Day 878: Bangs!

Bangs are:

  1. loud noises and
  2. a hairstyle.

Bang!

I knew “Bangs!” would be the post title today.

Bang!

I am sensitive to noises, so loud ones can make me jump.

Bang!

I’m seeing Mia, my fabulous hair stylist, in two days and I have an idea for a perhaps bangingly radical new look, which includes bangs.

Bang!

I saw my EMDR therapist yesterday, and we are working on getting rid of the following unhelpful, habitual, very old thought that can bang around, painfully, in my head:

My needs and feelings don’t matter.

Bang!

Every so often, I have a moment of fear regarding the June 6 workshop presentation I’ll be giving about my therapy groups (coming up in bang, bang, bang, bang, bang, bang, bang, bang, bang 9 days).

Bang!

I let go of that fear, in the very next moment.

Bang!

If my heart stops, for any reason, my new Implantable Cardiac Device (ICD) will automatically start it again, with a

Bang!

bang, bang,  bang, bang, bang,  bang, bang …

Every time my ICD paces my heartbeat, I can feel that, in my core.

Bang!

I sometimes have trouble sleeping, when there are too many thoughts banging around in my head.

Bang! I took each of these photos yesterday;

      

                                                      


Bang! Bang! Bang! Bang! Bang! Bang! Those guinea pigs my bf Michael and I saw at PetSmart last night kept jumping, as if they were hearing bangs.

Bang! Bang! Bang!  Michael and I made these comments at PetSmart:

  • “Look! It’s the Orson Welles of guinea pigs.”
  • “According to that vaccine date, Squeaky’s a cat from the future.”
  • “Those guinea pigs jump like pop corn.”

Bang! Bang! 

Here are two songs about Bangs:

Bang!

That’s the sound of you, leaving a comment.

Bang! I’m thanking Michael the boyfriend, Mia the hairstylist, George the EMDR therapist, Harley and Winston and Squeaky the cats, my ICD and other things that go Bang,  the Orson Welles and the popcorns of guinea pigs, They Might be Giants, Nancy Sinatra, and — bang! — you, for whatever noises you make today.

Categories: personal growth, photojournalism | Tags: , , , , | 38 Comments

Post navigation

38 thoughts on “Day 878: Bangs!

  1. Your day certainly started with a bang! That Nancy Sinatra song will be banging around in my head all day, reminding me of my childhood. Hope you have a bang up day Ann!

  2. yeseventhistoowillpass

    I’ve been to Bang-alore in India but not Bang ladesh… I never saw the play, Bang the drum slowly

  3. Grumpy cat! She’s going to get angry you didn’t buy her food…

  4. I’ve been to Bangkok…

  5. It was AWFUL. Bangkok NO! Monarchy YES!

  6. This post was bang on as they might say in Britain where they sometimes start the day with bangers and mash. I can’t remember what mash is but bangers are sausages, which can start your day with a bang if they’re spicy. And thank you for the early reminder that guinea pigs “popcorn”. I used to think all they did was lay around and occasionally shriek.

    • Michael sees in guinea pigs the limited repertoire of (1) sitting and (2) seething, Christopher. He and I were bang-on surprised that they were popcorning like that last night. Thank you for mashing it up here with this bang-on comment.

  7. Bang! Awesome photos, especially the kitties! You did a bang-up job! I hope Squeaky and Winston get forever homes soon!

  8. Your Bang! post reminds me of Emeril what’s his name – Bam! Wonderful photos as always Ann!

  9. Banging on typewriters.
    Gang-banging congressmen!
    Bang = ‘!’ (British slang)

  10. And BANG for Squeaky!!!

  11. Bang Bang, so brilliantly used by Tarentino in Kill Bill. Haunting melody. I have had bangs almost all my life, mostly to hide an abundance of eyebrow. That was before Brooke Shields came along. ☺ Van

  12. Bang on Ann … except in Scotland banging means having sex.
    Thank you for really putting a smile on my face this morning 😉

  13. If you stopped on the tracks there would be one hell of a bang. One of Nancy’s best.

  14. Bang! As you may know, I have bangs Ann! Here’s a little bang, bang for you! ❤
    Diana xo

  15. Oh, all those wonderful kitties. I want a kitty.
    My cat, Sandino the Wonder Cat, died about a year ago. I have resisted the urge for another. I’m traveling too much. Wouldn’t be fair. But, oh, those wonderful kitties!

  16. I hope that Winston and Squeaky find loving homes. Squeaky might look good with bangs.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

