb” (informally), but properly speaking it’s “Gamekeepers’s Thumb” or ‘De Quervain syndrome’ (which is what I have), or plain Osteoarthritis of the first carpo-metacarpal joint, (at the base of the thumb joint). See here: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/De_Quervain_syndrome
    Two thumbs up for your beautiful family Ann.

    • Many thumbs up, Maria, for all the helpful information you gave me here. More thumbs up for your excellent guesses about which book I bought. If I had more money to thumb over last night, I probably would have bought those, too, in addition to the one I actually did.

      • Okay, “The Book of Aron”, “Leonard Cohen: Everybody Knows”, or “Measuring Behaviors”.

      • Thumbs up for more great guesses (but I used my thumbs to buy something else).

  5. No guesses but boy am I jealous of the frappe and the bookstore! Two thumbs way way up!

  6. A big thumbs up on this post Ann! I can’t help with the sore calves connection. I have big calves so I often joke by saying I have cows. ❤
    Diana xo

    • Two big and sore thumbs up for your calves/cows joke, Diana! ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ xoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxo (I'm typing most of this comment with my fingers, so it doesn't hurt.)

  7. I’m glad a donation allowed you to show Tom’s Thumbs, Ann.

    I’m also glad that Yankees fan did not appear to feel Under the Thumbs of cat-calling (not car-calling) Red Sox fans.

    I think your calves are sore from walking far enough to capture that many thumbs in your collection of photographs posted today, my friend.

  8. I haven’t thumbed through any of those editions, but I have read an Alexander McCall Smith, and the whole of Proust’s ‘A La Recherche’ so I go for one of those. Let’s say the Smith. Calves have cloven hoofs, so they probably don’t have thumbs.

    • Let’s say the Knight has guessed incorrectly, but still gets non-cloven thumbs up from me for this comment.

  9. Well, it’s a big thumbs up to so many things in this post, Ann. Your Coping and Healing quote is excellent, and your Harvard Book Store looks a great place to spend some time. Thumbs up to campaigns to combat hunger and to the lovely man who parked your car by the door for you. I also give big thumbs up to that excellent-looking Smores frappe, as well as Hans Christian Anderson and the brilliant Danny Kaye. Hope your thumbs feel better by tomorrow. 🙂

  10. Three thumbs up for this post Ann 👍👍👍
    Love the happy faces and exploring the book store 🙂

  11. Reblogged this on By the Mighty Mumford and commented:
    ONE THING IS CERTAIN….ANN IS REALLY “THUMB-BODY”!!!!

  12. Thumbs up for book stores, the place to lose track of time. I’d have bought the cartoon philosophy book. ☺

  13. This post was a great way for me to end my day. A definite thumbs up!

  14. My last guess is “How Music Works” by David Byrne.

    • I would definitely consider stockings to increase circulation in your legs. The sooner you get used to these, the better. They have been proven to work.

      • I think they call them “Teddies”.

      • “Ted Knee Length”, or higher if the doctor approves.

      • I’ll ask my doctor, but I think the circulation in my legs is fine. My calves are sore, I believe, because of some new shoes. Thumbs up, to you, for being such a caring person.

      • I remember them from when I worked in FL. They help with long walks, according to a lady resident who always wore them, her legs were always in great shape. They just require a lot of discipline because of the effort in donning and doffing. It’s a possibility, just thinking.

    • Another great guess, Maria. The David Byrne book looked very intriguing … but that’s not the book I thumbed through and bought.

      • That’s too bad, I like detective work. It’s after 12 AM, can you reveal what it finally was?

      • “The Most Good You Can Do”?

      • Another great guess! I would call you a philonoist, Maria, which — according to the book I bought — means “A knowledge seeker, otherwise known as an ideal student or continuing self-educator. This is the instinctive or resolute inquirer and acquirer of facts and ideas old and new, ever on the learn. And like all ever-hungering and well-exercised minds, never a know-it-all.”

        Is that enough of a hint?

      • It has to be “Dimboxes, Epopts, and Other Quidams: Words to Describe Life’s Indescribable People” because of your love of idiomatic phrases and puns.

      • An enthusiastic thumbs up for that correct guess, Maria the Philonoist.

      • Ann, thanks so much for calling me a “philonoist”, I guess it’s a positive quality. You’re so witty and this blog is like a mind shaker Ann!!! Have a lovely Sunday Ann. 💗

      • It’s a VERY positive description, Maria. I hope you have a lovely Sunday, too. ❤ ❤

  15. Thumbs up to the post, can you imagine how hard things would be if we didn’t have thumbs, no, neither can I

    • If we didn’t have our opposable thumbs, Joanne, we would be in a lot of trouble. Thumbs up for your comment!

  16. Thumbs up for this post and 2 thumbs up for sure for that Smores Frappe!! 😀

  17. I love the Hofstadter book, I Am a Strange Loop.

    • Thumbs up from me for the title of that book, for Douglas Hofstadter, and — of course! — for you, Maureen.

      • Was there a word to describe Dr. H in Words to Describe Life’s Indescribable People?

      • Many. Bashi-bazouk, bête noire, bitter-ender, and blowtop, and that’s just some B’s.

  18. Thumbs up to all of your pictures, especially the ones of flowers which show signs of a green thumb. And an additional thumb up to the bookstore. I work in a library and sometimes worry about the future of print even though it’s the best long-term way we have to preserve literature. E-books have their advantages–until the power goes out. And another thumbs up to “Dimboxes, Epopts, and Other Quidams: Words to Describe Life’s Indescribable People”, a book I now want as well. It makes me think of the radio program “Says You!” which used to be based in Boston, but which gets another thumbs up for being so wordy and entertaining.

    That’s four thumbs I believe. Since yours are sore I thought you could use some extra.

    • Thank you for all the wonderful thumbs and words in this comment, Christopher, and kudos for correctly fingering the book I chose out of all the fabulous printed ones at the Harvard Book Store. A couple of years ago, Michael, Aaron, and I went to a taping of “Says You!” in Waltham, a suburb you could easily thumb to from Boston. Thumbs up for that, too.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

