Day 839: Never worry alone

“Never worry alone” is something my manager likes to say.

I most recently heard him say

Never worry alone

two days ago, during his presentation on “Violence in Health Care,” at the hospital-based Primary Care Practice where we both work.

Earlier this morning, I followed his advice to

Never worry alone

by sending an email to my cardiologists, about some worries filling up space in my head.

As I approach surgery for my very unusual heart on May 4th, I hereby resolve to

Never worry alone

from now on. Does anybody want to join in with that resolution?

Yesterday, I spent some time with my friend, Deb. We never worried alone, as we walked around less-worried Watertown, Massachusetts.

    

That’s Chris, who told us he no longer worries about flat tires or chains, now that he alone has that most excellent bicycle.

There’s Deb. Does she look worried? Whether she is or not, she’s not alone  — I’m right there, taking pictures.

      

    

At some point, I shared with Deb my worry that I had left a bottle of heart medication pills at the Royal Restaurant in Watertown the night before.

No worries! I found those pills when Deb and I returned there for brunch: 

Deb and I shared worries and other things (including soy milk French Toast, a Gruyere and mushroom omelette, and FRIED OREOS) at The Royal.

Does anything about that worry you? It didn’t worry us, and we left The Royal for more walking.      

One thing I didn’t photograph yesterday: imagining my worries attached to a rock I found  and throwing that Worry Rock —  with Deb as my lone witness — into the Charles River. 

      

I wasn’t worried yesterday when I accidentally switched to black and white photography for a few shots.

Deb said I should put my name (or the non-judgmental name of this blog) on my custom-made t-shirts. Should I worry about that?

Should I worry about which “Worry” song to include today?

Never worry alone, when Stevie Wonder is making such beautiful music on YouTube.

I’m not worrying alone now, thanks to my manager, my cardiologists, Deb, Chris and his bicycle, Watertown, the Royal Restaurant, the Charles River, my Worry Rock, Stevie Wonder, soy milk French toast and fried Oreos, kids and pogo sticks, peaceful frogs and people, and — of course! — you.

Categories: friendship, personal growth, photojournalism | Tags: , , , , , | 35 Comments

Post navigation

35 thoughts on “Day 839: Never worry alone

  1. A really great thought.

  2. Sometimes it’s good to share a worry, but if I shared all mine I’m afraid I wouldn’t have any friends!

    • I understand that worry, Annabelle, and I’m not worried about you sharing worries here.

      Personally, I find that I worry more than my friends worry about my sharing worries with them.

  3. yeseventhistoowillpass

    Don’t Worry be happy as Booby MacFaren once sang

  4. Never worry alone – I like that Ann! I suck at it though. πŸ™‚ I love the B&W photos Ann, sometimes mistakes are beautiful. ❀
    Diana xo

    The minute I started reading today's blog, I thought of this song:

    • I can’t believe that you suck at anything, Diana, and I bet I’m not alone in that. You might not be perfect but as you said, sometimes mistake are beautiful. And, I agree that every little thing is gonna be all right. ❀

  5. how wonderful sharing
    worry with others πŸ™‚

  6. What a wonderful post! And a delicious-looking breakfast. Your walk was so scenic. I feel like I was bobbing along behind you like a kite, connected by the blog.

  7. “You are not alone in this. And you are not alone in this. As brothers, we will stand and we’ll hold your hand. Hold your hand.”

  8. Love love love this post Ann! And the message really hits home. You have a wise manager … and great taste in photos and music πŸ™‚

  9. I am glad you are not alone worrying πŸ™‚

  10. powerful post and the wonder song made my day – thanks πŸ™‚

  11. I have never understood the penny farthing bike, but I agree we should not worry alone as that is when things seem the worse, because we imagine the worst

  12. What, me worry? Yes, Ann, I will, some, as that day in May comes.I know I am not alone on Team Ann. It’s a natural thing, Stevie song or not, worry stone disappearing or not. I have no shame about it! I know you will be better on the other side of the day, but worry some I must.

    Anyway.

    Do you know why your medication was to be found at the Watertown restaurant the next day? Nobody else had the heart to take it!

  13. Thanks so much for reviving this concept of sharing worries; because even all other creatures on earth do it also; even the little ants worry together. Why are humans the ones to worry alone? Good question, I suppose we could learn plenty from just looking at Nature itself. As usual Ann, you always hit the nail on the head.

  14. I get what you mean. it hard going through a tough time or a complex procedure alone.

  15. So late getting caught up!

    No, you’re not alone! You’ve got all of us cheering you on!

  16. Pingback: Day 841: Storytellers | The Year(s) of Living Non-Judgmentally

  17. Pingback: Day 991: Don’t fret | The Year(s) of Living Non-Judgmentally

  18. Pingback: Day 1180: Alone | The Year(s) of Living Non-Judgmentally

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

