Day 779: Leave behinds

Before I leave behind any readers who haven’t heard the term “leave behind” before, here’s a definition that my Google search for “leave behind” left behind:

  1. (verb) to forget or neglect to bring or take.
  2. to cause to remain as a result or sign of something ⇒ the storm left a trail of damage behind.
  3. to pass ⇒ once the wind came up, we soon left the land behind us.

 Here’s something I want to leave behind for you now, in this post. The examples in that definition, from collinsdictionary.com, remind me of the brutally snowy and cold weather I left behind in New England this week.

What that  above definition left behind, though, is the noun version of “leave behind,” which I definitely want to include as a leave behind in this post. Since every other definition I found online left that behind too, here’s my own definition, as a leave behind for you all:

leave behind

(noun) a memory or an actual thing that remains after an encounter, especially one that can be transformed into something helpful in the future.

I don’t know if that’s the best definition to leave behind in this post, but it will have to do as a good-enough leave behind, for now.

Believe me, I won’t mind if you come up with a better definition in a comment, thus leaving my definition behind yours, because that will make this post a better leave behind for everybody.

Before I leave behind anything else, I shall leave behind some of the reasons I thought of the title “Leave Behind” this morning:

  • Yesterday, my son and I had to leave behind our hope to see our friend Ron Lynch appear on the Conan show when Ron got back to us with the message that the Conan show couldn’t leave behind two tickets for us.
  • We then left behind Los Angeles and our wonderful hosts Krystal and Jim to drive up the coast towards San Francisco.
  • So we could leave behind too much consecutive driving on our way to visit my college roommate Marcia (whose wonderful leave behinds are included in previous posts I’ve left behind here, here, and here), Marcia suggested as a stop-over San Luis Obispo, the city that has, apparently, left behind unhappiness:

IMG_5653

  • Last night, as we were about to leave behind our San Luis Obispo hotel room — for which  hotels.com left behind an excellent recommendation — for a walk and some dinner, we discovered we had left behind coatless weather in Los Angeles.
  •  I discovered I had left behind my most excellent raincoat at Krystal and Jim’s lovely home.
  • Krystal, who leaves most people behind in her thoughtfulness and generosity, offered to mail my left-behind raincoat to my friend Lawry, who — like Marcia — left behind the northeastern USA to move to a warmer and more hospitable climate (like every other person who hasn’t somehow left behind their senses*).

Here are some photographic leave behinds, from our travels yesterday through Santa Barbara , a local candy store, a San Luis Obispo ice cream shop, and other locations:

IMG_5652

IMG_5654 IMG_5658 IMG_5661 IMG_5660 IMG_5659 IMG_5662 (1) IMG_5663

IMG_5668 IMG_5669

I didn’t leave behind any photos, above, of the beautiful scenery we drove through yesterday, because I didn’t take any. If you haven’t left behind your home at any point in your life to visit the coast of California, I suggest you leave behind any obstacles getting in the way of your doing that, as soon as possible.

I would be leaving behind my usual posting routine if I didn’t invite you to leave behind any comments you choose, here.

One more leave behind,  for this post, before we leave behind San Luis Obispo for a visit to the Hearst Castle:

At my age of 62, I sometimes think about what legacies I’m leaving behind me in this world. I hope those include kindness, humor, some leave-behinds about ways to leave behind fear and unhelpful thoughts, and other positive gifts for the people I’ve encountered.  No matter what, though,  here’s my best leave behind:

IMG_5646

My son Aaron.

Many thanks to Krystal, Marcia, Lawry, everybody and everything that contributed to my creating and leaving behind this post,  all those we’ve temporarily left behind in New England, and you (of course!) for leaving behind other things to visit here today.


* While this might seem unduly judgmental of all those who haven’t left behind New England to move someplace warmer, those are the current views and feelings of the writer leaving behind this footnote.

Categories: personal growth, photojournalism | Tags: , , , , , , , , | 39 Comments

Post navigation

39 thoughts on “Day 779: Leave behinds

  1. That bear so ate that ice cream sandwich haha

  2. SLO was a wonderful place
    to leave behind
    after I got my undergraduate degree!
    it’s now wonderful
    all the things yet
    to look forward to
    on your personal & family adventures 🙂

  3. A couple of girlfriends and I spent a weekend in SLO many, many moons ago. It was one of the most relaxing and enjoyable places I’ve ever been. Glad your vacation is going well!

  4. This is going to be a difficult trip to leave behind Ann 🙂
    … but there will be memories galore!

  5. This post, your entire blog is a great leave-behind Ann! ❤
    Diana xo

  6. I wish I could bottle the sun and warmth, so you wouldn’t have to leave it behind.

  7. Sorry you’ve left the coatless weather back in Los Angeles – as well as yor raincoat. You haven’t left behind your sunny disposition though or your lovely son. And friendship is never left behind anywhere. There were an awful lot of ice cream shops to leave behind on your travels yesterday. But if the weather is cooler where you are now, perhaps that’s just as well. 🙂

  8. I usually don’t like to be left behind, just saying, but at times it is for the best and when I go on holidays I usually leave something behind like walking shoes which is quiet annoying out of the three overseas holidays we have taken twice I had to buy walking shoes while away………

    • I don’t like to be left behind either, Joanne, and I am constantly leaving things behind, especially when I’m distracted. Great to see you, just saying.

  9. You chose an interesting phrase, my friend…I don’t know if it’s so much you are “leaving behind” anything as much as you are “moving aside” so new experiences can come your way. You never really leave behind your friends, your memories — you just sometimes have to push them aside to make room for lots and lots more!

  10. You are always so funny and thought-provoking!

  11. Just wait until you get back to all those left-behind friends with their left-behind non-senses. Is there such a thing as a right-behind friend? Just wondering. If so, I’m right behind you! Even though I’m typing this from my left-behind computer!
    Elouise

  12. “To leave behind; this time; with celestial orbits; yield sublime;
    My earth’s passage; my gift in numbers; nevertheless; circumscribed;
    A name heard; identity stirred; echoed the beating wings; of birds
    Which flew so high; to look from above; and hold memory; still…
    My legacy; suddenly poured; from above; like rain on thirsty field.”

    • I’m so pleased you left these poetic thoughts behind here, Maria!

      • Thanks, but to just leave a poem is a bit selfish from my part perhaps, I also meant to add that you have a beautiful son, and that thank God he’s an extrovert and has charisma! I was an introvert all my life, and sure had to pay the price for that; although now at my age I try to make up for what I lost with all that shyness and introversion I had.

      • I never experience you as selfish, Maria, so I hope you can leave behind any worry about that. Aaron is an introvert too, I believe, who happens to feel very comfortable on stage. Different interpersonal styles have different challenges and different gifts to leave behind.

      • You’re kidding! Just looking at him on stage like that gave me the impression that he would not be shy

      • At least he doesn’t get ‘stage fright’, and that is a great thing.

      • It is a great thing, Maria. Thanks for leaving behind all these great comments.

  13. Thank you, Ann, for the formidable path you leave behind you hear every day. And that’s just a tip of the warmth I can imagine you spread to the people who actually are fortunate enough to be in your physical radiance. Think of what you have to leave ahead!

  14. Aaron is such an extraordinary leave-behind, Ann, and such a keeper.

  15. Pingback: Day 780: Keepers | The Year(s) of Living Non-Judgmentally

  16. Thinking about what legacy we’ll leave behind in life is a good way to remember to make the best of every day 🙂

  17. Pingback: Day 781: Jeepers | The Year(s) of Living Non-Judgmentally

  18. Pingback: Day 992: Wait People | The Year(s) of Living Non-Judgmentally

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

