Day 911: Does that ring a bell?

Does the expression “ring a bell” ring a bell for you?

Here’s the definition, from Google:

1. informal

 revive a distant recollection; sound familiar. 

“the name Woodall rings a bell”

For me, the name Woodall does NOT ring a bell. Does that name ring a bell for you?

Here are some things that have been ringing bells for me lately, but differently than they’ve rung in the past:

  • Technology and machines have been misbehaving. For example, my WordPress phone application froze this morning, so I deleted it (despite the daunting  message “If you delete WordPress you will delete all data”) and then reinstalled it — feeling almost no fear  about that.
  • I’ve been summoned to a meeting today at work that’s supposed to be very important, with somebody I don’t know, with no explanation about who, why, or what I am expected to do, and I am feeling almost no fear about that.
  • As I’m writing this, I’m aware of my newly implanted large  cardiac device that’s causing me some physical discomfort, and I am feeling almost no fear about that.
  • I’ve been asked to give a training presentation about my “Coping and Healing” therapy groups in August, and I am feeling almost no fear about that.
  • I am realizing that I may conceivably hurt somebody’s feelings or offend somebody at some point  (an inevitable occurrence in human interactions), but I am feeling almost no fear about that.

Is this post ringing any bells for you, so far?

I thought of the  title for today’s post yesterday, when I was walking and listening to music that rings bells for me.

Does that ring any bells?

Here’s the tune — which used to be my phone ring tone — that rang that bell for me, yesterday:

Booker T & the MGs are ringing bells and playing lots of instruments  on  “Green Onions,” here at YouTube.

Typing “Booker T & the MGs” just now rang this bell for me:  Talking to WordPresser Mark Bialczak, a few weekends ago, about spelling the names of bands accurately.

Perhaps these photos I took yesterday will ring some bells:


  
  
  
  
  
  

If you leave a comment about this post, that will definitely ring my bell.

Bell-ringing thanks to all people, pets, food, and places that helped me write today’s post and special thanks to you — of course! — for whatever bells are ringing, here and now.

Categories: personal growth, photojournalism | Tags: , , , , , , , , | 34 Comments

Post navigation

34 thoughts on “Day 911: Does that ring a bell?

  1. Boy that tune rings a bell for me Ann. I can just see go-go dancers in their cages on that dancing show -oh-what-was-it-called haha! ❤
    Diana xo

  2. Woodall does not ring any bells for me.The Joni Mitchell quote did ring a bell as it is one of my favorite quotes. I wish having a clean house rang more of a bell as the dust on the piano becomes more evident each day 🙂

  3. There are so many bells ringing for me it’s almost deafening. So much tintinnabulation, a word coined by Boston’s own Edgar Allan Poe. He’s been claimed by Baltimore and lived in Virginia and some say he’s best appreciated by the French. Maybe that’s why even though I’ve never been to Boston so many of your pictures ring bells for me.

  4. Rings many bells for me! Check out “Ring Them Bells” by Joan Baez.
    https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=vPSceIPMp9s
    The link may not work by clicking but you can copy and paste it in. Love this song.

  5. Needs more cowbell ??? ☺

  6. Glad you have some peace over items in your life – that’s a great thing to hear!

  7. The New York Jets, in the 1970s I believe, had a quarterback by the name of Al Woodall, Ann. So that name rang a bell. They called him Woody, I also believe. I think a lot of Woodalls probably were called Woody.

    “Green Onions” is one of my favorite soul instrumentals, Ann! Thank you for ringing my bell with that one. So hip! It brought to mind that I also loved the Herbie Hancock song “Watermelon Man,” connecting the hip soul dots. Don’t it always seem to go?

    • Your bell-ringing comment rang this bell for me, Mark: in my piano-playing days, “Watermelon Man” was one of my favorite numbers.

  8. Jackie has recently bought a hotel receptionist’s bell. She has it placed in readiness on a table by her side of the TV sofa. Whenever she sees me nodding off, she bashes it. That is quite frequently.

  9. No fear rings a bell. Love that.

  10. No bell rung for me…………..just saying

  11. Maureen

    I hope that your very important meeting with the person you don’t know went well. I’m really glad to read that you are having some fearless moments these days.

    Darin Strauss’s book, Half a Life, definitely rings a few bells for me.

  12. Maureen

    I can’t leave without posting a link, perhaps too obviously, to Leonard Cohen’s wonderful Anthem.

  13. What rings a bell is that sneaker! Ha, what a laugh!

  14. Pingback: Day 952: Red I’s | The Year(s) of Living Non-Judgmentally

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

