Day 866: Looking up

Since my heart-related surgery 12 days ago, many things have been looking up, including me.

Almost every time I looked up where I  work last week, I saw people looking up to each other in group and individual therapy. Looking up at them, as they worked on looking up in their lives, I heard language like

“Floating”
“Rising”
“Flying”
“Staying above it all”

The language of looking up affects how we look at things, I believe.

Yesterday, I saw the following images, as I was looking up:

       

          

  
              

Looking up at those photos, I see the familiar and the unexpected. What do you see, when you are looking up?

This photo …

… which I took looking up in the cafeteria at work, reminds me that when we look up, we often see birds (and, sometimes, gluten-free food).

Speaking of birds, as I’m looking up ahead to my June audition for the  musical Follies (with music by Stephen Sondheim, whom I greatly look up to),  I’m looking up at this bird-related Sondheim song as a possible audition piece:

Looking up at that video, I wonder if I’m setting my sights (and my voice) too high with “Green Finch and Linnet Bird” from Sweeney Todd.  Things will probably look up if I imagine my audience looking up at me, while I’m singing,  with appreciation and approval.

If more upbeat music and lyrics help you look up, I just heard Los Lobos, in “A Matter of Time,”  sing

It will be all right

As I’m looking up at this post I’ve just written, I want to express something else about “looking up.”

After dealing with scary uncertainties and difficult decisions (especially about my health) — as I have the last six months — it can be difficult to put all that aside and  focus on looking up.

Things are definitely looking up today, in that regard. I suppose it was only a matter of time. 

I’m looking up, with thanks, to people I work with, to all those who help us find our way, to my fellow social worker Lauren, to worms and bots, to Fenway Park, to Wild Willie’s in Watertown Massachusetts, to Stephen Sondheim, to cast members of Sweeney Todd, to finches of all colors, to linnet and ceramic birds, to Los Lobos,  and to you — of course! — for looking up, here and now.

Categories: gratitude, personal growth, photojournalism | Tags: , , , , , , , | 30 Comments

Post navigation

30 thoughts on “Day 866: Looking up

  1. These looking-ups are good sign that you are doing well after the operations. I hope you feel well and ever than before.

  2. Glad to hear 🙂

  3. So glad you’re feeling better and things are looking up…:)

    • I’m so glad to look up and see you and your doggies!

      • Thank you, Ann. Actually they each are with two of my daughters and we love them. One is a chocolate lab and one a golden who thinks he is human…:)

      • George, things are looking up even more as I learn about your lovely family.

  4. Hurrah! Hurrah! Hurrah!
    tears of joy

  5. Your post definitley has an ‘upbeat’ feel to it, Ann, and it’s good to know that you’re really looking up – and forward – to good things to come. I love all your looking up photos, but the one about the velvet worms is quite intriguing! 🙂

    • I was intrigued by that, too, Millie, when I looked up to see that display at the hospital where I work. As always, I love looking up to find you here!

  6. Things are definitely looking up for you! What an incredibly creative and inspiring post!

  7. So glad that things are looking up for you, Ann. And by the looks of your photos, you have a lot of special things to look up at, as well. ☺ Van

  8. So glad thinks, everything, is looking up!

  9. Here’s to looking up Ann! I would love to hear you sing. ❤
    Diana xo

    • Now that I’m looking up at your supportive comment, Diana, I’m thinking I might record my try-out, if possible.

  10. If those folks that live in Fenway, Ann, if the condos or apartments or whatever living arrangements I assume to be incredibly expensive have it the way I imagine them to be, come game time, I hope they are looking down through some window toward the field of play!

    Speaking of song, Ann, which you did and do so well, I saw “Pitch Perfect 2” today. I’ll publish my review on my blog Monday. Perhaps a man with a so-so voice will be singing its praises?

  11. Here’s your jury Ann: but if they don’t pick you; tell them to take a Walk on the Wild Side:


    (from http://25.media.tumblr.com/488bcea2eb52e6dbff1f1237acb67548/tumblr_n039ekCib21swv7lbo1_500.gif)

  12. I love that ceramic bird and being gluten intolerant didn’t even have to look up to notice the gluten free menu. I am glad things are looking up for you, here’s a song I thought of after reading your post.

  13. Pingback: Day 1560: Look | The Year(s) of Living Non-Judgmentally

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

