Day 812: Faces

Here are some thoughts about faces I am facing right now:

  • Human beings are hard-wired to notice faces and facial expressions,
  • In this blog, I avoid showing my face in photos and videos,
  • When I  am not in the presence of people, I can easily imagine them with negative expressions on their faces,
  • When I was a kid, I was freaked out by an episode of The Outer Limits TV show, with aliens that looked like giant ants with angry faces,
  • When I was a kid, I spent a lot of time In the hospital, where doctors and nurses wore surgical masks when they were about to operate on me, so I couldn’t see adults’ faces at times that were particularly scary,
  • When I was participating in a two-day group therapy experience in California last month, I became frightened when the light in the room changed and I couldn’t see the faces of the other people,
  • Several times, I’ve watched the video of me singing The Lion Sleeps Tonight (posted  in my blog yesterday), looking at people’s faces and interpreting their reactions differently,
  • The media seems to focus on conventionally beautiful faces and on faces with “ugly” expressions,  and
  • When I am feeling safe and secure, I find faces of all kinds very beautiful.

Here are some faces I noticed yesterday, as my boyfriend Michael and I were facing food shopping at our local supermarket:

              

  

Here’s a song about a face,  performed by mop-topped faces:

If “I’ve Just Seen a Face” by the Beatles is not showing its face here, you can find it on YouTube, along with this version of that tune performed by Paul McCartney and a face he loved:

I look forward to facing any thoughts, feelings, and/or suggestions about other Face songs  from you, in a comment facing below.

Now I need to go face the beginning of my work week!

Many thanks to all the faces I’ve seen in my life, to The Beatles, to Paul and Linda McCartney, to musicians and others who’ve put so many smiles on my face over the years, and to you — of course! — for spending Face Time with me, here and now.

Categories: personal growth, photojournalism | Tags: , , , , , | 43 Comments

Post navigation

43 thoughts on “Day 812: Faces

  1. Although I wish you would post your face for us, at least my face has a grin on it after seeing this.

    • Would your face have a grin on it if I were to tell you I have shown my face in some posts, but sneakily? Thanks for showing your face here, Emilie!

  2. see my post February 4, 2014

  3. yeseventhistoowillpass

    Aerosmith… Dream On…. When i look in the mirror the lines in my face getting clearer….

  4. You are so creative! I love it!

  5. I rarely post images of my face in my blog. Partly it’s about being conscious of my personal security. Partly it’s because I’m a little face-blind and don’t relate to looks.

  6. Not asked with judgment, but why do you not show your face on this blog Ann? ❀
    Diana xo

  7. You know how when you were a kid, you were freaked out by faces of doctors and nurses wearing masks? Well, I am freaked out when people expect me to sing. For example, in groups just like the one you led. It may be because when I was quite young my choir teacher asked me not to sing at a concert and instead to just mouth the words. Or maybe I had this anxiety all along. But, for whatever reason, when everyone around me breaks out in song — even at synagogue or around a seder table or at a campsite — I feel stressed, sweaty and miserable. Partly, it’s because they try to draw me into the song. And partly because I feel that I should join them.

    If I were in that room, being videotaped while you sang, the look on my face would probably be very mixed, because I’d be feeling all those panicky zaps and tingles about not joining into the chorus when I was supposed to, or I’d be pretending to join in but not really making any sounds. But I’d still be loving the rest of the experience — your singing, everyone’s joy, the moment.

    By viewing your video and not actually being there, I was able to enjoy your beautiful voice and the moment without freaking out at all.

    Loved those two versions of that Beatles song, which I don’t seem to have been familiar with. Thank you!

    • I am thinking, Maureen, after I faced and read your comment, that everyone’s experience is personal and valid. If you look again at that video of my performance you might notice at least one person who reacts to sing-alongs similarly to you. I think there’s more room for a wider range of human reactions in different situations than we’re sometimes aware of.

      Anyway, I’m just grateful that I get to face a world that has you AND Beatle songs in it!

  8. Lets face it, PINK BUNNY!!! loves hanging out with her peeps πŸ™‚
    I wonder if she can face losing them after Easter … but I expect she will face it well!

  9. thanks for helping me
    face the music πŸ™‚

  10. Sunshine Jansen

    Gah! “The Zanti Misfits” was the name of that episode; those faces were so scary! (As a kid I didn’t face scary TV shows with the delight I developed later; I love those old Outer Limits now!)

    • Gah is right! They looked sooooo angry. I think that’s an especially tough combination for kids to see — angry faces and giant bugs!

  11. lundygirl

    Ice cream cake – I could face that! but we don’t have them here 😦

  12. NotAPunkRocker

    Is Michael the pink bunny? If so, he’s cute! πŸ™‚

    • Looking at the colors in your profile picture, I can see why you’d think a pink bunny is particularly cute. And thanks for putting a big smile on this pinkish face.

  13. Thank you for this lovely post about facing up to things and putting on a brave face. I agree that all faces are beautiful in their own unique way.Your little pink bunny-pen has a very cute face. She seems to have had an interesting day out shopping yesterday. πŸ™‚

    • It’s kind of difficult to read pink bunny-pen’s expression, I think, because of the lack of details on that face. I’m going to take my cue from you, Millie, and assume that she is feeling …. brave.

  14. There are so many weird, wonderful and down right scary faces in the world I don’t need to see yours to know I like you, just saying

  15. That Wings version is fantastic, and brought a big smile to my face. I knew someone who lost the ability to recognize faces, and that for me was a hard thing to face.

  16. I guess I am in the same category with your πŸ™‚

  17. Inky is facing a big holiday soon, Ann, but he seems to be a good egg about it.

  18. Faces are faces, they come with smiles and sadness. They can be crying when smiling, or smiling when crying. Oh but to see…Faces can sometimes distract us from more important things such as listening and valuing personal attributes.

  19. Thank bunny cracks me up! πŸ˜†

  20. Pingback: Day 1343: Face Time | The Year(s) of Living Non-Judgmentally

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

