Day 852: K as in …

Yesterday, I was on the phone with a kustomer service person named Krissy.

I’m guessing that’s how she spelled her name. With a K, not a C.

I’m guessing that bekause of our phone konversation, which inkluded this:

Krissy: Let me look you up in the system. What’s your name again?
Me: It’s Koplow. K as in …

And I paused, because I kould not, for the life of me, think of any word that started with a K to help Krissy spell Koplow, except for my late father’s line, which I heard kontinuously when he was alive and kicking:

K as in Knife.

I always loved it when my father said that to help spell our name, because it was so klever, komical and playful, like he was. But I didn’t want to use that K word  with Krissy yesterday. Why? As with any human aktion (or inaktion), the reasons kan be komplikated. Perhaps I kouldn’t use Knife with Krissy because:

  • I didn’t want to steal from my father,
  • I’m not loving the word knife lately, as I’m going under the surgical knife in two days bekause of my  kardiak kondition a/k/a kongenitally korrekted  tranposition, and
  • Krissy didn’t sound, on the phone, like she’d partikularly enjoy that.

So, as the pause on the phone kontinued — with my mind stuck on Knife as the only K word I kould kome up with — Krissy helpfully suggested

Kristina?

Which led me to konklude that Krissy spelled her name with a K.

Direktly after that konversation, I saw a kommon K word:


And I konsidered using that, the next time I spell Koplow.

When I saw these

    

I kontemplated what K words those people might use, when spelling their names for others.

What K word would you use, if you kommonly needed to do that?

Do you see any Ks in these other images I enkountered yesterday?


              
 

 
                      

What K musik would you pikk, for this K post?

I’m inkluding “John McKee,” with koncert footage of Pat Metheny, Jack DeJohnette, Herbie Hancock, and Dave Holland:

and a Berklee Kollege of Musik performance of “John McKee” by Sonik Landskape, from the 5-week summer program (which had two additional weeks when I attended Berklee in the konsekutive summers of 1968 and 1969):

As I’ve already konkluded, it’s komplikated.

Komments?

Thousands of thanks to all kinds of people and places keeping this post on its K-track and to you — of kourse! — for koming by here, today.

Categories: personal growth, photojournalism | Tags: , , , , , , | 60 Comments

Post navigation

60 thoughts on “Day 852: K as in …

  1. K is for kitten.
    I had a similar problem with my last name, Vardaman. People use Victor for V. I use victory. I figured I have ‘man’ in my name but I didn’t have to use a man’s name to spell my name! Besides, I like the word victory.

  2. yeseventhistoowillpass

    The Red Sox K’d The Bronx Bums. Tonight at the big fight in Las Vegas some one will get KO’d and my Kat and I are moving to another site within the park…

  3. How I wish my name started with a “K” although I guess I could change my C to a K ~ yes, I like your Dad’s story very very much! I wish I could have experienced him telling this to me…my guess is that I would have been initially stunned a bit while my rusty gears figured it out, and then I would have laugh heartily 🙂 This brings a smile to my face tonight ~ wish you smiles and happiness Ann and you’ll be in my thoughts often Ms. K 🙂 Take care ~

  4. You’ve kaptured this komplikated kuestion perfektly!

  5. I just had to mention Mortal Kombat. It loved the ks. Krypt, Koins, Konquest…

  6. Lawrence J. Siskind

    Monty Python could have provided some ideas: khaki, kettle, Kipling, Khomeni, Kellogg’s Born Flakes.

    (Re the last, the character cannot pronounce words starting with the letter C.)

    Good luck next week. It will probably be easier than you expect. It may even be humorous. You’ll wake up in stitches.

    Sent from my iPhone

    • Monty Python has nothing on Borny non-Flakey you, Lawrenke J. Siskind. Thanks for the luck and love to you. No kidding.

  7. inkredible 🙂

  8. It is K for king, as far I am concerned. If your K is for kitten, Ann, I wonder why not kiss, kite, kindle, kin, to cite a few, enabling one’s romantic kite flying aimed at kindling the fire of love..? xx Raj.

  9. Very Kool photos..:(

  10. Sorry…meant…:)

  11. Ann … I love this because it’s komical, korny and a kornucopia of humorous insights. Spelling hints: How about ‘k’ for keen (insights), kernal (of wisdom) or kudos (for another great post).

    I had a similar problem with my maiden name: Fiet. No one could spell or pronounce it. For the latter, I’d say “Fiet” as in “Quiet” which I never am. 😉

  12. Eleanor

    Krispy Kreme!

  13. I usually go with the name a state or country that starts with the letter theory – so Kentucky or Kansas or Kazakhstan

    • I like this kool theory. Know what? There’s only one town in Massakhusetts that starts with “K” — Kingston.

  14. Well, now you’ve given me a lot to kontemplate! Kinsidering how it’s the weekend when the kommon kloth of weekday worry falls away, leaving me with nekkid thoughts, I’ve breathing space to pick this hem and chase it down!

  15. I would use kickass as in, “Koplow is gonna kome through her surgery in her usual kickass way!” I loved the bit about your dad. My dad’s name is Heinz, and I often heard him say, when people inquired about his name, “Heinz, as in ketchup.” ❤
    Diana xo

  16. Oh and as for K music? This immediately came to mind.

  17. Kitty and Koi Kidding:

  18. I hate having to spell my name why because like you I am likely to think of nothing for at least one letter of my name and go quiet and the person will think I am finished and type in the wrong name

  19. K as in Koplow is what I’d say, Ann. Kaptain Mark, here. 🙂 K as in strikeout. Baseball fans will get it! Happy Saturday Knight, Ann. ❤

  20. Roar Ann, K for Koplow, K for big Keen Kitten:

  21. Keen Kodiak Kity:

  22. I can never think of the word I need in exactly that situation. I would have expected Kitten to be nearest the tip of your tongue.

    • I guess I heard “knife” when I was very young! Maybe I’ll use kitten and perhaps, also, a variant of my father’s joke: K as in knowledge.

  23. To Russian futurist, Velimir Khlebnikov, the letter and sound “K” represented something inherently bad. My ex wife’s first name began with K, so… However, we did have our good times.

  24. K as in Kindness- a trait you possess most greatly

  25. In certain cases, Quick Draw would also assume the identity of the masked vigilante El Kabong

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

