Day 823: _____ matters

How would you fill in that blank in the title of today’s post?

To me ….

… because it lifts my heart, no matter what.

Here are some other matters that mattered enough to me, yesterday, that I spied them with my little eye and snapped them with my little iPhone:

    

Before I started this blog back in 2013, I had no idea that what I see, matters.

One more matter, from my iPhone:

What is the matter with me, that I would take a photo of  a wastepaper basket in my office? How could THAT possibly matter to you or to anybody else ?

Matter of fact, that is  no ordinary wastepaper basket.  Rather, it’s one of the magic wastepaper baskets that matter-ialize whenever I do one of my therapy groups. At the end of each therapy group, I invite people who matter (and who often feel like they do NOT matter) to use the magic waste paper basket, like so:

If you throw something away in the magic wastepaper basket, it might disappear! And even if it DOES come back, it comes back smaller and less powerful.

I guess that matters to some people, because they throw away things like

  • worry,
  • fear,
  • self-criticism,
  • shame,
  • grudges, and
  • Kleenex.

What disposable matters might you throw away in that magic waste paper basket, right now?

It’s a matter of taste what music matters to each of us. Here’s “The Heart of the Matter,” by Don Henley:

The heart of the matter for me, here and now, is this: My heart seems to matter more than usual, these days, to me and to other people, too.

Does it matter to anybody that I wish my heart didn’t matter quite so much to so many heart doctors?

I matter-of-factly need to end this post earlier today than I usually do on a Friday. Why? Because there’s an 8 AM presentation at the hospital where I work, which might include some matters about my therapy groups. No matter what, the presentation is about improving patient care, which really, really matters.

One more thought that matters to me, in this mattering moment:

A doctor who matters a great deal to me told me, two days ago, that I’ll probably never feel as good and healthy as I used to. Even if that’s true,  even if I have a cardiac condition  that increasingly slows me down…..

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

I STILL MATTER, as much as ever.

What matters most to you, in today’s post?

It matters to me to thank everybody who mattered in my creating this post today and it matters to me —  especially! — to thank you, who matters a great a deal.

Categories: inspiration, personal growth, photojournalism | Tags: , , , , , , | 51 Comments

Post navigation

51 thoughts on “Day 823: _____ matters

  1. Music matters because on those days when I think I may not have any friends left, I have my guitars and playing music reminds me that I’m just having a bad day….and it’s getting better already.

  2. Loved this post. And the Finish.

  3. This post matters a great deal. It filled me with hope and good feelings, calmness, and a brilliant idea to turn my waste can into a magical one as well. Thank you for mattering to me.

  4. Nice to see Don Henley. The Boys of Summer is a classic. My first thought for your title was sleep haha.

  5. Hope matters. Thanks for your post reminding me of that.

  6. As a matter of fact, you matter to me and a great deal of people … pussy cats and colored bunnies. It’s the fact of the matter Ann!

  7. Your words matter, Ann. You matter. And according to the t-shirt I’m wearing, ideas matter.

  8. It is a matter of fact that you matter to me Ann and it does not surprise me that you matter so much to others. ❤
    Diana xo

  9. Friendship matters, Ann. You. Lots.

  10. So many things matter that I couldn’t possibly pick one. Obviously this post matters a great deal to you and so many of your followers, including me. It’s a long weekend here. I hope you have time to spend with your loved ones this holiday weekend. Family and friends matter!

  11. This post matters for many reasons, one of which is I think I will get a magic wastepaper basket too, to throw away the things that really don’t matter, that I might be allowing to matter. Caring matters, kindness matters, friendship ,matters. I think if you have those three everything else that matters will fall into place.

  12. YOU matter! (Dammit!)

  13. Ann, I’ve slowed down, and I’m younger than you, and don’t feel like I used to.

  14. “Four strong winds that blow lonely, Seven seas that run high, All these things that don’t change, Come what may.”

  15. You have a Heart of Gold already:

  16. I definitely hope your little heart goes back to minding its own business, attracting no undue attention. I’m still putting out good vibes for you.

  17. Love matters, and the people who express it.

  18. I wish you weren’t getting such mixed messages from your doctors. It’s today that matters most.

    • Thank you, Hilary. Speaking of today, now the mixed messages are only coming from the doctors who don’t know me as well. My steady team of doctors is, at this writing, completely aligned and so am I. Yaaayyy!

  19. Yes music matters but for me it would be books matter I love to read

  20. It all matters because it got me to thinking on what matters…

    Right off the bat (Let’s Go Red Sox <—had to get that in there – LOL) Music Matters.
    Listening to music is what always helps me get through my work day.

  21. Thank you for sharing what matters, and what doesn’t! Music matters, definitely! Love matters! The heart matters, and is the heart OF the matter! I believe I will a waste basket full of things that don’t matter today!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

