Day 825: Seeing the light

Yesterday, I expected to see the rain, because of the weather report. Not uncommonly around here, the weather report was wrong and, instead, I saw the light.

Yesterday, I forgot my cell phone when I went out into the light to meet my childhood-through-present-day friend Barbara for brunch, so no photos of that wonderful meeting will see the light.

During my time with Barbara yesterday, we talked about many things — from the light to the heavy — including:

  • memories from our childhood,
  • medical issues,
  • coping strategies,
  • many people we’ve loved over the years,  including our parents,
  • this blog,
  • how to do better accepting the light of other people’s praise and positive feedback, and
  • vacation getaways, including this one:

 

I told Barbara how, during some dark days I was having last week, that video of the Underwater Room in Africa had lightened my mood.

Talking to Barbara for hours yesterday lightened my mood even more.

We both lost track of time and expected to see parking tickets alighting on our cars, but we saw nothing on our cars but light at the end of our enlightening time together.

Yay!

Later, in the light of a local shopping mall, I saw the light of these five things, with my boyfriend Michael:

    

I realize that in the light of this blog, that looks like six things, not five. Allow me to shed light on that:  At the restaurant last night, I turned the table number upside down (which prevented the server with our food to see the light of our location, temporarily).

I shall now enlighten you about why I was playing with that number in the light of the mall restaurant, by sharing the lightness of this joke (which I heard, many years ago, on a  Joke Show radio hour of Garrison Keillor’s Prairie Home Companion):

Boat rental employee (through megaphone): Boat #99, your time is up! Please bring your boat back to the dock.
Other boat rental employee: Ummm, we only have 70 boats to rent here.
Boat rental employee: Boat # 66! Are you in trouble?!!!!

Speaking of trouble, I’ve been feeling like my very unusual heart (which is not upside down but backwards) is in trouble lately, and various cardiologist have agreed. I feel lighter, right now, telling you about two dates coming up in May 2015:

Sunday, May 3: I see Todd Rundgren at the Wilbur Theater in Boston, for the first time in my 62 years.

Monday, May 4: I go in for surgery a block away from the Wilbur Theater at Tufts Medical Center, which I hope will allow me to see the light of many more days.

I shall now bring to light an appropriate song for today’s post:

I’m looking forward to hearing and seeing Todd Rundgren perform “I Saw the Light” on May 3.

What lights have you seen in this post?

Light and deep thanks to Barbara, to Michael,  to the Easter Bunny, to Garrison Keillor, to Todd Rundgren,  to the Underwater Room, to the Burlington Mall, and to everybody who has a light to share with the world today, including you!

Categories: friendship, inspiration, personal growth | Tags: , , , , , | 31 Comments

Post navigation

31 thoughts on “Day 825: Seeing the light

  1. You are a hell of a fascinating light yourself!

  2. Reblogged this on Martha Keim-St. Louis' blog and commented:
    My thoughts exactly. Large stinky men in costume scare me too. I wish I had written this. 🙂

    • Thanks for the reblog, Martha! I wonder if that guy in the costume could see the light in the mall last night?

  3. Hey Ann, love that underwater room and my good thoughts and prayers are with you as you go to surgery on Tuesday. ❤
    Diana xo

  4. I see plenty of light in this post.

  5. I see the light of 62, I am too! So I see similar crossroads in life: music, jobs, interactions, sickness and health. And I see lots of positive light ahead for both of us!

  6. okay, your surgery date is now in my calendar…

    • That reminds me. I should put it in my calendar, too. Thanks for shining your light here.

      • My email address is on my contact page. Would you send me a private note telling us where you’ll be so the Plush Bunny and I can send flowers?

      • I am touched by the light of your thoughtfulness. I think you should send me virtual flowers here!

  7. That underwater room is bloody awesome, I would so love to sleep there……………
    We saw the light here yesterday too, no rain and not overcast like it was suppose to be

  8. I saw the light also, in that little dream room. You have beautiful visions full of light.

  9. Thank you for always shedding light on different things and sharing the light of wonderful songs I had forgotten. I hope the light shines bright for you on May 4 and all goes well.

  10. It is so good to come back, and while I am a bit saddened to know you have a date on May 4th, I am happy to believe that it is going to allow you to see the light of many more day ~ and with spring in the air it looks as though you are enjoying life fully (then again, when haven’t you).

    There is something special about sitting and talking with childhood friends ~ not only just the great memories but the freedom to talk about everything and anything. Wishing you all the happiness this week ~ take care.

    • It is so good whenever you come back here, Randall! It feels like sitting and talking with a long-time friend. Many thanks.

  11. Thinking of you, Ann.

  12. This morning it was completely gray and overcast, but now I’m looking at a welcoming blue sky.

  13. I heard my favorite Todd Rundgren on my way to work this morning! Hello, It’s Me.

  14. I saw Todd Rundgren in Saugerties for Woodstock ’94, so close I did see the light in his eyes, Ann. You are going to love your first live Todd show. Yay! And then the synching of your special heart so close afterward. Double yay!!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

