Day 780: Keepers

Yesterday, amazing WordPresser Maureen wrote this comment as a leave behind on my post:

Aaron is such an extraordinary leave-behind, Ann, and such a keeper.

Thank you, Maureen, for being (1) so perceptive about my son Aaron, (2) a keeper yourself, and (3) the provider of today’s blog post title.

On the same day that Maureen left behind that keeper of a comment, my son Aaron and I left behind the keeper city of San Luis Obispo. I wanted to keep a memory of Sol, the manager of our keeper hotel — who moved from Leicester, England to Nashville, Tennessee in 2008 and then to SLO  in 2014 — so I kept notes and this photo:

IMG_5672

I think people are the important keepers, so it was Sol and the rest of his friendly staff that made The Avenue Inn a keeper, for me.

I first visited the Hearst Castle, at San Simeon, California in the 1970’s, when I was in my 20’s and that visit was such a keeper for me that I took my son back there, yesterday.  William Randolph Hearst considered a  LOT of objects and people in his life keepers, and he loved surrounding himself with as many of those as possible, until he died in 1951. I’m glad people have been working hard to keep those objects there, to this day.

Here are some photos I took and kept yesterday at the Hearst Castle, which I hope you think are keepers:

IMG_5675 IMG_5677 IMG_5679 IMG_5681 IMG_5683 IMG_5686 IMG_5689 IMG_5691 IMG_5692IMG_5698 IMG_5700 IMG_5701 IMG_5702 IMG_5707 IMG_5708 IMG_5710 IMG_5715 IMG_5716

I mean, really, people, isn’t that a KEEPER pool?

Here’s something I don’t want to keep to myself: It’s taking me so many steps and so much time, these days, to keep photos in this blog, I KNOW my current process is NOT a keeper. As soon as I can figure out a way to make and keep an appointment at an Apple Store and show them my non-keeper photo methods, I’m sure I’ll get some new keeper ideas from them.

Or, here’s a possible keeper thought:

If I can remember that I’m a keeper to the people I’ve kept in my life, I can keep asking for help with using my mac, posting photos, and all sorts of other things I want to keep doing, and those people will probably have helpful advice I can keep.

Can you keep up with me if I show you one more keeper photo from the Hearst Castle, yesterday?

IMG_5688

That photo is not the usual kind of keeper for me. Indeed, I almost forgot to keep it in today’s blog. However, if you keep looking, there’s a piano in that photo and — according to our keeper tour guide, Eric — George Gershwin and other keeper musicians of the day all played on that very piano.

Perhaps those piano keys keep a memory of Gershwin playing this for William Randolph Hearst’s gathered guests, decades ago:

That keeper version of Gershwin playing his “Rhapsody in Blue” is kept here by YouTube.

After Aaron and I left the Hearst Castle, we gathered many more keeper memories as we drove to Palo Alto, the home of my college roommate, Marcia. If Marcia is not a keeper, I don’t know what a keeper is. Personally, I find the objects in her home even more valuable keepers than those I saw at the Hearst Castle yesterday, but seeing some of those will just have to keep, until tomorrow.

Thanks to Maureen, Aaron, Sol, Eric, William, George, Marcia, and all the rest of those keeper people who helped me create and keep this blog post. Also,  special keeper thanks to you, for being keepers and readers here, today.

Categories: personal growth, photojournalism | Tags: , , , , , , | 34 Comments

Post navigation

34 thoughts on “Day 780: Keepers

  1. Keep them coming Ann 😉

  2. Keep ‘er coming, Ann. Great photos from the Castle, even thought it must have Hearst greatly to take that extra effort to post them. (I have not punned you lately, so I left that behind today.)

    I hope the Apple store people can help. They call the help desk the Genius Bar, so they better! If you can, it may speed your process to find the most convenient Apple store on your route, go to their calendar online, and make a specific help appointment. When I attempted to walk in for advice here in Syracuse they were amiable as they told me my estimated wait time would be four hours and then informed me of the time reservation availability online.

    Have a great day, Ann.

  3. Love Gershwin! We are just watching, “An American in Paris” on Turner Classic Movies. I’ve never seen it before. Really enjoy the Gershwin in all the early Fred Astaire movies too. Thanks for this!

  4. Ann, I knew nothing of the Hearst Castle at San Simeon, California, because when I was in SLO I was only 14 years old, but now, I would love to visit California again, more than ever! Your images are all well exposed, I could even see the goldfish in the pond, and the way you shifted the camera to frame the bar so that all of it would fit in is also well composed. I think your concern with the Mac could be what is called the ‘workflow’ in photography, which is how you transfer the images to the computer.

    If you’re using an iPhone (or camera phone), a method I use when I don’t have the cables, is that I email myself the images. Have you tried that? After you take, let’s say, 2-3 images, email them to your own email address. If the files are too large, email one by one. The good thing about this method is that the images, once they arrive to your inbox, can then be saved from there to your Mac.

    • This is all assuming you’re using a camera phone. The other good advantage about this method is that if you don’t have a lot of storage in your Smartphone, emailing the photos to yourself is a good way to start deleting all the old photos to make room for new ones in your phone. Just make sure that when you email them, you look at your “sent” folder to make sure they were sent.

    • I have been emailing myself the images, Maria. It’s slower but definitely a method I can keep on using. Thanks for helping me keep on keeping on!

      • They travel faster through WI-FI than through regular celular data speed, that’s another thing to consider. I would take the images, then wait to get a strong WI-FI signal to then send them to myself.

  5. unlike all the fish in the sea
    yours and the gershwin
    are keepers 🙂

  6. Loving the architecture of buildings and antique looking furniture in today’s post Ann! ❤
    Diana xo

  7. Ann you brought back many old dusty memories. I went through there many years ago and yes that pool is amazing as is the whole place. Great post thanks for the memories. It is true that people make the destination rather than the destination itself.

  8. What an amazing place. Those photos are keepers for sure, and please keep them coming!!

  9. Definitely these are the keepers and you have created the many keeper posts here 🙂

  10. Sunshine Jansen

    I wish I could keep my vicarious jollies in a bottle, from your California trip! And another thing: if you don’t own both volumes of Gershwin’s piano rolls, they are wonderful. I listen to the first one most often, and though I love the full orchestra Rhapsody (esp. that clarinet glissando at the start) that solo piano work is so powerful!

  11. You’re a keeper!

    Beautiful photos; I have never visited, but my best friend did, once upon a time. She was equally amazed. 🙂

  12. Love the castle! And yes, that pool is a keeper!

  13. I’ve never been to the Hearst castle or to any other castle, Ann, except for this one: your blog. You are the keeper of glimpses, hearts, moments and music. Your fortifications are solid, but scalable because they’re made of words and images and you’ve set footholds where they are needed.

    I’m so glad that you and Aaron are together for castles and inns and blue sky.

  14. Pingback: Day 781: Jeepers | The Year(s) of Living Non-Judgmentally

  15. I’m on a high from listening to the Gershwin. Thanks.

  16. Pingback: Day 1617: Keepers | The Year(s) of Living Non-Judgmentally

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

