Day 847: Diversions

This past weekend was filled with diversions, as my divertingly long-time friend Barbara and I diverted ourselves from stress, worry, and anxiety in lovely New Hampshire.

Here’s one among many diversions I saw, yesterday, in downtown Portsmouth NH:


Puzzles and games can be pleasant and helpful diversions. Are you puzzled by that or any of the other diversions I was game enough to capture yesterday? 

                

              

                

The diversions of this past weekend were very welcome ones, especially since I can’t really divert myself from the knowledge that I’m having surgery a week from today.

Here’s a welcome diversion, though: most of my fears about next Monday’s surgery have been diverted by:

  • my trusted cardiologists, who are never diverted away from great care,
  • the non-invasive and low-risk nature of the surgery compared with heart valve surgery, which has been diverting me for about six months,
  • diverting my eyes and thoughts in new directions with Eye Movement Desensitization and Reprocessing (EMDR) therapy,
  • the diversionary tactic of ignoring negative, unhelpful people, and
  • diverting my attention towards things I love.

Things I love include music, so here’s one of the best diversions I know: a most diverting tune about somebody desperately seeking diversions.

“Lush Life” — written by the divertingly talented Billy Strayhorn and performed by the divertingly epic combination of singer Johnny Hartman and saxophonist John Coltrane — provides amazing diversions on YouTube.

If you are diverted enough by the diversions in this post to offer diversions of your own in a comment, that would be most pleasantly diverting.

Diverting thanks to Barbara, New Hampshire, Portsmouth, people who live with and support others with chronic medical conditions, cardiologists Dr. Deeb Salem and Dr. Mark Estes, EMDR, Billy Strayhorn, Johnny Hartman, John Coltrane, all lives lush and non-lush, and you — of course! — for joining my diversions, here and now.

Categories: gratitude, personal growth, photojournalism | Tags: , , , , , , , | 24 Comments

Post navigation

24 thoughts on “Day 847: Diversions

  1. What wonderful captures, what a wonderful way to divert all your energy to the positive. I hope the diversions keep coming to help you sail through the week and keep the worries at bay.

  2. Portsmouth is a very cool town with lots of good restaurants and diversions. Good luck with your surgery next week. Prayers for the best.

  3. Thank you for sharing your Diversions! I enjoyed diverting some of my time to your diversions. I’m very much intrigued by some of your photos; loved the artwork and signage, loved the chocolate (although unsure about the Blue Cheese chocolate)! My diversion this weekend was baking.
    Sending good thoughts to you for your upcoming surgery, and also sending energy to the medical professionals caring for you!

  4. Chocolate tools! I could have been a carpenter! (But only in America.)

    I’m diverted by the cheerfulness of your post, your optimism, your strategies for looking after yourself, your fabulous friends and music, and your intriguing photos. I hope that you have a wonderful week — When does Aaron get back?

    • I love being diverted by you, Maureen. Aaron got back to the USA Saturday night and is home with us tonight! That is a most wonderful diversion.

  5. I love these diversions Ann. Much better than the diversions I grew up with aka detours 😉

  6. Howdie, Ann!
    Looks like a great diversion of a trip. Especially diverted my attention to the chocolate tools.
    One deversion I can suggest is to think of the days to come beyond the proceedure with great expectations.
    -Alan

  7. I am a chocolate snob it would have to be good chocolate for me to eat the tools if it is cheap chocolate or compound chocolate I would just use the tools…………..as tools……………just saying

    • All the chocolate I had from that shop was divertingly delicious, Joanne, so I’m just saying those tools are good for eating.

  8. I like the diversion you create with your curiosity and optimism, your eye for details, and your roaring strength. Thanks for sharing such beautiful places!

  9. I’m glad the New Hampshire trip worked so well as mind relaxer, Ann. I love the sign that says 4:45, what the heck. Now that’s a lush life!

    I’m here to divert you with puns, my dear friend Ann. 🙂

  10. Most of my diversions are thought-oriented. I often imagine Milton Bradley designing a game: How to get your Ph.D. at UCLA. The obstacles in your way would be most amusing.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

