Day 763: And many more

Today is Groundhog Day!*

download

Here are some things* I notice about that image* (which I found online, here):

  1. There’s a misspelling  in a newspaper.*
  2. An animal can act at least three ways* that a human* might not expect.
  3. That story* assumes the hero is a “he.”
  4. I can’t tell what country that noozpaper is from, which reminds me that Groundhog Day is celebrated in the countries* of the USA (my home) AND Canada (the home of many of my readers).
  5. G. is an abbreviation for  the word “Ground.”*
  6. Readers* of that noozpaper want to know “will he or won’t he.”

There are many more ways I could riff on that opening image,* but I think it’s time to do my job, on February 2, 2015.

What is my job, today? As I see it, to write a post somehow celebrating

  1. Groundhog Day,
  2. an exciting Super Bowl game here in the USA,
  3. my birthday,
  4. having my birthday off from work,
  5. and many more.

Today, I considered other titles for this post, including:

  1. Don’t panic!
  2. “2/2/15,”
  3. Do Your Job,”
  4. Six more weeks* of what?!?!,
  5. How to Train Your Draggin’,”
  6. “I Love Michael,”
  7. and many more.

So why did I choose “And many more” as the title for this post?  The primary reason* is that “And many more” is what people say, in my neck of the woods, * after they wish somebody a Happy Birthday.

From the Wikipedia page about the song Happy Birthday to You:

It is traditional, among English-speakers, that at a birthday party, the song “Happy Birthday to You” be sung to the birthday person by the other guests celebrating the birthday. More specifically, the birthday person is traditionally presented with a birthday cake with lit candles, with the number of candles sometimes corresponding to the age of the person. After the song is sung (usually just once), party guests sometimes add wishes like “And many more!” expressing the hope that the birthday person will enjoy a long life.

Speaking of “the hope that a birthday person will enjoy a long life,” that’s a wish* that’s been expressed on this blog, especially lately.

Here’s a conversation* I had with Michael, my boyfriend, right before I sat down to write this post:*

Me:  Michael, do you think I’m going to make it to my 63rd birthday next year?

Michael (incredulous pause): Of course!

Me: But, Michael!  We were just talking about how you* think it’s likely I’m going to need heart surgery before the summer! There’s a part of me that’s afraid that heart surgery  might kill me.

Michael: You’ll live a long life, baby (or words to that effect*).

Michael has been right about lots of things.* So, now I know.

I am very grateful for Michael.

I’ve got these photos* to show you, regarding “and many more”…

IMG_5100 IMG_5101

Here’s to many more chocolates (thanks to my friend, Jeanette).

.

IMG_5102

Here’s to many more photos of Oscar staring at me while I’m blogging, every morning.

.

IMG_5103

Here’s to many more snowstorms near Boston, USA (%$#!!@#!!*).

.

Here’s to other things I’m grateful for, on 2/2/2015*:

  1. My son, Aaron, soon to turn 17.
  2. My family of origin, including my sister and my late parents.
  3. My other family members, including the members of my ex’s family.
  4. My friends, including Jeanette.*
  5. My upcoming trip with Aaron to California.*
  6. My work doing therapy with individuals and groups.*
  7. WordPress, as the platform for my blog.*
  8. All those who have ever visited this blog.*
  9. Music (whether it be jazz, blues, pop, or classical)*
  10. And many more.

Here’s today’s song:

From Arizona, it’s several classical renditions of “Happy Birthday” (found here, among many more videos on YouTube.)

As Nicole Pesce says, at the end of that video, “I need a break after that one.”  So, I’m going back to bed to keep recovering from the flu.

Many thanks to every person, animal, and thing that helped me compose this post.* And thank YOU — of course! — for visiting here today*.


*  … and many more (?)

Categories: Happy Birthday!, personal growth | Tags: , , , , , , , , | 59 Comments

Post navigation

59 thoughts on “Day 763: And many more

  1. Happy Birthday Ann, I hope you will get a wonderful day 😀
    Nice post as usual and as you know, I love to see your cats 😉

  2. Happy Birthday to you Ann!! ❤ ❤ It is customary to say to someone on their birthday "until 120" in the Jewish religion- as this was the age Moses lived to. So I send birthday wishes and 'Until 120" to you. Thank you for sharing that wonderful video, my husband (who takes piano lessons) loved it as did I. Wishing you a year filled with good things. 🙂

    • I’ve never heard that before — “until 120” — until I was more than half-way there! I find that amazing. Thanks for sending that gift and the rest of this lovely, heart-felt, smile-filled comment. And it makes my birthday even happier to know that you and your husband enjoyed that video.

  3. Happy Birthday Darling Ann!!! Indeed many many more!!! Loveypu❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️

  4. Thats you not ypu!!

  5. First things first. Happy Birthday, Ann! Here’s how we sing it around here:

    I think it didn’t post, but copy and paste the link in your browser to see it.
    Second, it is also World Wetlands Day. Take some birthday time to hope we have many more years of wonderful wetlands!

  6. I love the video. Beethoven is perfect. Not quite sold on the Chopin. Bach sounded more like Bach transcribed by Liszt (Liszt’s transcriptions of Bach are not-for-note perfect yet sound like original Liszt compositions). Would have been interesting to hear Gershwin or Bartok or Messiaen.

    • I love this comment, Trent. It’s always interesting to hear exactly what you have to say.

      • Thanks Ann. The composers she used are some of those I’ve spent the most time studying. She obviously spent a huge amount of time studying them from players point of view – it was all excellent! Why I’m not convinced with Chopin is she used one of his most popular pieces as the base, but it isn’t representative of much of his work. Most of his work wasn’t bombastic and I’m sure he wouldn’t do that to this song. Maybe a Nocturne… Brahms was good and both versions of Mozart, particularly for those who watched Amadeus:)

  7. Happy Birthday Ann! Here is my unclassical, unclassy bday video for you. You’re welcome haha!

    Diana xo

    • You said “You’re welcome” before I even had a chance to thank you for this classic Diana comment! So let me write this now: Thank you, Diana!!

      I do have one question.* How did that guy in the video know I’m sexy WITHOUT EVER SEEING ME?

      As always, you amaze me, Diana. xo
      _________________
      * and many more (?)

      • Hey he’s the one who said it Ann, it must be permeating from you, you sexy thing, you! ❤
        And I just knew you'd be thankful so I just beat you to the punch is all. 😉

  8. NotAPunkRocker

    Happy birthday! I love your grateful list at the end 😀

    I am always bothered or confused that it’s Puxatawney (or however you spell it) Phil and not Patrick or something with the same beginning sound. I know, weird thing to get hung up over LOL

    • Now that you mention it, that’s going to bug me, also! Maybe they should change the name of the town to Phunxsutawney. I mean, it’s already ridiculously difficult for me to spell that, every friggin’ year!

      See? If you’re weird, I’m weird too.

      And, thank you for this lovely comment, which made me smile.

  9. A wonderful post for a wonderful day 🙂

  10. may your day be
    filled with warmth
    happiness, healing
    and chocolate 🙂

  11. Sunshine Jansen

    The nooz here today was not good for folks with cabin fever… But though I can’t reliably predict how many more days of winter are really left (anymore than G. Hog can) I can definitely confidently say you will have a wonderful birthday because I know you know how (starting with taking the day off!)

  12. Marcia Dubreuil

    Happy birthday, Ann!!!!! The approach of your birthday makes me happy every year, because you are one of the top ten things I am very, very grateful for in this life.( I might have to bump WordPress down a bit on my list) At this point in our already long and wonderful lives, we’re all just soaring straight on ’til morning on faith, hope and unfailing enthusiasm. You’ve got a talent for life, Ann, and I love you.

  13. Hope you have an amazing birthday, Ann, full of love and joy. Ideally, Happy Birthday should be sung to you after you’ve blown out the candles on your birthday cake. But that’s a bit difficult if you don’t eat, or even like, cake! You are blessed to have such a wonderful partner and son – and I sincerely wish you many, many more. Happy Groundhog Day, too. 🙂

    • This is a very unconventional birthday, Millie. No cake. No candles. No son in my immediate vicinity … because of the snow and other eventualities. But still, it’s an amazing one, full of love and joy. Thanks for being a part of that.

  14. Happy birthday, Ann. The chocolate looks delicious. Thank you for sharing your birthday with us.

  15. Happy Birthday to you – very best wishes.

  16. I will say Happy Birthday and I will say all I know about Groundhog Day is that it was a good movie

  17. Happy Birthday No. 62, my dear friend Ann, on the way to 63, 64 and more.

  18. Happy Birthday! And hope you are on the mend soon! Mark sent me this way – think I am going to enjoy your blog 🙂

  19. Happy Birthday!!!! It’s late, but do as we do at my house: we celebrate each person’s birthday for a week. Oh we don’t give gifts each day, we just happily remind our family member, “It’s your birthday week!” We’re a bit more thoughtful, chores are overlooked and special little moments happen, acts of kindness just for the honoree. We simply all indulge in whomever’s birthday it is.
    So in your honor, let’s just indulge in ‘Birthday Week.’ ☕️🍰

    • I am honored to be included in such a great family tradition. I am now officially celebrating my Birthday Week, thanks to you!

  20. Pingback: Day 764: What I needed | The Year(s) of Living Non-Judgmentally

  21. OMG … As I read tuesday’s post I realized that I missed this post Ann … and your birthday! So sorry. I like the idea of making it a birthday week! So I’ll be sending you a hug every day to keep the blues away.
    May the snow and ice melt soon with the loving warmth around you 🙂
    Val xo

  22. I feel I had a birthday too with the Nicole Pesce version, I enjoyed every note. I am sending waves of longevity with my birthday wishes over the Atlantic.

  23. Someone with such a warm heart deserves many years in which to use it to continue to warm others. 🙂 Wishing you many more good years.

    Your boyfriend is a peach. 👍

  24. Happy belated birthday Ann!

  25. Happy Birthday Ann. Sorry I missed the actual day. If the weather where you are was anything like it was here in Toronto on Monday you won’t soon forget this year’s birthday. Hope you had a great day. Birthday hugs all around. Carol

    • Because of encouragement from others on WordPress, I am actually celebrating my Birthday Week, so you didn’t miss anything! And I agree; I won’t soon forget this year’s birthday. Hugs back at you, Carol.

  26. Pingback: Day 769: Wait! | The Year(s) of Living Non-Judgmentally

  27. Pingback: Day 774: What’s the right thing to do? | The Year(s) of Living Non-Judgmentally

  28. Pingback: Day 1129: It’s all good | The Year(s) of Living Non-Judgmentally

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

